Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,801 ratings

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

DS

Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 3,998 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By LUIZ F P R

Oct 20, 2021

Muito bom, recomendo a todos, por conter instruções relevantes para qualquer area, e para quem trabalha na area comercial e de contratos é essencial. Qualidade do video e legendas perfeito.

By Cheung D

Jan 27, 2021

super cool course. Instructor speaks English very well and all the topics are covered in logical and well organized format. Highly recommend for everyone who is interested in negotiation.

By Ramiro

Nov 19, 2021

Excellent course. I have learned new concepts. I liked the methodology of the course. Good examples to teach the course contents. Thank you because it will be very useful in my daily life.

By Romina R Z

Aug 23, 2021

S​ome of the videos are very lengthy but most of it were worth it :) In a nutshell, I learned about business psychology and I think my knowledge for these can be useful in the work place:)

By Roman v A

Aug 31, 2020

Interesting, a tad heavy on the law side of things which if you're purely in the business side of a negotiation may be a bit overkill (we have lawyers for this...) but absolutely worth it.

By Bibin K

Apr 15, 2020

I had a great time attending this course. Excellent presentation from Prof. Siedel, very clear and with lot of cases. This course is worth the time and effort to learn negotiation skills.

By Vien V V

Sep 4, 2015

The course is very and very good and usefull, but it's easier for the attendants to take the quiz by the end of each Module and do the final test shorter (about 10-15 questions are enough)

By Nitin P

Sep 29, 2021

This is much needed course especially for budding managers. I am glad I made decsion to go for this course. I highly recommend this course to anyone who want to up their negotiation game.

By Guru M

Sep 15, 2019

Its very good course for sales person, i would recommend this course for all the sales person and they should go with this course. thank you very much Mr. George & University of Michigan.

By Deleted A

Dec 29, 2016

This course is amazing! Thank you people from Coursera for giving me this great opportunity of learning this negotiation skills, they will be very useful in my life for now on. Thank you!

By Debasish G

Aug 11, 2020

I always thought that negotiation is about talking skills, but this course revealed the technicalities of negotiations. Thanks to Prof. George for giving this life skill of negotiation.

By Sri S Y

Jun 9, 2020

Highly recommended. The exercise in the final section really helped in understanding the underlying interests of other side during a negotiation and the checklist and tools are amazing.

By Nguyễn H C

Feb 22, 2020

Thanks so much for the course. To pass, I have learned hard and reading carefully. Most valuable knowledge I have earned on this course. Thank you Professor for sharing your experience.

By Krishna S

Feb 12, 2019

Great lectures and detailed frameworks discussed with live case examples. Love attending each session and squeezing in more time from work to complete the course and learn new concepts

By Paris

Jan 13, 2019

THIS CLASS IS VERY USEFUL WHETHER FROM PRACTICAL SKILLS OR THEORITICAL BASIS FOR MY NEGOTIATION IN MY REAL WORKING ENVIRONMENT, WHICH LEADS MR TO THINK TWICE BEFORE I throw out my ideas

By mohit v

Apr 25, 2020

The Course on Negotiations has been very well conducted by Prof George Siedel. It has been very educative and I am sure I will be able to utilise the learnings in my professional life.

By Quỳnh A L P

Apr 2, 2020

It would be useful for your to prepare your own strategies as well as skills for a perfect negotiation. The professor has such a lot of pratical examples and exercises during training.

By Luz M C J

Nov 11, 2016

Mr. George Siedel explains in a very simple and comprehensive way essential strategies and skills for a successful negotiation. This course is extremely valuable! Thank you, professor.

By André A

Oct 1, 2015

Extremamente envolvente por apresentar fatos reais em seus exemplos, tanto para o sucesso nas negociações, como para negócios fracassados que servem de exemplo para a melhora contínua.

By Yamil N S

Dec 4, 2020

It was so interesting the course because I could have more knowledge about the successful negotiation and this course it could help me in my day at day.

So I recommend this course 100%

By Shivam M

Jul 14, 2020

Everyone needs to do this course even if they believe they are the best at negotiating, this course will not only improve your skills but will definitely make you learn something new.

By Janaki V

Jun 1, 2020

Very helpful in my work as an interior contractor day n India, where negotiation is s way of life everyday. I am surely more confident in my communication with my clients and vendors.

By Ian M - C

May 18, 2020

This course is very informative. Prof. Siedel indeed made everything simple and made sure that everybody will understand what he is pointing out. I learned a lot and had a lot of fun.

By Zain A

Apr 12, 2020

It was really amazing course, fantastic information, great presentation.

I really enjoyed studying this course.

thank you so much professor George Siedel .

Highly recommended course.

By Nona A

Mar 26, 2017

I learned a lot of techniques that I can use not only in business/ work-related negotiations but also to my personal day-to-day transactions. Thank you very much, Prof. George Siedel!