Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,535 ratings
3,933 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

DS

Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 3,929 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Joseph S

Jan 3, 2022

Well thought through course with great detail and world class case studies making the course live and relevant. well done Professor George Siedel. what a time to be alive to learn.

By Liga P

Jan 30, 2021

Very useful and interesting course that covers theorethical knwledge. practical examples and "hands-on" exercise. The provided mix keeps the attention and increases comprehension.

By maria f v h

Sep 27, 2020

I like the way this course was taught. The teacher provided visual examples for understanding the critical thinking and strategy in determining how successful a negotiation can be.

By Mahmoud A I

Mar 5, 2016

This Course really add to my life, As I studied it for my personal use, I already have alto of confidence and benefits in my negotiations situations.

Thank you Dr.Sandal

Mahmoud Atta

By Mohit C P

Jun 25, 2020

Great instructor and great course material. Only issue was the final exam which i think had too many questions and some options need to be changed. The course overall was amazing.

By Ng I W A

Jun 6, 2020

This course offers insight on what is important points to consider before, during and after negotiation. Prof Siedal provides relevant examples on how the concepts can be applied.

By kushal m

May 13, 2020

I am very grateful and blessed to learn this course. it was fun and at any moment of time it wasn't boring all thanks to sir. The examples were very helpful and I enjoyed learning

By Claudia E C R

Aug 20, 2015

Excelente!! Muy recomendable, una amplia compilación de interesantes experiencias e información para aplicar en cualquier interacción, relación y/o negociación con otras personas.

By Fiza B

Nov 27, 2020

This is a very good course to take once in a lifetime. The way teacher has designed the course and the topics are well-crafted and well-delivered with several real life examples.

By Rhonda F

Oct 26, 2020

I found this course informative and enlightening. Professor Steidel made it very interesting with the use of examples which really made the concepts clear and easy to understand.

By Umangkumar P

Jun 28, 2020

There are lot to lean with this course, and during this journey of learning, I learn many strategies, and skills for negotiation. Thanks for your valuable effort for this course.

By Tapakorn S

May 26, 2020

it's a great course that you all should learn because as everyone know that you have a chance to negotiate in everyday of your life and this will help you to go on the right way!

By Eric A

May 2, 2020

Great course to take. Instructor is very knowledgable. I have learned a lot and practical exercise help to get better understanding of the topic in real lofe scenario. Thank you.

By MIHIR E A

Mar 23, 2020

Excellent course for learning the art of negotiation and all its details. Really enjoyed the course and the roleplay activity really gives you an opportunity to test your skills.

By Ananth V

Apr 29, 2016

Brilliantly well structured and pragmatically applicative course and with George Siedel Sir's teaching methods and guidance this course is a must take for aspiring professionals.

By Daniele S

Sep 8, 2015

Great teacher, wonderfull content and examples.

Thank you very much professor Siedel

Only one improving point: the videos were often working badly (no audio or breaking the upload)

By Tan L H

Jun 12, 2022

Easy to understand even for someone like me have no background knowledge of negotiation whatsoever.

I really like the humor presented by Prof. George Sidel throughout the course.

By Maria O

Aug 2, 2020

The course has an excellent and challenging structure, which definitely helps to achieve great results in a wide range of areas. I strongly recommend to enroll for it.

Good luck!

By Raghu R

Jan 27, 2020

Great course with lectures suitable for beginners and with a well-structured course plan. also a big thanks to Prof. George Siedel for his excellent contribution to this course.

By Simy R

Apr 10, 2019

Professor George Siedel is extremely knowledgeable. I learned a lot from attending this course. If negotiation is part of anything you do, I highly recommend taking this course!

By Ivo H

Oct 17, 2017

I had a lot of fun watching the classes and reading his book. The quality of the classes has certainly surprised me in a positive way. It worths the (small) investment demanded!

By Ronaldo L d S

May 29, 2017

A very informative and productive course. It made me view negotiations strategy along with the aspects involved from a different perspective. I definitely recommend this course.

By Ruta S

Oct 17, 2015

Excellent course. The instructor experience is invaluable. The knowledge gained from this course will be very usefull in my personal life and at work. Highly recommended course!

By Marinella B

Aug 31, 2021

V​ery informative and interesting. I learned a lot in a short span of time and felt a stronger connection to the professor than I normally do (would) with other online courses.

By Barbara C

Jun 5, 2020

This course was very challenging and enlightening. I will definitely use some of the tools I learned from this course. I am happy to have expanded my knowledge on negotiating.