Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,378 ratings
3,894 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

DS

Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 3,889 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Andras N

Feb 20, 2017

This course is absolutely fantastic! I am really appreciate that I could join and finish this class.

I can recommend to everybody who want to be a successful negotiator!

By Pedro C

Sep 11, 2019

Very great course with step by step learning and examples. Mr. Siedel is a great teacher, and speaks clearly and at a great pace that allows for maximum understanding.

By Aditya V

Jun 26, 2018

Been learning many things that I can actually apply in real life !!! Its quite nice. Would recommend for people who like studying and practicing business negotiations.

By Mohammed H

Mar 24, 2018

This course helped me get a different perspective on life. Not only do I feel like a much stronger negotiator but I developed skills I was not aware I posses.

Thank you

By Igor N V M

Oct 5, 2016

Prezados,

Esse foi meu primeiro curso da Universidade de Michigan, achei bem interessante a abordagem do tema, despertou-me em estudar mais sobre o assunto.

Igor Nemésio

By James N

Feb 15, 2016

Iwould to thank the entire Michigan university for the skill they drilled in me. Looking forward to another course,I better also thank Coursera for the financial aid.

By Zahra C

Feb 28, 2022

b​est course ever i have enjoyed lerning it and prof Siedel was amizing and he make the course easy and intresting i advise lot to take the course it will blow you up

By Tackett K

Jan 2, 2022

I took the course thinking I had experienced enough already not to be surprised, I am totally blown away, the content is rich, well explained and practical. Thank you

By Saloni M

Aug 24, 2020

Prof. George Siedel is brilliant at teaching about Negotiation. Completing this course has given me the confidence to deal with any negotiation scenario I might face.

By NARAYANAN A

May 2, 2020

Course structure,way of teaching giving simple real life scenarios are awesome. i really enjoyed learning. i feel empowered now. i am more confident now.Thanks a lot.

By Bennady Y

Jun 11, 2017

Very Excellent Course that I recommend to everyone! An excellent Professor and a lot of very useful informations that you can practice in professional and daily life!

By Daniel R N

Oct 26, 2020

A very good and useful course on day to day and also on a professional level. Very enjoyable and it was great doing the coursework with someone of different culture!

By PRATYUSH P

May 20, 2020

An excellent course that takes you from beginner to intermediate level. In each lecture you will learn new things and it would provide you key skills of negotiation.

By Olabanji J A

May 27, 2019

The course has afforded me the opportunity to learn without leaving the comfort of my office and house. It was actually designed for people like me. Olabanji Ayodele

By Vasconcelos

Jul 9, 2020

This is one of the wonderful course that I highly recommend. The content, videos, and everything is really amazing, the professor and all the staff did a great job.

By VERIDIANA O D N

Jun 21, 2020

O curso é excelente. Traz uma nova visão do quanto a negociação faz parte das nossas vidas e como podemos usar essas ferramentas no nosso dia a dia e obter sucesso.

By Edmundo C

May 13, 2020

A compact course with the most and valuable information and tips for a excellent negotiation. For business and life!

Highly recommended!

For begin and advance levels

By Franklin R

Apr 8, 2020

This is excellent course appreciate university of michigan. Please let me know how can i obtain my certificate now?

Thanks

Franklin

+968 7111 5943

bdm_mideast@yahoo.com

By kevin m

Mar 7, 2017

Great course. Loved the information and the practice negotiation. I learned a ton and now want to find ways to use and hone my negotiation skills! Recommend to all.

By UK K

Sep 21, 2016

we are expecting some more similar good content mooc courses from michigan state university, regarding digital marketing , inbound marketing, internet of things,etc

By Lilian S

Apr 28, 2022

This course will help a lot of learners when it comes to negotiation to be a successful one. THANK YOU VERY MUCH Coursera and Professor George Siedel & more power.

By Yvonne M

Dec 4, 2021

Every aspect of our lives involves some form of negotiation. This course will strengthen anyone's position at the round table and in your day to day negotiations.

By Hasan A

Nov 15, 2020

Excellent Course. Well executed with clarity and lot of material to learn. Highly recommended for people looking to gain new insights in the field of Negotiations.

By Nestor B

Sep 20, 2020

Excellent course, i really liked the experience i had, for sure i will recommend this material to my colleagues and my family. Thanks Michigan University for this!

By Xun Y

Aug 9, 2020

Always think about enlarging the pie before negotiation. Professor is very humorous and the course is very easy to follow. Great negotiation practice exercise too.