Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,357 ratings
3,888 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

DS

Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 3,884 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Egbua g m

Apr 29, 2020

With this one can be able to know were to start in terms of negotiating with it’s business pattern and also one can be able to use it in he/her day to day activity

By Col P S V

Nov 29, 2021

The course and its contents were wonderfully designed. The Professor was very interactive and deeply knowledgeable. His method of instructions were very incisive.

By Toni G

Nov 4, 2020

A very informative course which provides a new perspective on negotiations! And Dr. Seidel explains the material so eloquently and delivers his message accurately

By Abdul M b A R

Jun 2, 2020

The instructor really has a lot of experience and knows what he is teaching and talking about. This course definitely polish my negotiation skills and soft skills

By Elio L G G

May 25, 2020

Es un curso muy útil, tanto en el campo laboral como en el ámbito personal. Ayuda a abordar las situaciones donde se requieran acuerdos o resolver algún problema.

By PIYUSH S

Apr 23, 2020

An Excellent course with lots of learnings. When negotiations are mixed with laws and regulations then I am able to get a perfect view of all practical scenarios.

By Muhammad M M

Mar 30, 2019

On of the most well put and well balanced courses that I have ever taken. The lecturer was especially great. Thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend it to anyone.

By María A G

Jan 13, 2017

Very good course, it is useful not only for business bu for everyday life. The teacher is awesome, clear explanations and perfect examples. I totally recommend it

By Oleksandr V

Jan 7, 2016

Very good! It's my 2nd course on Coursera after "Learning how to learn" and I supposed to meet small quizes after each unit, just to remember the material better.

By JESUS R

Oct 1, 2021

As a negotiation professional in commercial contracts, I found this program very insightful, loaded with examples, great content, and up to date. I recommend it.

By saurabh p

May 29, 2020

The professor is so crisp, calm and composed. it seems like he is explaining everything in a one-on-one session. I will look for more lessons from the Professor.

By Tipvadee S

May 16, 2020

Thank you for all the useful techniques in this course that the professor provided. I like the way and the method that the professor use to teach in this course.

By ANUGU M

May 12, 2020

It is very much useful for the one who really want to step in the bussiness field.It teaches you the best way to negotation.I felt price worthy course I learned.

By SRIKANTH K

May 6, 2020

It was a very useful course which has really given a new scope of understanding the essentials and given me a few strategies to improve my skills in negotiations

By Juan D H

May 1, 2020

Fantastic teacher, the content of the course is explaind clearly and accessible for everyone even if people dont have prior experience with this kind of subjects

By Harini A

Apr 10, 2020

I learn more about strategies and skills now I'm very popular in this topic negotiation. Thank you much for a wonderful activities. I really gather a clear view.

By Adnan F A

Nov 20, 2017

It is very useful course. I got a lot of information about Negotiation strategies and skills. Also the lecturer was very professional and friendly. thanks a lot.

By Alejandro r e

Oct 26, 2015

Este curso es excelente para aquellos que estudian Negocios Internacionales, altamente recomendado. Thank you Michigan University and thank you Professor Siedel.

By zahir a g n

Dec 3, 2020

excelente curso, temática muy completa me ayudo a entender mucho acerca de las estrategias de negociación y me aclaro algunas dudas que tenia. gracias por todo.

By Philip G

Nov 24, 2020

The instruction in this course can be tangibly seen in day-to-day life. Would recommend to anyone wanting to sharpen their communication and negotiation skills.

By Jaime A R V

Jun 25, 2020

Excelente curso, recomendado ampliamente por la calidad del material, el profesionalismo del instructor y las herramientas demostradas en casos de la vida real.

By Ma. C C

Jun 23, 2020

Prof. Siedel as an instructor is very clear and compelling. His pace also ensures that the material is clearly explained and demonstrated in real-life examples.

By Dmitry A

May 31, 2020

If I would visit this course before terminating business relationships with our partners those may end up totally different.

Great materials and well presented!

By Gourav S

Apr 30, 2020

All Study material is made in very acceptable and readable style. easily understand all the concept and tactics. Very Helpful course. Enjoyed my learning a lot.

By Bharath D

Apr 20, 2020

Course is perfect for any professional looking to improve negotiation skills. I am now confident to take on new challenges in my career as a sales professional.