Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
15,682 ratings
3,754 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB
Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

DS
Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 3,737 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Mohamed O S

Aug 16, 2015

It's Just the right course for Negotiation.

I have attended a lot of courses about this topic, but this is the most valuable one.

Enjoy this course :)

By Benbaghdad y

Oct 29, 2021

Bienvenue Je viens de terminer un cours sur les stratégies de négociation, les compétences de base. Comment puis-je recevoir mon certificat ? Merci

By Moinuddin A

Sep 23, 2021

Wonderful course, clearly described reading materials. User friendly module.

It was the first ever of my online course. E​enjoyed the whole process!

By Diaaeldin E

Mar 17, 2021

This is awesome and very useful course, the instructor is very organized and I do believe he is one of the most professional in this critical topic

By Tabinda M

Jul 7, 2020

It is one of the elaborated ones .I really learnt about so many terms which were new to me. I enjoyed the layman language to ease for the learner .

By Rahul K

May 20, 2020

Thank you, professor, for taking the pain and teaching us on the subject. Have learned a lot from your teaching and hope I shall continue to do so.

By federico

Dec 16, 2019

Really interesting course. Professor George Siedel support the explanation with several examples, the final negotiation is a big plus to the course

By Fidel M O

Sep 11, 2018

Excelente curso, con muy buenos temas e información, así como ejemplos reales en donde se aplicaron las técnicas y métodos vistos durante el curso.

By Firdaus H G

Mar 11, 2018

Very effective mix of real world examples and detailed explanations to the topic under study. I really had a great time listening to the professor.

By Daniele M

Apr 30, 2017

very helpful framework about conducting negotiations. the BATNA model is easy to remember and easy to apply. a model that will stay with me forever

By shibam s

Oct 14, 2016

Its been very helpful, earlier I thought that I know everything, but now I know more than what I know. Very useful for small entrepreneurs like me.

By Art M

Dec 26, 2015

A very insightful course presented in the best possible way. Lots and lots of value. I would like to see another course presented by the Professor.

By Sameer S

Aug 29, 2020

The best course to be used across all fields, wish they had another part in the same course, the Professor was really amazing, highly recommended.

By Joanna D

Jul 3, 2020

Very interesting training course, love the case study and the analysis which is using the learned skills to elaborate them one by one, very useful

By Joaquin M

May 4, 2020

It is a very interesting course, and the instructor is extremenly clear in the concepts. It has been a great course to do. I strongly recommend it

By Ella P

Jan 4, 2020

Thank you, Dr. George Sidel, for your great efforts behind creating this course! This course was very helpful to me in the journey of self-growth.

By Sabiha A

Apr 12, 2019

its really helpful. The professor is really effective in his choice of words and very skillful. the examples used in the course are really helpful

By Haldun B

Jun 19, 2018

this is a must learn skill for everyone, and the instructor is just excellent, it is not like a mooc rather than a private course at your account.

By Marcel R

Dec 3, 2017

The best negotiation course I've taken, excellent professor, very interesting real-life examples, very detailed in each topic. Highly recommended.

By Alena K

Aug 14, 2017

It was one of the most interesting courses I've ever attended. I definitely think that Negotiation is something that everyone of us need to learn.

By Chema R C

Jun 2, 2017

This course has been very useful for those who are working in private companys where negotiations are part of our daily routine. I do recommen it.

By BHAURAO K

Feb 12, 2017

VERY USEFUL AND ESSENTIAL PROGRAM. THESE KNOWLEDGE WILL HELP US IN UNDERSTANDING AND IMPLEMENTING LEARNING IN NEGOTIATIONS. THANKS PROFESSOR !!!!

By Camila S

Jan 27, 2017

I recommend this course. It gave me such great insight about negotiations, and the tools for dealing with every situation are indeed very helpful.

By Daniel R

Aug 2, 2016

Muy bueno, bastantes ejemplos y situaciones que aclaran cada definición. Excelente aprendizaje, sin palabras del gran aporte que hace el profesor!

By Luis E B Z

Sep 15, 2015

Excellent course! I have learned a lot from this course, it's a wide knowledge very useful for every day.

Thanks a lot for the high skills offered.