Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
15,680 ratings
3,754 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB
Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

DS
Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 3,735 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Zaynab I

Sep 21, 2021

​Loved every second, loved every aspect, the delivery, the content, the insight. I can't believe it's FREE. Thank you Mr. Siedel. You are a hero!

By Гаврилов А А

Jul 9, 2020

I would like to get more psychological tricks for negotiations as most of the information in the course is well known or very specific to USA law

By Paolo B

Jun 14, 2020

Never stop learning! Even if you think you are a good negotiator, some useful tips and a systemic approach are great to improve your performance!

By Abhishek C

May 2, 2020

This course helps to understand the negotiation skills and strategies to apply it in future.

Now, i can able to apply it on my clients in future.

By Sherlock R

May 1, 2020

Thanks Mr George ,this learnings will take me further in my area of business .Looking forward to learning some more skills in this period .Cheers

By Ricardo V M

Aug 17, 2015

es un excelente curso no solo te ayuda a reflexionar sobre acciones si no que te ayuda en habilidades cotidianas que no solo sirven para negociar

By Leda F

Apr 22, 2021

great experience! would like to explore some aspects further and know what other learning possibilities there are connected to the same subject.

By Anup P

Sep 9, 2020

Excellent Course blended with Contract. Request you to cover more on Contracts so that it will be helpful for Procurement & Contracts personnel.

By Rafatul I

Jun 4, 2020

Actually,It's a glorious course for me.I learned what is negotiations and how to be negotiator.I think,now i do better negotiations from before.

By Taishi Y

Jan 28, 2020

Excellent course that covers up main topics for negotiation concisely and precisely. I understand the concept of negotiation from holistic view.

By Brandon M S

Feb 16, 2018

An absolutely fantastic course! The wealth of knowledge that I've learned from taking this course has been; Positively Life Impacting - 5 Stars!

By sunil v

Apr 3, 2021

The course contents were useful. The professor's teaching skills was awesome. The case study was too good.

Overall nice experience of learnings.

By Rory J G

Sep 14, 2020

George is an excellent lecturer who holds your attention through every lesson and the information is invaluable, definitely highly recommended.

By Jesus S O

Jul 16, 2020

Best course, very complete, it helps a lot to see the thing in a "big picture" and know that theres other ways to negotiate, highly recommended

By Matteo G

Mar 22, 2020

Excellent course. I learnt the importance of negotiation and I am eager to apply its basic principle in my work as well as in my everyday life.

By Kapeesh S

Dec 24, 2018

Excellent overview of negotiations! Videos are easy to follow and very engaging. I'm applying the principles from this course in my daily life.

By nawyn k

May 25, 2021

The course provides us with the insight of the concepts that are used at different stages at various levels of professional and personal life.

By NGUYEN K T

Nov 20, 2020

Documents that are easy to understand, specific and clear, useful for effective negotiation as well as improving effective conflict resolution

By Jamael N

Sep 17, 2020

The course was a great experience overall I advice anyone who wants to sharpen up their negotiation skills should definitely take this course.

By Paulina M S

Jul 20, 2020

I really love the way the course structured and give best practices and tips for negotiation. Thank you for creating this super useful course!

By Chalee U

May 14, 2020

Plenty of good and real examples , reflective thinking questions and useful suggestions that could be adopted in both daily and working life.

By Isyaku B

Jan 17, 2020

I find this course very educating, informative and insightful for professionals that want to be more successful and remain afloat the success.

By Pamela S

Jan 6, 2020

Fue muy placentera en todo sentido, fue excepcional la forma de explicar y el entendimiento de cada uno de los bloques enseñados. Excelente!!!

By jack o

Dec 21, 2019

One excellent course. It really changed my way of negotiation with others. Asking questions provides one with much power than one can imagine!

By Satya P P

Mar 20, 2018

Irrespective of position/job role, everyone should take this course. It's free unless you need certificate. Course content is really fabulous.