Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
15,357 ratings
3,693 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

DS
Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

AB
Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 3,675 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Kevin M

Sep 28, 2015

Great course. Useful and easy to follow. I took it as an aid to a real estate deal I was about to close and it helped me greatly! Thanks!

By Sunil S

Apr 24, 2021

Being working professional, I was looking for a course which will help me in real life. This course served that purpose to great extent.

By Enrico Q

May 24, 2020

A very insightful course. I strongly recommend it to everyone interested in discovering the secrets for running successful negotiations.

By raja h s

May 17, 2020

It is one of the best courses I have ever attended. it helped me to enhance my knowledge and skills about being a successful negotiator.

By Toby L

Apr 18, 2020

Really enjoyed the course and gave me some valuable skills to use in my personal and professional life.

Thank you University of Michigan!

By Nelson M J

Apr 1, 2019

Very good. After finishing you can see how many details there are in these processes that you don't even imagine exist before the course

By Sohail

Jun 11, 2017

Thank you very much.

It was wonderful course. I leaned too much.

From

Muhammad Sohail

Computer Engineer (Pakistan) working in Saudi Arabia.

By Oliver S

Nov 14, 2015

Brilliant course, covers the essentials and offers further insights. Well presented by a fantastic lecturer. Definitely worth attending.

By Jakob Z

Oct 3, 2015

An excellent Course, with a lot of relevant and practical know-how.

Some more possibility to practice the subjects learned would be nice.

By Nirvan M

Apr 2, 2021

Very beneficial and informative. I believe I can implement the knowledge I gained from this course. Thank you for the lesson professor.

By Anvi I

Jul 3, 2020

The concepts and thinking process taught in the course will really be helpful in real life to examine different situations we get into.

By Artem N

May 27, 2019

Thank you a lot for this course, before it i had some unstructured knowledge and feelings how to negotiate, after it i have a framework

By David M S

Feb 21, 2016

Covers the most relevant topics about negotiation in a structured, easily understandable way. Also, it has many practical implications.

By Daiana Y

Aug 16, 2021

Many Thanks to Professor George Siedel I had learned a lot from him as soon as possible I'm going to use all I learned in this course

By Lee X

Nov 20, 2020

A very useful course that let me know a lot of Bussiness Law and give me an idea of how to apply the negotiation tactics in daily live

By Srinivasan R

Jul 2, 2020

The course is really an eye opener for those who are in negotiation role. The tools can be applied for professional and personal life.

By Aaron B

Apr 20, 2017

The most informative platform I have ever experienced through online.The lessons are really worthful.Looking forward for more courses.

By Dzmitry

Aug 24, 2015

Excellent course, with nice companion book, thoroughly created self-examination, and incredibly persuasive lecturer. Highly recommend!

By Phạm L T

Aug 27, 2021

I have to say that I have really achieved a plenty of knowledge and experience about this field. Hope everyone can enjoy it like me !

By Halil Ş

Dec 27, 2020

It was a really useful course. It contains so much important information.

I mostly recommend for salespeople or purchasing department.

By Nawa R

Oct 14, 2020

Excellent course - would recommend to anyone wanting to learn about negotiation or deals with a degree of negotiating in their lives.

By NISHANT K G

Aug 3, 2020

best teacher for the course who teaches every concept in such a simple language that even beginner can understand without any problem

By Wilma G d s

Jul 29, 2020

Um curso completo. Com uma linguagem de fácil interpretação, assuntos e trabalhos feitos com a realidade diária do mundo dos negócio.

By SarthakSinghal 1

Jul 7, 2020

Excellent course structure, professional faculty, many example cases and short in between video assignments for better understanding.

By Alex D

Jun 4, 2020

I am really grateful for this amazing course, the curricula was great and they are easy to apply on my personal and professional life