Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
15,379 ratings
3,695 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

DS
Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

AB
Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 3,678 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Alex D

Jun 4, 2020

I am really grateful for this amazing course, the curricula was great and they are easy to apply on my personal and professional life

By 雷慧

Apr 29, 2020

The course is amazing thats open my eye on the negoiation skills learning,looking forward to more experience in the future.Thak you!

By Henrique F

Apr 27, 2020

Conteúdo muito bom e transformativo. Aprendi a transformas interesses e conflitos em dados para tomar escolhas mais justas e seguras.

By Maria J F J

Dec 21, 2018

I enjoyed very much going through all the modules of the course. The content very interesting and George Siedel is a great Professor.

By 刘潇

Jul 8, 2016

感谢教授带来的精彩课程,学习完这么课最大的感触就是知道了如何同别人谈判,如何准备谈判,以及如何在谈判中利用自己的优势。课程中老师应该是照顾我这种英语不怎么样的学生,故意放慢了语速。学习完老师的课程后发现听力都比以前好了,哈哈!再次谢谢教授,祝老师身体健康,工作顺利!

By Leatrice S J

May 16, 2021

Even if it's virtual, this course is highly interactive and applicable to real life! Thank you Mr. Seidl for the interesting course.

By ZAZA A

Apr 15, 2021

Excellent course! Thanks to this excellent course of Mr. Siedel and his team I moved one big step forward in my professional career.

By Eduardo I C

Feb 16, 2021

Negotiating insights I would never have in real life. And the best: they are all given in an easy, friendly, example-based approach.

By Lazar K

Jun 18, 2020

The ability of professor George Siedel to transfer knowledge is just incredible.

He is a very knowledgable and charismatic gentleman.

By Muhammad F S

May 21, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken so far. The material was so practical and yes the professor is super cool. Highly Recommended!!

By Raphael B d S

Mar 21, 2020

The Course exceeded all my expectations, I will not only put it into practice in my professional life, but also in my personal life.

By Syed S G

Feb 21, 2020

Amazing content and structure. Prof Siedel shares interesting perspectives for both deal making and dispute resolution negotiations.

By Bruno B C V

Jul 3, 2019

Great lecturer, and the course well thought structure makes the learning process feel like a walk in the park. Definitely recommend!

By Vivek P

Mar 5, 2017

Captured interest like a movie! Professor exactly knows how to impart skills to people of different backgrounds, all over the world.

By Ján S

Dec 26, 2016

This course taught me important things regarding negotiation and I love to get back to the materials, recall and use it in practice.

By Dominik D

Nov 17, 2015

I'm very grateful for this course. Lots of knowledge, entertaining videos and an intriguing negotiation exercise at the end. Thanks!

By DrPat B

Oct 29, 2020

The course is instrumental in meeting the goals I set for myself to increase the awareness of the power of the Negotiation process!

By Linet o

Oct 7, 2020

Its a great course being facilitated by experienced lectures, I appreciete university of Michigan for the good work they are doing.

By Gerely R

Jul 12, 2020

El profesor es excelente, me gustó el humor que le pone al curso y los ejercicios que realiza permiten entender mejor lo discutido.

By FERNANDO S J

Jun 18, 2020

It is a wonderful course, any professional and person in general should take it. The teacher's explanation and examples help a lot!

By Ehsan S

Jun 15, 2020

Great Course, Very Well Structured, and the way Prof. Siedel explains it makes it easy to understand the most complicated subjects.

By Preveena V

Jun 9, 2020

I enjoyed learning the course at my very own space. It was well explained and the notes well very detailed. Thank Mr George Siedel.

By Adarsh S

May 25, 2020

The course is very nice and useful for everyone. Negotiation is very basis skill and yet ignored by best of the best professionals.

By Geoffrey J

May 14, 2020

Easily understandable teaching style and vast experience allows the use of interesting anecdotes and examples.

Thoroughly enjoyable!

By Kevin B

Sep 3, 2017

Amazing course.

Learned very helpful and practical tools and skills that I can use immediately to improve in all of my negotiations.