Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,801 ratings

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK

May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,484 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Jamie C

Sep 2, 2021

Great teacher, in theory great principles for negotiations. In reality I have encountered people who do not understand even these basic principles, so it is kinda hard to argue with stupid. But useful in a workplace with more sophisticated individuals.

By Hannah V

Dec 3, 2018

Excellent course when you want to gain both theoretical insights and practical tips related to negotiating. The course is made very fun by the many videos and the practice negotiations with other people you meet through this course are very insightful.

By Robert S

Sep 30, 2020

I was surprised about the quality of this online course. Probably the best one I have taken so far. The subject relates to many situations in our lives and for this reason I believe we can somehow use these concepts. Thanks for sharing this knowldege.

By KONSTANTINOS T

Feb 15, 2024

Awsome experience! i learned many things and i felt like i was in the classroom. The Professor is one of a kind, highly self-motivated and a pleasure to listen. I was able to understand the principles and unlock the secrets (at least some of them..!)

By Milind K

Sep 6, 2021

Excellent program with great practical examples . I’ve been negotiating for 30 years and learnt a number of new principles - especially being Paid to play when you have no added value but change value for other players in the game . Thank you Barry!

By Serhad H

Jan 17, 2022

Highly instructive course which brings your understanding of "negotiation" to another level.Course provides enough tools to structure your negotiation skills with a more principled approached.

Insights from different negotiators are very valuable.

By Subhrojeet M

May 26, 2020

If you are a beginner, like me, and want to know about negotiation then go ahead. The exciting part of this course lies in the assignments. I would advise you to take some time and indulge in solving the cases. It gives you a hands-on experience.

By Carlos T

Oct 5, 2015

Muy bueno. Los videos y las animaciones hacen que los conceptos se hagan muy amenos.

Los ejercicios prácticos ayudan a fijar todas las ideas trasmitidas y el feedback de los compañeros ayuda a mejorar las aptitudes de negociación. Muy recomendable

By Suganthi S

Jan 22, 2022

THE BEST COURSE EVER!! The syllabus is well structured, well researched and interesting. The efforts taken by Mr. Barry Nalebuff is marvelous. He made this course very engaging. Thank you so Mr. Barry Nalebuff. I'm so grateful for this course.

By Aldo B

Apr 30, 2020

Fully recommended. Very good material and well explained and in a very interesting way that makes you want to learn more. This course definitively meets the expectation of being an introduction to negotiation, covering a broad number of topics.

By Shishir

Apr 18, 2017

Great course. Absolutely loved it. Thanks to Barry and Coursera for facilitating this. The approach was simple and interesting. The course has be instructed in a creative and easy to understand manner. The course material is very much superior.

By Lia S

Apr 6, 2017

Looking forward for continuing course. I hope for it since its just Introduction. Some part was hard due mathematics approach and need to be reviewed again for better understanding. But I like this course and it helps me to train english btw(

By Rachad K

Mar 13, 2017

A great course presented in a very creative way.

I love how Pr.Nalebuff introduced many contents as videos, comments, stories, etc...

The exams and homework surely helps get all the information in mind.

Thank you for the course Barry & Yale!

By Isaac O

Oct 21, 2019

It was an incredible experience. Prof. Nalebuff was awesome in his instructions. Herb Cohen, I will never forget his name because of the impact his rich experience had on my thinking in this course. I recommend this course for every leader.

By kimkhanh

Jun 4, 2020

I have completed this course after a long time resting. This course is phenomena and exciting. The question in this course shows the intelligence and well known knowledge of the professor. Thanks you so much. I appreciate you from my heart

By Esteban O

May 7, 2020

Great course! Barry Nalebuff is not only a tried and tested entrepreneur, but also a great teacher. Everything taught builds on top of itself and is the professor is able to break down these concepts in a way that everybody can understand.

By Tzur V

Jan 19, 2020

The best one so far and really out of my comfort zone. The mandatory interaction with other students teaches a lot. You can identify students that tried to report without really negotiating after doing the negotiations exercises yourself .

By Oleksandra

Dec 20, 2015

This course is very helpful. I enjoyed doing all the negotiation assignments with the fellow students. I think there could be even more of those because the most important part of becoming a better negotiator is practice practice practice!

By Pietro V

Jan 30, 2021

Great, great, great corse! I learned so much and I also had a lot of fun during the negotiations that i had the opportunity to carry out, but also with the lessons that are full of contents but also somehow lightweight. Super reccomended!

By Alexandre L B

Jul 2, 2020

Negotiation is not only about the added value of the individual ingredients to make the pie, it's how you cook it and divide it. This is a must course in life, to live with no regrets on your past decision and anticipate your futurs ones.

By Tammy G

Jun 25, 2020

I ended up learning so many things to help me in everyday life that it did not matter that I took the course thinking it was something else completely. It was easy to follow along, and the videos were short enough to keep your attention.

By Philipp H

Jun 6, 2020

Weeks 1 to 5 are absolutely excellent. I liked the structure: It really helped providing the theoretical fundation first and establishing principles. And then doing the actual negotiations in week 3, 4 and 5. I definitely learned a lot.

By Antiao X

Jan 27, 2021

It is a great course for someone who is new to Negotiation. It reminds you of the principles of negotiation which you might easily forget. Also, I really like that Dr. Barry brings in more negotiation experts to share their techniques.

By Marya D

Dec 13, 2017

I highly recommend this course to everyone - regardless of what your role is, what your career path looks like, this is a great course to really understand how to effectively communicate with others and negotiate anything and everything.

By Shikhar P S

Jul 21, 2020

Love the way Professor Nalebuff kept giving small subsets of each concept which compiled beautifully into this meaningful "Negotiation" package in the end. Would be glad to learn something from Mr. Nalebuff in person. Thanks Coursera!