Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,820 ratings

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK

May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 1,486 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Andrew M

Aug 1, 2022

Great content and creative delivery methods, with vivid illustrations that simplify some quite complex concepts. Arguably a more enjoyable course taken online than in a contact class.

By Quran L D

Dec 22, 2020

One of the most informative classes I've ever taken. The way the information is conveyed makes it easy to enjoy it. I look forward to reviewing the information here for years to come.

By Valentin V

Jul 3, 2020

I've enjoyed this course, professor Nalebuff made me feel like he was here next to me, and we were having a pleasant conversation, thus helping me absorb the content much more easily.

By Nicole H

Mar 21, 2017

I LOVED this class and was so engulfed in it that I didn't even realize I had completed it! Would definitely recommend this prof. and this course interested in the art of negotiating.

By Carlos S G

Oct 16, 2016

Great course, the videos are funny, well taught. The practice exercise is also good and really useful. teachers show you the negotiation from another point of view. Very recomendable.

By Christian T M

Jun 20, 2021

I would like to drop this class for now and take it at a later date, How do I do that? The help page seems outdated and I cant find the enrollments drop down to unenroll. Please help

By Harmish S

May 7, 2020

Its very nicely explain course for the student not belonging to the field. It starts from the basic and goes till the end of the topic. The way every concept are explained are great.

By Tanisha S

May 5, 2020

This course is amazing! Love the course content, engaging videos and discussions. Professor Nalebuff has ensured that students have an experience very similar to an in-person course.

By Ahnaf T A

Jun 2, 2020

This is perhaps the most pragmatic course that I have taken. Everyone should learn about negotiation and games for leading a satisfying life. And bonus, Professor Nalebuff is a gem!

By Eric F

Nov 5, 2022

It's fantastic a course. I never though the negotiation has so many theory and skiils behind. It's very helpful not only for the negotiation itself, but also the business thinking.

By Dennis L

Sep 3, 2022

One of my best course.

This course gives students on opportunity to do a virtual negotiation.

Not only that, this also provides a variety of useful negotiation skills and knowledge.

By Sergey K

Dec 29, 2020

Увлекательный и вместе с тем полезный курс. Не смотря, что имею солидный опыт проведения переговоров, многие вещи стали открытием. Спасибо за знания и возможность попрактиковаться.

By Rebecca F

May 27, 2020

I strongly suggest this course. It is really interactive and it gives the possibility to know and negotiate with new people, by applying the knowledges acquired on real life cases.

By Fenny

May 24, 2020

Thank you Prof Barry, I learnt so much from this course and enjoy all the video animation and case studies. Thank you for putting in so much effort to make the learning enjoyable.

By Iris Q

Jan 11, 2021

It was my first online course and I absolutely loved it: it's interactive, there are games, guest speakers, quizzes, you have the opportunity to network.. very-well made - bravo!

By Bartolome C P

Aug 18, 2019

Very useful, although difficult to follow sometimes, when you come back to examples in real life negotiations between companies you realize how useful is what the course thaughts

By Marwan R

Feb 5, 2023

I really liked the course because it showed me new ways of looking at negotiation and the exercises and the examples were really good and made things more interesting. thank you

By Roni B

Dec 9, 2020

What an amazing course -- I highly recommend it! I learned a lot and appreciated the "real world" examples provided, how interactive it was, and Barry's terrific sense of humor!

By María d P M S

Aug 5, 2020

This course was excellent. Barry, and his deluxe guest proffessors were absolutely outstanding. Thank you very much for teaching such valuable content with the highest quality!!

By Lindsey G

May 6, 2020

This course is very interesting, practical, and interactive. The approach adopted is the best way to learn how to negotiate better by putting the skills you learn into practice.

By Jim M

Nov 11, 2018

Highly recommend. The course exceeded my expectations in every way. The content and presentation are excellent. How I approach negotiations going forward will be very different.

By Maxim S

Apr 18, 2020

Highly recommend this course to everyone! Do not get discouraged at first at the sing of math through. IT is a very interactive program and all your questions will be answered.

By Donald L

Apr 23, 2022

Very enjoyable and informative course,I learn some very strategic and principled negotiation tactics. It also help me with just every day life process situations. Thank you.

By Layne M

May 25, 2020

Professor Barry Nalebuff was able to make an online class something I looked forward to each week! I learned a lot and found his class informative and entertaining! Thank you!

By Rahul K D

May 12, 2020

Thanks to Prof. Barry for teaching various concepts and strategies, sharing and explaining real-time examples. I felt very informative and will definitely suggest this course.