Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,843 ratings

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

LB

Invalid date

Dr Nalebuff made the course interesting and fun. I learned a lot about negotiation. I thought it was awesome he brought in other experts to share their stories and even hosted two live webinars.

LM

Invalid date

A chance to learn a great deal about the theory of negotiation alongside the chance to put this into practice through negotiating with peers. Challenging material, but pitched at a fair level.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 1,489 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Naheed A

Sep 14, 2020

Great course. I have learnt the tricks of successful negotiation through this course. Than You Yale university and Coursera and Barry Nalebuff for this oppotunity.

By Tan K M

Aug 12, 2020

Brilliant Course, it is very challenging and tests your understanding and also provides the opportunity to collaborate with wonderful and diverse partners globally

By Marie d K

Jul 8, 2020

Great course. Interesting perspectives on negotiation. The course itself is well structured and content animation is really keeping the subject from becoming dry !

By N L

Apr 6, 2020

Very focused course but worth every piece of knowledge; I would tell you what it's all about but that would take away from my ability to negotiate! Happy learning.

By Sateesh K

Oct 26, 2017

Enjoyed the course thoroughly

Provides good foundation for folks wanting to get better in negotiations

its only a 5 week course but appears as a 9 week investment!

By Rishabh K

May 20, 2020

Great course. Teaches mathematical persuasion whose points are difficult to counter with. Good case studies and assignments that really helps. Highly recommended.

By Cong W

Dec 7, 2019

Good course so far. The concepts are useful in life and in Business.

I like the animation, which really makes the course easy to understand.

Recommend to everyone.

By Sebastian

Nov 7, 2019

Just did a f2f negotiation training with professionnel negotiators in parallel. Their experience matched 1:1 the academic perspepective given by this great course

By Oskernel R

Aug 24, 2018

This course is phenomenal.

I've picked up some practical skills and a principled, logical mindset to deal with negotiations in a more productive and impartial way.

By Biagio R

Mar 14, 2021

The way the teacher tries to get the concepts into your head makes it all really interesting. I am sure that I will apply everything I have learned in real life.

By Gil A

Jul 27, 2020

Amazing content Amazing lecturers and consider that whoever prepared the course is important about all the little details. Thank you so much for the life course.

By Daniel A B d S

May 25, 2020

Great course, you can test your knowledge through the learning journey to become a better negotiator. It provides an opportunity to test your skills. I like it!!

By Peter W

May 22, 2020

Fantastic content and high engagement for learning. Really fun way to learn. Some of the math is a challenge but the course is designed to help you through it.

By Valeriia C

May 17, 2020

I really liked the course due to practical info, exercises, relevant topics and recommendations on reading. The manner of the lecturer was engaging. Thank a lot!

By Juan F C

May 4, 2020

Excelente curso. Aprendizaje para negociar en todos los aspectos de tu vida. Muy buena interfaz y videos bastante entretenidos. El curso es divertido y distinto.

By Dimitrios M

Oct 24, 2015

Many "good to know" things both for professionals but even for simple things in life like buying an new apartment or go out and buy anything. Highly recommended.

By Sofija K

Jan 3, 2022

Really valuable course (not easy, but totally worth it). The classes and the materials are based on research and real world cases. I enjoyed every minute of it.

By C.K H

Jun 13, 2020

Awesome course. Seriously awesome. Something where you truly can take these skills and apply it to anywhere in life no matter what business or field you are in.

By Nikolas P

Apr 15, 2020

Amazing professor, learned so many new things that will prove very useful not only during professional negotiations but also in daily interactions with people!!

By Tony A

Nov 7, 2019

This course was eye opening for me, and I learned quit a bit. Barry Nalebuff is an entertaining professor, and I would love to take a class with him in person.

By Sietske H

Aug 25, 2023

This is an incredibly well taught, informative and engaging course. It helped me a lot and I enjoyed it immensly. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would!

By Matías A

Jan 23, 2020

Excellent course! great material and exercises. I recommend this course not only for people in the business area but also to project managers and team leaders.

By Iveren I

Sep 25, 2021

The most tasking and valuable course on Coursera so far. \it was challenging and enlightening at the same time The instructor deserves a special commendation.

By Santosh P

Sep 18, 2020

This course, instructor and content helped to change my approach towards looking the things in day to day life..

Damn Good.....

Thanks to Professor and Yale..

By Heath E

May 24, 2020

The quality of resources and curriculum completely blew my mind, and far exceeded my expectations. I learned so much and it became the highlight of my week.