Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,851 ratings

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MC

Invalid date

Professor Nalebuff does an excellent job of keeping the student engaged through his own examples of negotiations as well as guest speakers. I've learned so much from the Intro course to use at work.

JM

Invalid date

Game theory + empathy. Very interesting course since it combined some math with psychology. The amount of work is great and forces you to do exercises with other people, which I feel is crucial.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,493 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Heath E

May 24, 2020

The quality of resources and curriculum completely blew my mind, and far exceeded my expectations. I learned so much and it became the highlight of my week.

By Miguel D

Jan 25, 2021

The course is an excellent alternative for those looking to enrich their knowledge in the subject, and enhance the way they approach to negotiation tables.

By Shikha M

Jul 31, 2020

Excellent Barry ! The way you have engaged learner with brilliant examples like Beet VS Broccoli negotiations is mind blowing. Now I know what"s my pie :)

By Jo P

Apr 18, 2020

The professor is very engaging and doesn't let you get bored. I love the animated videos, they are way easier to follow and more fun than regular lectures.

By Simon G

Jun 1, 2017

Great course and brilliantly delivered. I enjoyed the graphics and the humor.

Herb Cohen is a legend and we were extremely lucky to have heard his thoughts.

By HARSH P

May 20, 2023

I am absolutely thankful to Prof. Nalebuff and the entire team at Yale for creating this amazing course. It truly is a lifesaver and a gamechanger for me.

By Attila K

Jul 13, 2017

Very interesting course and lots of interesting points of view to expand your existing knowledge. Very interesting for people without any negotiation back

By LEYLAND H

Dec 9, 2020

An excellent course with the flexibility to meet my needs to reschedule due to work priorities. An outstanding teacher/instructor/professor - thank you.

By Theodoros Y

Nov 14, 2020

I will miss it!

Although it was demanding, it was great fun and it really showed many different perspectives in negotiation.

Highly recommend it to anyone.

By Léo S

Jul 20, 2020

Strongly recommend this course. Prof Nalebuff does a fantastic job, you get a full immersion alongside the weekly requirements. Well done and thank you !

By Eduardo L G

Sep 17, 2015

A fun way to learn the basis on negotiation. Provides basic tips on the subject as well as it enables you to put them in practice. Thanks Prof. Nalebuff!

By Maria J L

Oct 11, 2020

Engaging, practical, useful. Learned a lot and never got bored with the combinations of readings, interactive Videos, quizzes and practice negotiations.

By Robert P

Jul 28, 2021

interactive, fun and interestingly challenging. Id never enjoyed learning this much and the course was designed so well. Look forward to doing another.

By Andrea P

Apr 30, 2020

Lessons are well explained and clear. Good to have practice exercises and cases to be made with other students: this has made the course more practical

By Harsh B

Jun 5, 2019

Extremely useful and well structured course. It is a great start for those who are looking for careers in Business Strategy, Consulting and Marketing.

By Alex B

Aug 22, 2017

I really liked the course, very good techniques for negotiation. The course provides a very useful perspective about how to approach a deal, any deal.

By Gibran B

Jun 28, 2021

Excellent course for all people interested in negotiations and the mathematical logic behind it. I seriously recommend taking this course if possible

By Siddhartha P

Jun 4, 2020

This has been a great learning curve for me .. enjoyed it throughly .. very practical and apt .. as per world business scenario.. thank you very much

By Georgios A M

Jun 1, 2020

Really nice experience of learning with user friendly video-lectures and learning by doing activities.

Would like to have more courses like this one!!

By Stefano E

Jan 4, 2018

The best course I have ever followed. Professor Nalebuff is great: very competent and able to make the lessons in the same way interesting and funny.

By Eunice C

Feb 15, 2023

I learnt a lot of negotiation principles and skills from this course, though I found it is also very challenging when doing the practices and quizs.

By Anastasiia D

Sep 17, 2020

So many thanks to Barry Nalebuff for such an interactive and interesting course on negotiation! It was one of my best experiences in online courses!

By Jia-Ying G

Apr 30, 2020

It is an eye-opening course about the psychology and logic thinking of both sides. It's hard but definitely worth the effort to complete the course.

By Arthur O

Dec 6, 2018

It is really an incredible class, and I enjoyed so much! After taking the course, I improved a lot in the art of negotiating or language delivering.

By krish R

Oct 14, 2023

amazing courses with amazing examples to learn from. The case study helps you test your knowledge and how much you've learnt through out the course