Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,845 ratings

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

KS

Invalid date

This course is perfect for any individual out there with a desire to expand their understanding of logical persuasion. You will come out of this course a meticulous and intuitive negotiator.

MC

Invalid date

Professor Nalebuff does an excellent job of keeping the student engaged through his own examples of negotiations as well as guest speakers. I've learned so much from the Intro course to use at work.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 1,489 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Bryan L Y C

Aug 18, 2021

Insightful and useful course, I really enjoyed the course and resources provided by the teaching team. I look forward to a 2nd part to this course.

By Rohan P (

May 4, 2020

Really valuable course. The exercises and case study give you the feeling of an actual classroom. I really liked the approach. Thank you Professor.

By Omer P

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent! the 1st course that really made me do it all, including assignments and quizzes.

The lecturer is great and the material is well organized

By Nitinun V

Mar 12, 2017

What would be better than spending your free time watching at entertaining animation + gaining knowledge! Highly recommend this course to everyone!

By Vineet R

Jun 15, 2016

Excellent course, touch some very basic requirements for successful negotiations. Can be useful for both new in career to well experienced like me.

By Vedant R

May 23, 2016

Outstanding teaching style and animations. Loved the content, format and examples. One of the most interesting and fun online classes I have taken.

By Gregory A P

Aug 1, 2019

Fantastic course, with a well balanced mix of the principles behind principled negotiation and the thinking behind the best negotiation practices.

By Stavri F

Nov 17, 2017

Fantastic course! The decision to enroll into this course was absolutely wise. You learn both the theory and the application and that's important.

By Rakesh J

Oct 16, 2021

Professor is excellent to teach this course. Even though you know what is Negotiation but you will learn beyond your thought, the concept of PIE.

By Raymond W S

Jul 15, 2020

I believe that the principles and knowledge learned and gained from this course are among the most valuable life skills I have obtained thus far.

By Valery L

Jan 22, 2020

Can strongly recommend this course to everyone who is willing to become better negotiator and understand need and expectation of other side. :-)!

By Anuscheh N

Apr 16, 2017

Fun course, detailed and high level at the same time, and although finding people to team up with an be hard, these assignments are a lot of fun.

By Ekta S

Dec 11, 2022

Great course with at least 3 mock negotiations to get practice. Dr. Nalebuff definitely has a very unique approach to economics and negotiation.

By Yash G

Jun 23, 2021

Professor's teaching style is much more practical. I have to negotiate more often and these principles are quite logical to pursue in real life.

By Ricardo H G

Dec 6, 2020

An excellent course with an excellent professor. Perfect to everyone who has some interest in the art of negotiation with any back ground of it.

By Luca A

May 11, 2020

the first course at Coursera and the best course I've ever taken. Practical, interactive, exciting and very very useful in daily life. Well done

By Rafael O

Nov 16, 2018

Best course I have ever taken on coursera, by far and large. Animations, great case studies, supplemental material, a great teacher, you name it

By frau h

Apr 6, 2021

Great course. New perspectives. Good interaction. You need to find a buddy or 2 for negotiating and this makes it more active. Really liked it.

By Roberto G

Jun 12, 2020

Great, challenging, and involving course. Take advantage of every single lecture and try to get the most out of it and you will truly enjoy it.

By Muharrem B

Dec 24, 2020

It was a really challenging course. But at the same time it was the best course I have ever taken in this area of expertise. Thanks very much.

By Roman v A

Oct 28, 2020

Superb. Great instructor/teacher. Quality videos and exercises and overall a very enjoyable and most of all useful course. Highly recommended.

By Francisca R

Sep 4, 2019

I'm grateful of the opportunity of learning this principles. I just think that the approch to female and male way to negotiate is a bit sexist

By Nidhin A

Nov 17, 2017

This course taught me a lot of the fundamentals of Negotiation. Barry is an amazing professor and I would recommend this course to my friends.

By Paulo Y K

Mar 9, 2021

I love it. I discovered so many taticals to negotiate with people, in general, not only financial. I can't wait to put this knowledge in use!

By Alan K G

Jun 23, 2020

To the point video lectures, well deliberated assignments. Makes tutee ponder deep. Good mix n match of negotiation principles n mathematics.