Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,081 ratings
1,282 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 1,277 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Paul C B

Aug 26, 2020

This is a really great course that will help you understand the theory and practical methods used to become a better negotiator.

By Aurélio B S

Nov 9, 2015

Um curso muito focado a prática e com informações muito ricas sobre como negociar de forma mais eficiente. Recomendo fortemente!

By John H

Jun 10, 2020

Exceptional class in learning the number of techniques available to understand perspective and ways toward a successful outcome

By Marcos G

Jun 8, 2020

Excellent course and amazing material, highly recommended to everyone who wants to be more effective in the negotiation's world

By AKASH M

Apr 12, 2020

Practical, fresh , informative , educational and ethical - These are the 5 stars in this course . Hence the deserving rating .

By Jacopo B

Feb 3, 2020

It is a great course full of useful content. The assignments are also very well made and targeted to the content of the course.

By Ahmed A H

Jan 15, 2021

An amazing course and instructor. Wonderful different ways of doing activities and very creative course design and interaction

By Patience K A

Sep 27, 2020

It's been a wonderful journey. I have learnt to be a critical thinker and this course has really given me a lot of confidence.

By Krishnendu L

Jul 27, 2020

A very important course to sustain and do good in personal and work life. Really worth a ton to spend these weeks of learning.

By Wong H Y

Jun 5, 2019

Excellent course to start your journey on becoming a good negotiator. Applicable in professional situations and everyday life!

By Nuno L

Sep 2, 2017

Fantastic course, very interesting perspectives and approach to negotiation mathematics and games. It really worth's the time!

By Diego M H

May 28, 2017

El curso fue Excelente. Trato la negociacion de varios angulos, y me agrego mucho valor a mi conocimiento. Lo recomiendo 100%.

By Elie N

Feb 14, 2021

The course is amazing with a lot of examples and case study. This is really one the best courses ever. Thank you Dr. Nalebuff

By Bianca J

Jul 2, 2020

The course was very interactive and Barry shared some great ideas how to apply these skills to real life apart from business.

By Isabella L Z

May 19, 2020

Very good, I've really learned a lot from the course and from the peers as well. Fantastic, very engaging and I enjoyed a lot

By Omar E M

May 17, 2020

This is definitely a different exposure to negotiation fundamentals, and Dr. Barry's approach is very distinctive. Thank you!

By Berenice M F

Jul 4, 2020

One of the best courses I've ever had!! Professor Barry Nalebuff it's amazing!! I recommend the course!!! You will enjoyed!!

By Zene P

Jan 19, 2020

Thank You, Barry

I'm a Realtor from California.

Amazing thru & thru.

I can't wait to use what I learned in my next negotiation.

By Ioannis S

Jun 26, 2019

This course can help you to improve your skills and i think is a very important tool for everyone who wants to be successful

By Joice A

Mar 24, 2017

This was a very informative class and I have already applied what I've learned and succeeded in my negotiation in real life!

By HARJOT S

Mar 9, 2017

The course enabled me to learn various aspects of negotiation, especially the pie, how to expand the pie and get your share.

By Siya T

Jul 23, 2020

Barry has been amazing! He makes the content so interesting and enjoyable. I am looking forward to more courses from Barry!

By Jan T

May 3, 2020

One of the best courses so far! And definitely the best in terms of engagement! I would ask for more negotiation exercises!

By Santiago W

Feb 6, 2020

Excellent course. Throughout it, I could learn several negotiation principles and strategies in a very dynamic and fun way.

By Son A D

Nov 22, 2015

Prof. NaleBuff is awesome, funny and thorough with his explanation in the course. Challeging so far, but I really enjoy it.