Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,343 ratings
1,031 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK

May 31, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 1,022 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Tomas F

Sep 01, 2020

Amazing content and very easy to understand the concepts. Incredible job by the professor!

By Lynette B

Jul 12, 2020

An awesome class that provides a wealth of tools and techniques for improved negotiations.

By Gabriel A R A

Jun 26, 2020

excelente muy dinámico y con mas que suficiente ejemplos para el momento de la negociación

By Mauricio M

Jun 04, 2020

I was able to learn some very simple and effective tools to improve my negotiation skills.

By Fanny M

Dec 14, 2019

Very informational and easy to under stand for people grade 7 and up (basically everyone).

By John F

Mar 19, 2018

Phenomenally gifted instructor! Exceptionally well designed and implemented presentation.

By patrick b

Jun 05, 2016

Excellent, very interesting approach, a shame there is no pdf documents about the courses.

By Aryashree K

Jul 03, 2020

I enjoyed the course thoroughly! Absolutely loved it! Thank you Coursera and Prof. Barry!

By Felicia P

May 22, 2020

I've learned a lot from this course and I feel very confident in starting to negotiate :)

By Igor V

May 06, 2020

Brilliant! Very exiting experience. Many thanks to Professor Barry Nalebuff and his team.

By Marlene S

May 02, 2020

Very interesting and engaging course. Loved that he offered live sessions during COVID19!

By Christopher V

Apr 30, 2020

An immersive course, packed with digestible content. I couldn't recommend it more highly!

By Ray W

Apr 15, 2020

though has been taught under the same topic, this professor is rather fun and inspiring !

By Maria-Katharina M

Nov 30, 2017

Mr. Nalebuff is a very good lecturer. The graphics used are understandable and enjoyable.

By Adam N

Oct 23, 2017

Absolutely top notch instruction! Challenging technical component and great case studies!

By Eric L

Sep 12, 2020

The best course I have ever taken on Coursera. Interesting, illustrative, and relevant.

By Alejandro A L

Jun 17, 2020

Great course! I thnk the animations made it a lot more enjoyable and easy to understand.

By Parveen P

Apr 24, 2020

Really great course in terms of crisp, lot of practical stuff and brilliantly presented.

By Luis S M

Apr 10, 2020

It has been the best learning experience I have had in the past decade or so! Excellent!

By Raluca M

Mar 31, 2019

I REALLY ENJOYED IT, DIFFERENT WAY OF PRESENTING THINGS AND VERY CATCHY IN THE SAME TIME

By Kyle C

Mar 07, 2019

Excellent course - puts things in a different perspective that can be used in real life.

By Alfonso R

Apr 26, 2020

Great introduction. Barry is a fantastic professor, and the guests helped me even more.

By Paulo B

Apr 08, 2020

Excellent!!! Very informative even for more experienced people! Definitely recommended!

By IVON R

Mar 02, 2017

An energetic course with important lessons on strategic negotiations. 100% recommended!

By Chow Y S

May 29, 2020

Good for a chill session of learning how to talk things out to achieve better outcomes