Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,081 ratings
1,282 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 1,277 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Shreyank S

May 13, 2020

Throughly enjoyed this course. It was very unique and engaging. Would definitely recommend it.

By Stanislav A

Aug 4, 2019

The best course I ever had on Coursera. Useful and unobvious tricks highlighted and explained.

By Jonathan S

Jan 10, 2019

An excellent course with great insight, that is well put together by a world leading lecturer.

By Willy M K

Nov 29, 2020

This was such a well-moderated course and the lecturers were competent. I'm entirely pleased.

By Saif A A B

Jul 26, 2020

Really good course with a really interactive professor.Very interesting and practical course.

By Chetan S

Jun 12, 2020

Love the wide range of this course, assists in negotiating in a board room and on the street.

By Chow K M

Jun 1, 2020

Very engaging presentations. The concepts reinforce one another, allowing for easy retention.

By BRIAN E O

Nov 27, 2020

I am in my 50s with a MBA and been in sales over 20+ years. Well worth the time and effort.

By Roberto C

Sep 12, 2020

its a open-minding course, everyone should have a experience like this one, totally worth it

By Pei Y C

May 30, 2020

Very interesting and helpful course. Barry is very attentive to make each material and case.

By Lennox R

Jan 25, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and interaction with other learners from around the world.

By Eric W E

Jun 7, 2016

A completely entertaining course which changed my perspective on the subject of negotiation.

By Yahor M

Nov 30, 2015

wonderful lecturer, great course design, very interactive and intresting. Thank you so much!

By Samuel B P P

May 11, 2021

Excelente profesor, tiene una metodología muy didáctica y terminas como un gran negociador.

By José I B

May 28, 2020

It is a great course for beginners. Everything was explained in ways anyone can understand.

By demetris

May 1, 2020

Excellent course, simple and engaging teaching style, great content and practice sessions!

By Paul R

Dec 14, 2019

Great course. Videos were engaging, entertaining, educational and professionally-produced.

By Somshekhar B

Aug 2, 2019

An outstanding experience. I've recommended this course to more people than I can remember.

By Sudershan S

Sep 6, 2018

Really , rigorous and demanding. New perspective for me. I thorough;y enjoying this course.

By Tomas F

Sep 1, 2020

Amazing content and very easy to understand the concepts. Incredible job by the professor!

By Lynette B

Jul 12, 2020

An awesome class that provides a wealth of tools and techniques for improved negotiations.

By Gabriel A R A

Jun 26, 2020

excelente muy dinámico y con mas que suficiente ejemplos para el momento de la negociación

By Mauricio M

Jun 4, 2020

I was able to learn some very simple and effective tools to improve my negotiation skills.

By Fanny M

Dec 13, 2019

Very informational and easy to under stand for people grade 7 and up (basically everyone).

By John F

Mar 19, 2018

Phenomenally gifted instructor! Exceptionally well designed and implemented presentation.