Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,085 ratings
1,283 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 1,279 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By John F

Mar 19, 2018

Phenomenally gifted instructor! Exceptionally well designed and implemented presentation.

By patrick b

Jun 5, 2016

Excellent, very interesting approach, a shame there is no pdf documents about the courses.

By Aryashree K

Jul 2, 2020

I enjoyed the course thoroughly! Absolutely loved it! Thank you Coursera and Prof. Barry!

By Felicia P

May 22, 2020

I've learned a lot from this course and I feel very confident in starting to negotiate :)

By Igor V

May 6, 2020

Brilliant! Very exiting experience. Many thanks to Professor Barry Nalebuff and his team.

By Marlene S

May 2, 2020

Very interesting and engaging course. Loved that he offered live sessions during COVID19!

By Christopher V

Apr 30, 2020

An immersive course, packed with digestible content. I couldn't recommend it more highly!

By Ray W

Apr 15, 2020

though has been taught under the same topic, this professor is rather fun and inspiring !

By Deleted A

Nov 30, 2017

Mr. Nalebuff is a very good lecturer. The graphics used are understandable and enjoyable.

By Adam N

Oct 23, 2017

Absolutely top notch instruction! Challenging technical component and great case studies!

By Raluca T

Jan 19, 2021

Great class, incredible value and a pleasure to go through the course materials. Thanks!

By hendy k

Dec 26, 2020

many thanks professor, I definitely learn a lot about how to be an expert negotiator !!

By Jeroen V

Sep 28, 2020

practical exercises, good video's and lots of fun doing the negotiation with class mates

By Eric L

Sep 12, 2020

The best course I have ever taken on Coursera. Interesting, illustrative, and relevant.

By Alejandro A L

Jun 17, 2020

Great course! I thnk the animations made it a lot more enjoyable and easy to understand.

By Parveen P

Apr 24, 2020

Really great course in terms of crisp, lot of practical stuff and brilliantly presented.

By Luis S M

Apr 10, 2020

It has been the best learning experience I have had in the past decade or so! Excellent!

By Raluca M

Mar 31, 2019

I REALLY ENJOYED IT, DIFFERENT WAY OF PRESENTING THINGS AND VERY CATCHY IN THE SAME TIME

By Kyle C

Mar 7, 2019

Excellent course - puts things in a different perspective that can be used in real life.

By Nicolas B

Mar 4, 2021

Thanks Barry for making such a great course! Enjoyed it heaps! Amazing job by everyone!

By Alfonso R

Apr 26, 2020

Great introduction. Barry is a fantastic professor, and the guests helped me even more.

By Paulo B

Apr 8, 2020

Excellent!!! Very informative even for more experienced people! Definitely recommended!

By IVON R

Mar 2, 2017

An energetic course with important lessons on strategic negotiations. 100% recommended!

By Chow Y S

May 28, 2020

Good for a chill session of learning how to talk things out to achieve better outcomes

By Francisco J d A

Nov 12, 2015

Fluent and entertaing course fully useful for both business and daily life situations.