Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,862 ratings
1,211 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 1,200 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Cristian R

Jan 10, 2021

Excellent content! activities with people from other countries and experts!

By Graham S

Jun 5, 2020

An excellent course with some helpful tips for many real-life applications.

By Isaac B

Jun 5, 2020

What a great professor. I'm looking forward to taking more classes with him

By Olga M

Jun 1, 2020

Interesting, full of examples and cases for practice. I strongly recommend.

By Lu Y

May 19, 2020

Very practical course, and very dedicated professor! Strongly recommended!!

By Gianluigi D

Feb 19, 2018

Great course, really well done, interesting, fun and complete. Thanks Prof!

By Cherepanova

May 25, 2020

Really well though class. Great practical exercises. Enjoyed it very much.

By Abreowong E

Apr 14, 2020

Fantastic course with very practical examples and tests. Well recommended!

By Juchen L

Feb 18, 2019

I like the animation which really helps me to understand the ideas better.

By Kasimir H

Jun 17, 2016

Nice views on negotiations, and well explained. Gives a good introduction.

By Aneerudha A B

Sep 28, 2020

Excellent course, very informative and helpful. Barry is a great teacher.

By Julia H

May 10, 2020

This Course can only be recommended to everyone. They all did a great job

By Orion S

Sep 10, 2019

Highly needed knowledge not only in the professional but day to day life.

By Jaret G

May 7, 2017

Great teacher! Very witty and funny. Great storytelling teaching style.

By Sandra N

Apr 22, 2017

Please make an advanced version of this course, it would be very helpful!

By Sasa M

Feb 25, 2017

The course is fun, educational, there is theory and practice. I recommend

By Allan B

Dec 31, 2020

Great and at times challenging course, I would recommend this to anyone.

By Maria T

Nov 16, 2020

Brilliant Experience; Very well - structured course; Really Really Happy

By Shubham A

Aug 5, 2020

A great way to learn a life skill with simple math equation !! Thank you

By Salem S

Apr 20, 2020

It's fantastic.

The way it has been thought and the content is brilliant.

By Álvaro T F

Nov 8, 2019

Amazing course. Personally I learned a lot. Highly recommend this course

By Majid A

Aug 30, 2017

best doctor, he tried to make us understand at any way, you are the best

By Liu y

Aug 13, 2015

Extremely-useful course! It has tremendously changed my way of thinking.

By Maria C P

Feb 7, 2021

If you want to learn the basics of negotiation, this course is for you!

By Frederique L G

Sep 8, 2019

Loved it! Great principles to apply in daily life as in work situation.