Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,866 ratings
1,211 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 1,200 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Alessio G

Aug 24, 2020

very interesting course, especially for sales, commercials and buyers!

By Ayush L

Apr 21, 2020

Really had fun and a gala time while going through with the tutorials.

By Calvin T

Apr 1, 2017

An excellent course with clear instruction and purposeful assessments.

By Andres L C

Jul 3, 2020

Great course! Very interesting take on negotiation using game theory.

By Nathaphol C

May 7, 2020

Very good example to understand how we can do the better negotiation.

By Konrad

Apr 28, 2020

The best MOOC I have taken so far. I highly recommend it to everyone!

By kevin b

Sep 7, 2015

in only the first week of the course i learned several new concepts .

By Sarnia D

Jun 16, 2020

Great course! I learned a lot and I absolutely recommend this class.

By Viola F

Jun 12, 2020

Amazing professor. A truly useful course! Thanks a lot Mr. Nelebuff!

By SHIV P

May 20, 2020

Outstanding Course material ,very lively videos... Feeling real good

By Matthew H

Feb 9, 2020

One of the most useful, engaging, well-done courses I've ever taken.

By Claire W

Aug 3, 2018

Immediately hooked - provides a fresh perspective to look at things.

By Julian H

May 25, 2017

Fantastic Course. Highly interacitve and very well crafted material!

By François d

Jul 28, 2020

This course is both a very practical and intellectual enlightening.

By Khushal G

May 5, 2020

AN INCREDIBLE COURSE WILL DEFINITELY HELP YOU OUT IN THE REAL WORLD

By Cameron T C

May 4, 2020

Great class, learned a lot, understandable format, great professor.

By Cameron P

Apr 24, 2020

This is a great introduction to negotiation but also to game theory

By Andrija B

Jan 20, 2020

Quite practical knowledge that can be used everyday and everywhere.

By Mary B S

Jun 1, 2017

The negotiator interviews were particularly helpful and insightful.

By Vanessa G

Mar 4, 2021

Simply amazing! Loved it, helped me understand many new strategies

By Luke S

Jan 22, 2021

He is a great teacher with lots experience. 10/10 would recommend.

By Andreea V

Jul 28, 2020

One of the most engaging and insightful courses I have ever taken!

By Suraj M

Jun 3, 2020

Absolutely one of the best courses I ever had, online or otherwise

By Sadaf S K

May 12, 2020

super engaging course I must say and also learned a lot of things.

By Daniel

May 28, 2017

Great Course, Hard but I learned a lot from him! one of the bests!