Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,955 ratings
1,237 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

1176 - 1200 of 1,227 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Mireia M

Sep 17, 2017

VERY GOOD.

The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because the multimedia part of it (videos, renderings) needs to be brushed-up. A better quality in those is easily achievable.

By dhirendra d

Oct 12, 2020

Great course, it will teach you how to put your argument and most importantly keep your morals and ethics intact.

Before taking it I believed negotiation is a liar's job not mine.

By GOTO, J

May 12, 2020

It was not easy, sure, as anticipated by the same Prof., but highly suggestive content of which you experiment the spirit. I will revisit then to ruminate the gists.

By Lewis O

Jun 1, 2016

This course in really insightful and with amazing content, but the structuring of the course is a bit confusing: too many divisions, and no clear learning path

By Diego A C

Mar 29, 2019

The assignments between peers weren`t really helpful. But, the content and negotiation tactic videos were extraordinary!

By Daniel L

Sep 5, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed this difficult course. Learned new negotiation techniques and enhanced my basic existing knowledge.

By Georgios G

Jun 7, 2020

i enjoyed this course a lot. Yes you have to learn some framework but when the expert comes in everything is clarified

By Georgios B

Dec 26, 2019

Very Informative course, it would be better if it was slightly more specialized and more in depth for some concepts. I

By Faisal N

Jun 12, 2020

This course is a very enlightening and practical approach to negotiation not just in your work but daily lives too.

By poh m k

Sep 21, 2016

Explained negotiation in an interesting and engaging manner. Easy to follow and it's quite addictive.

By candra k

Oct 24, 2020

This is a good course, I got a lot of knowledge, but i cannot submit recorded negotiation practice

By Sharjeel M

Jun 28, 2017

Interesting and tedious course, covers numerous aspects of negotiation in short intervals of time.

By 冯韵哲

Feb 25, 2017

课程的e设置方式非常有意思, 动画效果很可爱, 老师的表达很风趣, 关于pie的中心思想贯彻整个课程使课程非常有主题有条理,知识实践性很强,适合于各个行业年龄的人学习,特别好的一门在线课程!!

By FARHAAN H

May 8, 2020

Good course but difficult for Non Science background people. It has quite a bit of Maths in it.

By Jacob L

Dec 29, 2019

Good videos and great approach to teaching a course online that is in essence interpersonal.

By Noor Q K

Nov 6, 2015

This great and comprehensive with lots of real world example. I learnt alot from the course.

By Edgar V L

Mar 16, 2021

El curso me pareció muy interesante, aprendí nuevas técnicas para abordar negociaciones.

By Robert P

Mar 29, 2016

Superb presentation of objective methods to approach negotiations, with exercises and

By Anshuman S

Dec 4, 2019

Great course! Well designed and articulated! It is fit to any level of student.

By Lawrence

Mar 25, 2017

I thought the active negotiations with other students were very effective...

By Natalia V

Jun 2, 2020

very good material, but more like a theory - not very well for sales people

By Tugba S

Jun 23, 2019

I really enjoyed the course. You could improve the structure of each week.

By Ricardo G N

Mar 13, 2018

Curso más que recomendable; sumamente didáctico y a la par entretenido.

By Ayse G C

Dec 22, 2015

very well organized and I esp like the way we have the case studies .