Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,343 ratings
1,031 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK

May 31, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,024 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Jasmina V

May 05, 2020

This is one of the best courses I've ever done. It kept me immersed and engaged in the subject which I didn't even think I liked. After the course, I have a completely different view on negotiation and I love it. It's a skill to apply on anything and everything in your life. I highly recommend this course!

By Jeremy K

Aug 25, 2020

This course was nothing short of great and has given me a whole new toolbox of skills to use in professional and personal settings. It was really a pleasure to learn from Professor Nalebuff. He found ways of making even the most difficult material approachable. I can't recommend this course highly enough.

By RICARDO I C M

Apr 17, 2019

It was a unique experience, as South American, being able to participate and negotiate with people who was taking the same course from all over the world, is something you can usually dream of. Definitly I feel the change on my way of seing negotiation and I expect to meet our professor and partners soon.

By Guillem G i P

May 09, 2020

I learned a lot from this course and would love to thank Barry Nalebuff and Coursera for making this possible. It's been a delight to be able to enroll in such a fructiferous course which has taught me so much. I'm feeling really excited and would love to continue learning, I can't recommend it any more.

By Jason B

May 04, 2020

Excellent course! I look forward to continued learning. I think the quality of this course was excellent, and the classwork and supplemental materials were extraordinary. I loved the interaction with my classmates and the accessibility of the professor. Cannot say enough about how amazing this class was!

By Gustavo A J N

May 14, 2020

I really liked the course, specially being able to negotiate with people of diferent countries and cultures around the globe. The concept of spliting the pie it's very usefull in negotiations. Also how to become allocentric to be a better negotiator it´s a very persuasive aproach in every negotiation.

By Kunal K K

May 09, 2020

A well-designed course with extremely useful content curated from the instructor as well as some of the renowned negotiation experts. A suggestion would be to try and simplify Weeks 1 and 2 of the course by reducing the technicality and making the concepts easier to assimilate. Many thanks Prof. Barry.

By Amparo M S

Oct 12, 2016

I strongly recommend this course to those who want to learn some useful tools and techniques to become a better negotiator. Content is great, the course is nice to follow and it's not just watching some videos, you must really understand the concepts to pass the tests and it really forces you to think.

By Deleted A

Jun 02, 2018

Exceptionally interesting and useful course. Requires a basic grasp of mathematical concepts. Very well presented with plenty of illustrative examples and interactive projects. Valuable contributions from professional negotiators and a refreshing dose of humour here and there. Highly recommended.

By Akhmatova S

Aug 30, 2020

I enjoyed this course co much! The greatest thing about it was the opportunity to practice negotiations theory with other students - I found a lot of people with the same interests as me and I really liked negotiations we did. Thank you for such an amazing course! All professors were brilliant!

By Philipp E W

Aug 03, 2020

This course has changed my outlook on negotiations and conflicts: I used to see them as a competitive game and have now switched to a collaborative problem solving approach. I now actually look forward to negotiating and creating added value both in my professional as well as private life.

By HP

Jul 12, 2020

Thanks, Prof Barry & your team.

Aim of negotiation is about maximizing the pie, getting the most for both parties, negotiate for good course, longer term. Appreciate you invited outstanding experienced negotiators to share their live experience. Together we make this world a better place!

By Ruth C

Jun 01, 2020

I loved the entire course and the effort put into the professor with his animations and fun ideas. This course does have a lot of calculated math, basic for sure, and required me to watch the math videos at least thrice. But overall, I loved it. Thank you for putting your soul into this.

By Jesus M

May 22, 2020

Muy recomendable el curso, los conceptos se exponen de una manera sencilla y asimilable por todo el mundo, y se tiene la posibilidad de practicar con otros participantes en interesantes casos de negocio que se plantean. La calidad de los videos y las pruebas que se realizan es muy buena.

By MOUSSA K

Apr 28, 2020

Great content delivered by professor Barry Naleduff and his guests. The course is well articulated, with videos, cases and inspiring life stories which make it very enjoyable. I leave the course being fulfilled and a desire to keep learning more from professor Barry Naleduff. Thank you!

By María I P

Aug 27, 2020

Great course. Interesting and dinamic.

It was great to negotiate with people around the world (in my case, I am a lawyer from Argentina and did the negotiatios with another Lawyer in Brazil and an accountant form India) and I learnt very usefull things for my day to day work. Thanks!!!

By Ali Ö

Jun 06, 2017

I enjoyed a lot from all the lectures in the course. Many thanks for the very carefully prepared course contents and the classroom atmosphere that I felt throughout all the lessons. I recommend very strongly to everybody who wants to be a better negotiator and more succesfull in life.

By Ruan C

Mar 27, 2018

This is a really fun course! Not easy, to be honest, but very rewarding. Nalebuff has a nice combination of mathematics and guts in all the negotiation strategies, and has a great sense of humor in all videos, making it a lot easier to understand. I recommend this course to everyone.

By Katharina R

May 27, 2020

It was an intensive and great course to get all the tools for reasonable negotiating! Thank you a lot for this very well structured course with all the wise content. I learned a lot not only for myself but also for my job. Thank you so much Barry Nalebuff! You are a great professor!

By reneboy g

Jun 24, 2020

I have never thought that we can do the negotiation on the approaches taught in this course. What is surprising to me is the Talmud method which has been used for 2000 years. I will retake this course, rewatch the video, there are many gems here that can prepare us to negotiations.

By Daniel L

May 26, 2020

This is really a great course and it gives a different perception on how we should view negotiation in life. The instructor also reminded us to negotiate with our values and personal style. Winning isn't everything. Creating bigger value (& pie) in life & society is more important.

By David R

May 05, 2020

Fantastic and enlightening course, so wonderfully presented and loaded with good ideas and lessons from so many prepared and experienced people, as well as a great opportunity to practice and improve. Congratulation to the team and, specially, Barry Nalebuff and Yale for having him

By Konstantin A

Feb 07, 2017

Fantastic course! Quite informative and I useful I must say. Professor Nalebuff explains all concepts in an understandable way, without sugar-coating and using excessively complex terms. I could only wish to have attended one of his other courses.. My sincere admiration and thanks!

By Anushka T

Jun 09, 2020

It's truly one of the most beneficial courses I've ever taken, both in the classroom and online. The course is very well made and Barry does an excellent job of getting the facts straight in our brains. I would recommend this course to anyone who is looking to develop a new skill.