Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,010 ratings
1,259 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,252 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By boris m b

Mar 26, 2020

The course has the right mix between theory and practical exercises. The videos are clear, though as pills of knowledge.

By Matthew B

Mar 13, 2020

Excellent. A great introduction to negotiation (theoretical and practical), and to distance learning!

By rohit b

Feb 23, 2020

Excellent use cases and explanations providing a practical approach to applying the various techiques

By Gustavo M

Apr 27, 2021

The lectures are fantastic and the course has a great didactic. I'm very satisfied with this course.

By Sven D

Apr 18, 2021

Excellent course, very interactive and very well set up would recommend it to anyone.

By Matthias A B

Mar 17, 2020

Amazing course, makes you question things differently from the beginning.

By Jenny, Z Y

Feb 28, 2019

very well structured, good case studies, eye opening for beginner!

By Lala

Apr 2, 2020

This Course was very useful and interesting! thank you very much!

By Or L

Mar 22, 2020

Great course, very practical and a must for the business world

By Sakher

Mar 31, 2020

I enjoyed every second.

I wish I can study at Yale University

By Marianna V

Mar 27, 2020

Loved it! Would recommend to anyone in any position.

By iolanda m

Mar 26, 2020

Amazing!!

Great teacher, well explained, recommended!

By Adam C

Jan 7, 2019

Interesting, challenging, very well taught.

By Sandra S

Apr 30, 2021

Great course! Engaging and insightful!

By Kathrin H

Mar 4, 2019

A must have for everyone!!!!Pure fun.

By Elena C C

Mar 2, 2020

Very useful and entertaining!!

By Lusine A

Jan 18, 2019

It is very interesting.

By Hannah R

Aug 29, 2017

Really loved the quality and pacing of this course. Find it extremely beneficial for all types of work -- by looking at negotiating terms in a mathematical way so it's quantitative; not subjective. Only criticism would be a requirement to have a live negotiation that's filmed and edited for peer review. Would prefer the class to be self-contained; difficult to find a partner.

By Umer K A

Apr 18, 2021

A great course for beginners. It gives you a different perspective to look at things. Equips you with the tools you need for successful negotiation and helps you understand how can you create value by coming together and methods to split this added value. Has a lot of maths in the beginning. Also valuable interview sessions with the experts and their input.

By Moyukh B

Jun 16, 2020

I would have appreciated this course far more if the principles of negotiation were explored before diving into the mathematics first. Rather than clarifying the theories and expanding on them through mathematical representation Barry dove right into significantly complicated theorem which one would only relate with once the principles were clear.

By Bozhidar

Mar 1, 2020

This is a great course for everybody who wants to improve its negotiation skills. I enjoyed very much the exercises and the videos!

By Mark M S

Jan 4, 2021

Perhaps my lack of understanding in math is holding me back from processing the first basic "pie" exercise, and how the professor came to the conclusion. For this simple reason, it may be best for me to un-enroll from this course.

By Arun T

Jan 27, 2021

Didn't like the principle of Divided Cloth where the aggressor is rewarded with more of disputed property and the reasonable claimant is punished by having his share reduced even further.

This is more a case of might is right.

By David M

Aug 25, 2015

After the first two introductions the course was not for me.

By Maria I A

May 18, 2020

This was a great introduction course to negotiation. I can definitely say I now have better principles and tips for negotiating situations. Of course this is probably not the course for someone whose job is to negotiate as its daily task (and even for those, it might be helpful), but it definitely provides some insights that every person should have as a citizen. This will give you tips to benefit you in future negotiations, but most of all, it will teach you to be fair, honest and win a negotiation in a healthy way. The math of it might be considering advanced for some, but I don't think you have to understand all the formulas and equations behind it, if you can get a general sense of what is being taught. I definitely reccomend this course to have it on your CV, and to give you some tips on how to confront possible future situations of your life like negotiating a house, or a better salary. All the people that contribute to this course are expert in the matters and it's great to hear from them. In addition, this course is super interactive, easy to follow, and it promotes "learning by doing", by connecting you to other people, all over the world, who are also taking this course, for simulations of real negotiations, which allows you to practice what you learned in a chill environment, where there's nothing but tremendous learning opportunities. Thank you Professor Barry!