Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,526 ratings

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK

May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,135 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Michael C

May 17, 2020

Professor Nalebuff does an excellent job of keeping the student engaged through his own examples of negotiations as well as guest speakers. I've learned so much from the Intro course to use at work.

By Tim M

Mar 1, 2017

This is a remarkable course for the insight that it gives into negotiation. Previously I would have approached negotiation scenarios (like the course example of sharing the cost of business flights) with just a couple of options in mind (e.g. "split the cost") but this course has opened my mind to a far richer variety of options, and more importantly how to reason about those options (and so hopefully negotiate a good deal) and how to "expand the pie" with more options. The animations are visually cute, but they are also so rich in ideas that the transcripts essentially form a good set of notes about the topic, and they are infused with Barry's sense of fun. My only complaints are that the last couple of weeks of interviews with negotiators aren't as rich/interesting as the first part of the course (though Cohen was great), the early examples are perhaps overly numeric (though probably justifiably for simplicity), and from peer assessments it seemed that many students had little understanding of probability/expected value. But overall, a fantastic course!

By Emmanuelle P

Apr 8, 2020

Excellent course both in content and format. A mathematical / game theory approach to negotiation is useful to smartly invent solutions. I recommend to take this course in complement to the ESSEC / Negotiation Fundamentals Course which has a completely different, structuralist (French ?!) approach. Together they offer a comprehensive set of skills to be successful in any kind of negotiation (business, diplomacy, private matters, etc)

By Kulpreet C

Aug 18, 2017

The Course is a Step by Step Process of Teaching you what you dont know, but often need to Use most of the Times.

The importance of how much to bid/make offer with limited info, and many more things Gives you a New Perspective of things that you will Use More than Often in your Daily Life.

I Highly Recommend this Course for any Individual who has to Interact with Others. This will give you an Edge & Hopefully you get better & better.

The Professor & his Team has made a lot of effort in making this course very Interesting.

All the Best & Cheers

By Razan L

Oct 29, 2018

Very enlightening course. Loved the material and the way it was given. Learned a lot from the cases were asked to do. Highly recommended for improvement in the workplace as well as personal life!

By Lam A T

Mar 21, 2020

I enjoy the course and the way the professor present his lesson , very detail and easy to understand , it help me greatly on how to become better at negotiation , the book reference and reading material are good and the side game is fun too ,and very productive work on the presentation . Great course overall .Many thanks to the professor and all who involve in making it .

By Hudson d M Q

Mar 11, 2020

Certainly participating in this course was a wonderful and very enriching opportunity, all classes as well as videos, printed materials are of the highest quality, with brilliant methodology and easy teaching assimilation of Professor Milton Steinbach.

It is gratifying to be able to take a course of such importance at an institution that is among the best in the world!

By Jaromy H

Apr 4, 2020

This was an excellent course. Professor Barry Nalebuff was a great speaker, who was not only entertaining but very informative. The class was not easy, but it was well worth the time and effort I put into it. You know an educator is good when you leave feeling like you definitely learned something and enjoyed taking their course.

By Hemali S

Mar 5, 2020

An exceptional course. All the videos and quizzes are well crafted. Barry is a fantastic teacher. There is no fluff, the material is concise, direct and to the point. Also, apart from being extremely useful, the course is also fun! Well done, Barry and team!

By Navin K

May 31, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

By Suddhasattwa D

Aug 15, 2021

The instructor Barry was awesome. He was articulate, shared industry experience with interactive videos, class room videos and guest speakers. I liked the hands-on real life approach of the course.

By SONIA I

May 2, 2020

I learned a lot about negociations by taking this great course! Most of all, I really appreciated the emphasis on fairness in negociations, and learning how to find the best possible outcome for all the parties involved. I absolutely recommend this course!

By Rainy

Jan 4, 2019

Very insightful and helpful. This is one of my favorite classes on coursera and i love the way professor Barry devised and structured the course. Hopefully, there would be a second course from professor Barry soon.

By Christina K

Mar 29, 2020

One of the most exciting and interesting courses! Mr.Nalebluff is an admirable person and teacher. Highly recommend it to anyone who wants to ameliorate their interpersonal skills!! Do not lose any time, ENROLL!!

By Khalid A

Jan 21, 2019

I enjoy the course and the way that the professor introduces it. I recommend all people who are willing to improve their abilities to negotiate and treat people fairly to take advantage of this course.

By Viviane C C

Apr 2, 2020

Incredible Professor, incredible material, incredible experience. I learnt a lot, I was able to meet new people and had a lot of fun whie doing it. Thank you so much!

By Jaya S

Nov 8, 2021

I am really grateful to this course's organizers: Professor Barry Nalebuff and his team for putting together this wonderful course on life skills of negotiation. I couldn't have asked for a better course, really!!! I learned so many new things that I can apply in my life. The advice was very actionable e.g., preparing and understanding what exactly we are looking for from the negotiation, what our reservation value is, thinking of ways to expand the pie, not fighting fire with fire, listening and understanding what the other side's motivations are, handling nibble, being relentlessly pleasant, not calling out a lie, etc. Doing negotiations with strangers as part of assignments took me completely out of my comfort zone and even I was quite pleasantly surprised to see that it was not as hard I had imagined it to be. I especially found professor's discussions with the great negotiator Herb Cohen and other legends quite insightful and inspiring. It was eye-opening(and sadly true) for me that many of us especially women don't even ask, let alone negotiate. Thank you so much for creating this course.

By Aleksandra T

Jun 26, 2020

The course is amazing! Lots of insights, tips and tricks. I gain a bit of confidence in myself, and not just negotiation, but also in mu skills. And also start to thinking differently about others side, and not just that I need to get something for every price.

Professor explains it great! Assignments are priceless!

I bought certificate at the end just because this course deserves to be paid.

By Pawan B

Mar 30, 2021

One of the best course in Coursera. I am glad I put in the effort to learn the concepts taught by Professor Barry. Thank you for everything. Using principled negotiation approach , I would be better able to negotiate my life circumstances, be it salary negotiation or being a mediator for time sensitive deals. This is true education.

By Evgueni K

Mar 11, 2019

This is a very rewarding course, a must in this world to anyone living a civilized life. I am very grateful to Coursera and Yale for bringing this course into being.

By Ashraf D

Apr 2, 2020

Brilliant course. Really well designed and usefully practical. Sign up for sure.

By Peter S

Apr 4, 2021

Honestly, I never imagined this course could be so interesting. The way it is prepared - very well done instructive videos, readings and exercises - but the most importantly - the best part - the real negotiations themselves, it just gives the motivation to continue.

Of course, if one wants to be good prepared for a negotiation, it can consume some amount of free time. However, it was fun and I´m little bit disappointed that it is the end of the course,

By SATVIK T

Apr 11, 2021

This was an excellent course. Mr. Nalebuff does a great job in making this course interactive and interesting. You may also benefit from the wisdom of Mr. Cohen and Ms. Babcock both of whom are renowned negotiators. This course deals with complicated concepts but the instructors do a great job in simplifying and explaining them. I recommend this for anyone looking to be a better and more strategic negotiator.

By Shabnam A

Feb 20, 2022

Never had I been witnessed to such a great teacher. Barry Nalebuff goes th extra mile, from the animations, to personal experiences to recruiting actors and actresses to increase learning. Barry Nalebuff is the model teacher, and the negotiation course is a vital learning not just for business, but also in life, and for even raising children as we see in week 6.

By Andrés P S

Jul 11, 2021

It's incredible to learn how you might be succeed negotiating understanding what it is about, understanding others and specially developing strategies and becoming a good negotiator looking inside yourself at same time that you want a win-win deal that will benefit both sides. It's a really good course that also allows you to meet new people and learn from them.