Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.8
1,672 ratings
434 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

RC

Sep 08, 2015

A superb introduction to negotiation from game theory point of view, which itself is a fascinating subject and taught by Barry nelbuff, a brilliantly simple teacher. read his books and you'll know.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 427 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Harsh B

Jun 05, 2019

Extremely useful and well structured course. It is a great start for those who are looking for careers in Business Strategy, Consulting and Marketing.

By Jerry Y G

Aug 09, 2019

Thank you for the wonderful insights

By Liana D

Aug 14, 2019

Very informative, challenging and interactive course. Highly recommended to everyone.

By Pedro H P A

Aug 12, 2019

Like the course very much. Among other things, it gives a complementary framework for negotiators, especially for the smaller players under the perspective that even though they might be smaller, a potentially positive agreement for all involved can only be reached if the smaller player also agrees.

This concept allows smaller players to pursue equal parts of the total benefit instead of pre-agreement weight proportionality, under the argument that if the smaller does not agree, the projected benefit will actually not take place.

By Filippo V

Aug 11, 2019

Amazing course, it provides with many interesting and creative tools to improve your negotiation capabilities.

By Bartolome C P

Aug 18, 2019

Very useful, although difficult to follow sometimes, when you come back to examples in real life negotiations between companies you realize how useful is what the course thaughts

By Rui M

Jul 14, 2019

Very helpful

By Khaled m s a

Sep 02, 2019

t

By LEONIDAS G

Sep 02, 2019

Very interesting course. It covers not only the basics but offers knowledge about most of the issues in a negotiation.

By Francisca

Sep 05, 2019

I'm grateful of the opportunity of learning this principles. I just think that the approch to female and male way to negotiate is a bit sexist

By Frederique L G

Sep 08, 2019

Loved it! Great principles to apply in daily life as in work situation.

By Kay N

Sep 10, 2019

Unlike many other negotiation courses which only focus on the importance of eloquence and gesture to affect people's decision making process, this course introduces a better approach to negotiation through very specific and persuasive principles. An excellent course which has helped change my perspective on negotiation. Thank you very much Barry.

By Orion S

Sep 10, 2019

Highly needed knowledge not only in the professional but day to day life.

By Abtin R

Sep 30, 2019

Great course

By Dhaval M

Oct 01, 2019

Learning through an online module cannot be more interactive than what this course offers. Barry's style of delivery and way of structuring the course is what makes this course fun as well as challenging at the same time. I look forward to learning more courses from Barry.

By Isaac O

Oct 21, 2019

It was an incredible experience. Prof. Nalebuff was awesome in his instructions. Herb Cohen, I will never forget his name because of the impact his rich experience had on my thinking in this course. I recommend this course for every leader.

By Alma C R R

Oct 04, 2019

Excellent content!

By Khatanbuuvei M

Oct 09, 2019

A course I looked forward to taking, which met my expectations, and also happened to be my first Coursera course.

By Shane I E

Oct 08, 2019

Outstanding course that Barry and his team have put together. You will be hard-pressed to find a more fun and engaging learning program. The content is interesting and challenging. The exercises are fun, testing and really help solidify concepts and practices, as well as introducing you to some remarkable individuals around the world. I ended up negotiating with a magistrate in Ghana and a lawyer in Poland. Highly recommend this course to novice and experienced negotiators alike.

By Juan C T A

Oct 31, 2019

Excellent course!

By Philip O

Oct 12, 2019

An excellent investment of time and effort to gain both powerful and useful insights which help polish existing negotiation skills or enable new approaches that can be used in any negotiation. Don't hesitate to take this course as it will yield great returns on your time and effort invested in taking it. So, enjoy the learning and strike better deals as a result. Good luck!

By Pete W

Oct 13, 2019

Really well present course; with lots of engaging case-studies nad examples.

By Katya C D T

Nov 04, 2019

Very helpful and insightful

By Sebastian

Nov 07, 2019

Just did a f2f negotiation training with professionnel negotiators in parallel. Their experience matched 1:1 the academic perspepective given by this great course

By Álvaro T F

Nov 08, 2019

Amazing course. Personally I learned a lot. Highly recommend this course