Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.8
stars
1,803 ratings
487 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 12, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

RC

Sep 08, 2015

A superb introduction to negotiation from game theory point of view, which itself is a fascinating subject and taught by Barry nelbuff, a brilliantly simple teacher. read his books and you'll know.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 479 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Jacob L

Dec 29, 2019

Good videos and great approach to teaching a course online that is in essence interpersonal.

By Noor Q K

Nov 06, 2015

This great and comprehensive with lots of real world example. I learnt alot from the course.

By Robert P

Mar 29, 2016

Superb presentation of objective methods to approach negotiations, with exercises and

By Anshuman S

Dec 05, 2019

Great course! Well designed and articulated! It is fit to any level of student.

By Lawrence

Mar 25, 2017

I thought the active negotiations with other students were very effective...

By Tugba S

Jun 23, 2019

I really enjoyed the course. You could improve the structure of each week.

By Ricardo G N

Mar 13, 2018

Curso más que recomendable; sumamente didáctico y a la par entretenido.

By Ayse G C

Dec 22, 2015

very well organized and I esp like the way we have the case studies .

By Shuang R

Oct 16, 2015

Interesting course, useful principles and good animation lecture.

By Juan F V

Jan 25, 2017

Very well structured and gives very good tools

By Ka H M

Jul 10, 2017

It is tough, but worth the effort.

By Kadambeswaran B

Jun 07, 2019

Good insights and examples

By Vinamra M

Mar 05, 2019

Very useful course

By Francisco M T

Jun 20, 2016

Muy interesante

By andy t

Sep 07, 2016

Thank you!

By Emmanuel O

Mar 01, 2019

Detailed

By Anton S

Aug 23, 2015

Some pretty interesting start based on mathematics, but too lengthy obvious advice for someone who gets the concept right away.

By Iris D

Mar 19, 2020

The lectures are very clear and the animations are very helpful at understanding the material, the quizes in between as well. However, the basis to this whole course as presented in week 1 is wrong and assumes rational behaviour by the players - an approach long debunked by researchers. this is very old fashioned and doesn't take into account personal feelings, charachter and cultural difference, as well as real life consideration taking into affect. For example: no one in their right mind would pay another firm (baltimore) 300$, that comes out with a profit of more than 100$ just due to a lucky break, when the other firm should have payed 200$ in the first place, and doensn't take into affect that the sheer effort of oranizing the flights, schedueles and negotiations, is not worth the 300$ saved by San fransisco along with the feeling of getting "screwed" (a feeling that even monkeys fight against).

By Amy D

Sep 29, 2016

Too much math! This course was not at all what I was expecting it to be... which could be both good and bad, depending on your own perspective. It concentrates heavily on the logistical side of negotiations via mathematical analysis to figure out "what's at stake" in a negotiation (i.e. "the pie") and less so on learning actual negotiation techniques. I got halfway through the first week before deciding to un-enroll. That said, Professor Nalebuff has a very engaging teaching style and presents each lecture in a dynamic fashion via animation. If you are a math whiz who excels in algebra and can do complex mathematical equations quickly on the fly, then this course will definitely benefit you. If you are like me, however, and looking for a course that will focus more on artistry and practical real-world application, then this course is not for you.

By David M

Aug 25, 2015

After the first two introductions the course was not for me.

By Giuseppe Basta

May 10, 2018

COURSE TOO LONG

By Mayank T

Feb 21, 2019

Having a really pathetic experience finding a peer to do my assignment with. you can check the threads i have created more than 5 new posts and replied on more than 15 different forums. Because of this i am unable to proceed with my assignments.

I expected this course to be a whole lot more convenient considering the reviews i have read and owing to the reputation of Yale university, but this is a really sad experience. i have spent more time on SEARCHING FOR PEERS for the zincit case for Week3 than the amount of time i took to go through week 1 and 2 together !! Been looking for someone to do this assignment with for over a week now ! And i do not want to negotiate with anyone who has no knowledge of the course n write an assignment on it cz it will be a one sided negotiation. Where is the learning in that ??

Either give me a refund or help me solve this problem so i can proceed ! not enjoying this course with the way it is going.

By Cosmin F

May 15, 2019

This is way too complex. I know it is math, but the language, the speed and even after watching a video again and fully understanding it, one gets to the practice quiz and notices that the answers are not fitting to the real result. And same in the example, when one says 65% and, using math, gets a different result (even if it is one digit) than the material, this can cause confusion when taking the quiz.

More, as methods are presented one after the other, you don't have time to actually practice that much the info you just assimilated. For once, I wish a course (this one) would slow down, instead of presenting only what is important.

I would only recommend this to people who are really into math, like they actually work with every day (like engineers).

By Vignesh R M

Jan 08, 2020

This is by far the worse course I have ever sat for. Not only were the exams bugged that it showed the wrong answers, the course never was considerate towards someone who had bad internet connection and couldn't upload any videos due to the speed of it.

Lecture videos were dull and boring, unlike the previous ones I had taken into. I tried to give it a second chance, but the course just showcased how bad it was.

It also failed to show how one can be a persuasive negotiator and was basically a math exam from start to end. You're not going to learn anything from this course, you are better off going out to the real world and learning it first hand than wasting your money on this. Honestly, AVOID this course!

By Audrey C

Dec 15, 2017

Left after two videos. Incredibly difficult to understand. Felt like I was on a high school geometry class. Negotiating should be simple, not difficult.