Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,015 ratings
1,260 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,253 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Janet c

Aug 30, 2020

Very good content. Well produced lectures and animations to help aid understanding. Thoughtful use of collaboration with class mates

By Enrique L

Sep 3, 2018

Outstanding course, very usefull and interactive. I was able to implement almost inmediately. Very grateful! The best purchase ever.

By Alexander E

Sep 12, 2015

Barry is a great teacher. I have read many of his papers and books, but I never imagine how good and insightful he was as a teacher.

By Shreya J

May 31, 2020

To be able to talk your way through something with a principled argument has to be one of the most amazing things I've ever learnt.

By Nadezhda Z

May 18, 2018

I loved it!! Excellent teacher, very good material, interesting guests. I would like to take a more profound course in that topic.

By Bohdan B

Aug 28, 2016

It was a great opportunity to study this course, hope it will help me to negotiate my salary :D. Many thanks to Mr. Barry Nalebuff.

By Bennett O

Aug 31, 2015

A very deep thinking course and I am really enjoying it. It has really defeated the thought about negotiation being argumentative.

By Massimiliano B

May 14, 2020

It provides useful tools for negotiation, while providing at the same time some ethical advice (if not based on common good sense)

By Maya R

Aug 2, 2017

Is excellent - rigorous and fun with practical applications, animations and lots of resource materials. Better than my MBA course.

By Mark M

Feb 14, 2021

Great course and very well presented with mix of lectures, animation and role plays. Great way to spend time in hotel quarantine!

By Agustín E

May 7, 2020

It was de best course I took. Barry is a great teacher and very didáctica. I rally enjoy this course and I lear a lot. Thank you.

By Chaolla M P

Dec 16, 2020

Fantastic! Just amazing! I've taken 4 or 5 courses in Negotiation, and so far this has been the best by a unsurmountable margin!

By Paul C B

Aug 26, 2020

This is a really great course that will help you understand the theory and practical methods used to become a better negotiator.

By Aurélio B S

Nov 9, 2015

Um curso muito focado a prática e com informações muito ricas sobre como negociar de forma mais eficiente. Recomendo fortemente!

By John H

Jun 10, 2020

Exceptional class in learning the number of techniques available to understand perspective and ways toward a successful outcome

By Marcos G

Jun 8, 2020

Excellent course and amazing material, highly recommended to everyone who wants to be more effective in the negotiation's world

By AKASH M

Apr 12, 2020

Practical, fresh , informative , educational and ethical - These are the 5 stars in this course . Hence the deserving rating .

By Jacopo B

Feb 3, 2020

It is a great course full of useful content. The assignments are also very well made and targeted to the content of the course.

By Ahmed A H

Jan 15, 2021

An amazing course and instructor. Wonderful different ways of doing activities and very creative course design and interaction

By Patience K A

Sep 27, 2020

It's been a wonderful journey. I have learnt to be a critical thinker and this course has really given me a lot of confidence.

By Krishnendu L

Jul 27, 2020

A very important course to sustain and do good in personal and work life. Really worth a ton to spend these weeks of learning.

By Wong H Y

Jun 5, 2019

Excellent course to start your journey on becoming a good negotiator. Applicable in professional situations and everyday life!

By Nuno L

Sep 2, 2017

Fantastic course, very interesting perspectives and approach to negotiation mathematics and games. It really worth's the time!

By Diego M H

May 28, 2017

El curso fue Excelente. Trato la negociacion de varios angulos, y me agrego mucho valor a mi conocimiento. Lo recomiendo 100%.

By Elie N

Feb 14, 2021

The course is amazing with a lot of examples and case study. This is really one the best courses ever. Thank you Dr. Nalebuff