Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,048 ratings
1,271 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,271 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Carlos S

Jul 29, 2020

Professor Barry Nalebuff is one of the brilliant minds I have ever meet (altough it is an online course) it is absolutely a pleasure to learn from Him and his brilliant ideas and guidance.

Thank You Very Much!

Carlos Sevilla

By Surekha D

Jul 11, 2020

A loved this learning session. It was a excellent amalgamation of learning the concept along with practise session through real interactions and case studies. I look forward to learning more from the professor and coursera

By Smital B

Mar 31, 2019

This course is a great guide for sales people at any stage in their career. However, i feel the process of finding a negotiation partner is quite difficult. Otherwise, the case studies and the course content is fantastic.

By Artyom M

Mar 30, 2021

Extremely useful and interesting. Only wish we could have more negotiation practice - every case was tough, but exceptionally insightful. Don't believe those who say that this course is much about game theory - it is not.

By Derrick T

Aug 11, 2020

An interestingly delivered course, principles and strategies explained clearly. I enjoyed every bit of this course and have gained significant knowledge in negotiation. I will recommend this course to every professional.

By Andrew C

Jul 9, 2020

Really interesting course. Learned something new in every video. Great instructor, very engaging. Love the format as well. Great for someone with a more than full time job.

First coursera course I have taken. Great start!

By Andrei C

Apr 12, 2020

Just great!

I have to admit that there are some mind twisting and "not fair" approaches inside, but I say this in the most grateful way!

Thanks for offering the course and the opportunity to take it outside the university!

By Eduardo A L

May 12, 2020

The professor provides you with different tools based on game theory and important negotiation books. He also explains strategies used by him or collegues, and a lot of clear examples for you to understand the concepts.

By Luana M P

Jun 28, 2021

Professor is very clever and has lots of knowledge and we can feel that he is more than happy to teach us not just about the course, but his values and thinking. This course changed my mindset in negotiation FOR LIFE!

By Leandro N T S

Jun 12, 2017

I found the course to be very instructive and dynamic. I would totally recommend it to anyone interested on improving his negotiation skills as they do not only serve as a tool in business but in life in generas well.

By Alex Z

Dec 7, 2020

One of the best courses I've seen - great explanation & professor who brings the concepts in a very clear & intuitive way. Lots of fun & entertaining and certainly makes you re-think your approach to the negotiation.

By Armenuhy

Apr 25, 2020

One of the unique courses where the participants enjoy personal interaction and communication with the professor. We had several online meetings and discussions that made the course live! I like the course very much.

By Chiyuen C T

Sep 21, 2020

Excellent and well structured course, keep doing the good job, this course impacted me in providing a fresh and more objective perspective in negotiation and definitely improving skills via practical tools and tips.

By Bernard D V

Aug 21, 2017

Excellent class about Negotiation. I hope you like maths because there will be a lot of very concrete examples (and quite difficults). The teacher is pedagogic and speakers invited are great ! A really good course.

By Vadim

Jan 25, 2016

One of the most insightful and educational courses I have taken. The professor is very interesting and captures your attention. The hands on negotiations are fun and valuable. I definitely recommend it to everyone.

By Alvin M M P

Feb 23, 2021

Awesome course! one of the finest I have ever taken appreciate your guidance, insights and way of thinking systematically!

Helped me a lot to advance my personal life and also my professional one

Thanks a lot Barry!

By Tejas S

Feb 23, 2020

I loved the teaching of Prof. Barry. His thought process and energy is admirable and inspirational. Thank you so much. My thanks also to the team at Yale. Wish I could've studied in such a prestigious University.

By Pablo A

Feb 5, 2020

My first coursera experience and I loved it! I loved Professor Nalebuff's insights, the course pace, the numerous examples, the very challenging exercises, the simulated negotiations and the experts' testimonies.

By Ieva A

Aug 1, 2016

Very interesting course ! Lectures are entertaining and has a lot of real life examples. I recommend it to anyone who is keen on learning new things and wants to learn in non academic environment (eg. at home).

By Aron Z

Jan 4, 2016

The Prof is great, explaining in a very easy to digest manner and also has a sense of humour!

This course is more than simply a learning tool, it is also Entertainment!

A must do Course for anyone to be honest.

By Ana M H C

May 15, 2020

This course was amazing, I liked everything about it. I liked the methodology, doing the cases, all the examples and things that happened to Barry Nalebuff. It is an amazing course and I will use it in my life

By Cristofer A B

Jan 17, 2021

I enjoyed taking this course. The materials are very well prepared and are easy to understand. Be sure to complete the course until the last 2 weeks, the points shared by well-known negotiators are priceless.

By RISHABH K D

May 15, 2020

Thanks a lot for giving us an opportunity to learn about Principled negotiation. The course is designed in the best manner along with so many example and cases, makes it so interesting.

Thanks Team Coursera !!

By Dennis H

Oct 18, 2016

The cases are a lot of fun, and the course offers a lot of different insights both theoretical and practical. The guests are all extremely experienced and shared valuable knowledge. Very well designed course.

By Alberico S

Apr 21, 2017

Was an excelent education, information and easy, really easy to follow throgh the weeks. Im already taking another course on the site. Thanks a lot coursera team, Barry and the others teachers colaborators.