Chevron Left
Back to Neural Networks and Deep Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Neural Networks and Deep Learning by DeepLearning.AI

4.9
stars
107,632 ratings
21,489 reviews

About the Course

In the first course of the Deep Learning Specialization, you will study the foundational concept of neural networks and deep learning. By the end, you will be familiar with the significant technological trends driving the rise of deep learning; build, train, and apply fully connected deep neural networks; implement efficient (vectorized) neural networks; identify key parameters in a neural network’s architecture; and apply deep learning to your own applications. The Deep Learning Specialization is our foundational program that will help you understand the capabilities, challenges, and consequences of deep learning and prepare you to participate in the development of leading-edge AI technology. It provides a pathway for you to gain the knowledge and skills to apply machine learning to your work, level up your technical career, and take the definitive step in the world of AI....

Top reviews

GC
May 30, 2019

I have learnt a lot of tricks with numpy and I believe I have a better understanding of what a NN does. Now it does not look like a black box anymore. I look forward to see what's in the next courses!

SM
Jun 13, 2021

Andrew Ng is one of the best teachers out there to learn NNs and DL. His deep insight into the math of the subject gives us motivation to learn more, amazing course to learn the basics of the subject.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 10,000 Reviews for Neural Networks and Deep Learning

By Mohammad Z

Sep 13, 2018

This course is really great.The lectures are really easy to understand and grasp.The assignment instructions are really helpful and one does not need to know python before hand to complete the course.

By Aayush D K

May 14, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken so far. The instructor has been very clear and precise throughout the course. The homework section is also designed in such a way that it helps the student learn .

By Zillur R

Jan 4, 2020

At first, I want to thank the course teacher and all the others for providing us such a wonderful course. The way the professor teaches is really very very helpful. Thank you all again and keep it up.

By Giovanni D C

May 31, 2019

I have learnt a lot of tricks with numpy and I believe I have a better understanding of what a NN does. Now it does not look like a black box anymore. I look forward to see what's in the next courses!

By Shorahbeel B Z

Jun 8, 2020

Amazing course for anyone wanting to jump in the field of deep learning. Andrew explains the details very well. The assignments were structured very good that provided detailed instructions. Thank you

By Johan W

Oct 10, 2017

Too slow, a lot of repeating facts, very little contents in total in the course, and nothing new compared to the old machine learning course which was more fun and much faster. Nice environment with python notebooks though!

By Aashi G

Jun 1, 2020

It's really quite an amazing course where we get to learn the mathematics behind the Neural Networks. It is great to learn such core basics which will help us further in developing our own algorithms.

By Andrii T

Jun 30, 2020

I think that this course went a little bit too much into needy greedy details of the math behind deep neural networks, but overall I think that it is a great place to start a journey in deep learning!

By Deven P

May 13, 2019

This is really a very good introductory course for people from various background. The assignments are also nicely designed to give an insight to how things works.

But at times, in order to make this course appealing to non-math/engineering background, it at times trivializes some important mathematical concepts and notions, in order to not scare away people who are not very comfortable to mathematics.

By Juan A O G

Aug 30, 2018

TL;DR: It's a good course for people who are not familiar with neural nets. Otherwise, it feels kind of repetitive (I completed the course in 4 days)

Pros: Learn to implement efficient feedforward neural networks from scratch, by taking advantage of vectorized operations and caches; good understanding of how neural nets work and the reasons of their success; I loved how Dr. Andrew explained why we must initialize the weights to some small random numbers (I already knew neural nets before this course)

Cons: I expected to build neural nets in Tensorflow (after learning how to implement them from scratch); It'd have been good to include a gradient check (by computing the numerical gradient) to foolproof the backward pass; sometimes the explanations felt kind of repetitive (e.g. continuously going from one training example to the whole training batch). I would have just sticked to the batch learning after it was introduced

By Antoine C

Jun 4, 2018

If you are already used to Python/numpy and you followed the free Machine Learning course from Ng, you really won't learn anything, apart from a new activation function.

By Parth S

Aug 10, 2018

Coding Exercise Were quite simple, a full length assignment would have been better.

By Niloufar Y

Jan 11, 2018

not satisfied

By David W

Oct 16, 2017

Great Presenter in Andrew Ng, on a topic of tremendous interest to very many.

However, unfortunately the grader seems to work only rarely in accepting submissions. Code that runs perfectly in the Notebook is repeatedly rejected by the Grader. Dozens of comments on these problems when the course opened two months ago. But still the problems have not been fixed!

And if you want to reset your Notebook for a fresh start , that may take hours or even days .

A pdf addressing exactly what one needs to do would be sensible. Instead one spends dozens of hours trawling round Forum discussions to guess what might actually work for the Grader. A most disappointing experience. Why is this considered in any way acceptable?

By Younes A

Dec 7, 2017

Wouldn't recommend because of the very low quality of the assignments, but I don't regret taking them because the content is great. Seriously the quality of deeplearning.ai courses is the lowest I have ever seen! Glitches in videos, wrong assignments (both notebooks and MCQs), and no valuable discussions on the forums. Too bad Prof Ng couldn't get a competent team to curate his content for him. For such an basic level of content, you will find many other courses that are far better.

By Ashkan A

Nov 13, 2018

Too easy

By Antonio C D

Jan 19, 2019

A good mix of theory and practice. The learning curve was perfect for me, and the course schedule is right if you study the material and work through the assignments in your spare time. Assignments are very well structured, I feel that trying to create the same implementations by myself (i.e. without the guides in the assignments and intermediate tests / check) would have taken 10x long.

By Nikhil D K

May 12, 2019

This is a good review of the concepts. It helped even more once I finished the course and reflected on the material by working out the equations for back propagation by my own hand. Looking forward to the next course in the series.

By Jerry P

Feb 2, 2019

Excellent course. Challenging, but doable. Andrew Ng is a great teacher. I learned about logistic regression, forward and backward propagation, code vectorization with numpy, activation functions, and many other topics.

By Raihan G

Sep 7, 2020

I have learned a lot from this detailed and well-structured course. Programing assignments were very sophisticatedly designed. It was challenging, fun, and most importantly it delivered what is aimed.

By Nguyen H T

Jan 18, 2020

Very structured approach to developing a neural network which I believe I can use as foundation for any project regardless its complexity. Thanks professor Andrew Ng and the team for their dedication.

By Harsh T

Jan 28, 2019

The course is good and it helps to clear the basic concepts of Neural Networks,

And the interactive assignments are just Awesome

By Evert M

Jun 28, 2020

The course is quite slow, but covers the basics of early deep neural networks (NNs). It does seems not to assume any prior knowledge on calculus, which is emphasised extensively, which sometimes leads to more confusion than that it is helpful. Before starting, some knowledge on python, numpy and linear algebra is highly recommended.

In the end you will have a basic understanding of what a NN is all about, and you will have built a photo-classifier. The course however, spends a lot of time explaining simpler concepts, while quickly glossing over the deeper stuff. Because of the elaborate explanation of simpler concepts, the big picture often gets lost. Furthermore, it seems like the videos, quizzes, and programming exercises were made by different people. The quizzes cover things not covered in the videos, and the programming assignments cover things not covered in either.

By Jorge E C

Oct 15, 2017

This course is good to just learn the terms and the basic aspects on architecture of deep learning. There is hardly any big explanations on the mathematical foundations of the topic which are of extreme importance to understand it.

It is a course for someone that dos not know much about neural networks or mathematics.

Is unfortunate that lead researcher in the area is able to say that it is not necesary to understand what a derivative is to be able to understand deep learning and the algorithm to update the weights of the network. I guess only for a first time course that is true, but I was expecting more from this course.

By nikcojeanian

Dec 2, 2017

Programming assignment is too simple