Chevron Left
Back to Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life by The University of Chicago

4.9
stars
2,283 ratings

About the Course

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Top reviews

MJ

May 24, 2020

It has been, in all, a wonderful experience taking this course, Prof Peggy is really good at what she does, wonderful content, stories, instances, and videos. Learnt a lot from this course, thank you!

MF

Dec 29, 2021

Excellent course for understanding the extent to which human neurobiology is complex and fascinating, with multiple opportunities to compare findings with other species and get a better understanding.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 757 Reviews for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

By Vitali K

May 16, 2020

inconsistent and stumbling presentation. uninspiring

By Esther C

Feb 19, 2021

This course is really terrific. Peggy Mason is not only a very clear and accurate teacher, she's also extremely committed to her work and talks as if you are in the room with her. I have learned a huge amount about how the nervous system is structured, how neurons works and what they are doing, how we think, move, emote, make memories - as well as all the stuff that the body does without us even knowing. It has totally opened my eyes to the wonders of our bodies, and the intricate nervous system within.

The combination of little test along the way, a thorough quiz at the end of each module, and a final project ensures that you really take in the learning - so it's not something that you can breeze through. You need to really concentrate.

I also love the way Peggy is so kind and respectful about people who have the various neurological conditions that are explored, and also honoring of those who donated their body parts of the advancement of science. I'm going to miss her!

Don't hesitate - just do it! You won't regret it.

By margaret h

Feb 27, 2021

Thank you for offering this course. It is simple, direct precise. Simple because for people who are not involved in the medical nor biological field, one can get the message clearly. The brain the most complex organ in the human body, controls our ways, choices in life. Professor Mason succeeded to lead students in further exploration with interest in the subject. It is a valuable course because the materials help us to understand the brain and the nervous system which motivate our behaviors. With a comprehension of self and others, it facilitates relationship and collaboration in family and in social life. Thank you for offering this course.

Please instruct me how to get the course certificate, I have click on the button in your message, It leads me back to the application for the course. Will someone kindly give me further information for the process of applying for the certificate

thank you

By Anushka K

Aug 19, 2020

I absolutely loved this course. It is a really great course if you are looking to get your basics straight in neurobiology. Apart from the beautifully selected syllabus another important feature of this course is that it even has LABS lectures, where the brain and spinal cord areas are demonstrated and dissected. Secondly, I cannot emphasize enough on the importance of a good teacher. Trust me, Dr Peggy Mason is one of the best teachers I have ever come across. Her passion for the field and teaching really reflects in every lecture. She dissolves the most complex neurological concepts with her brilliant humor and makes it feel like cakewalk. She truly helped me develop a passion and got me hooked to neurosciences. It was an honor to be taught by Dr Peggy Mason, I thank her from the bottom of my heart and look forward to learning more from her.

By Minako K

Aug 20, 2017

Loved everything about this course!! Prof Mason's talk with lots of visual aids (actual brain from different angle; use of tablet and white board) and several examples to explain one concept were really effective. Introducing interesting books and personal stories were also helpful for learning. Having each video rather short (5-7min) helped me watching them whenever I had a time (e.g. in the shower, at bed, and while cooking!). Great videos professionally made with good quality of sound and screen. Multiple choice quiz within video was again useful to make sure I did not miss any points. This made me watching the same video repeatedly which enhanced my learning. I believe this course to be a great intro for neuroscience to everyone who is interested. I really wish Prof Mason to make another course!!!

By Esther M

Jun 2, 2020

Best teacher ever in my life! Thanks so much Peggy Mason for your down-to-earth yet scientific and precise approach to our brain.

Starting with brain development and how information is transferred along neurons via action potentials and neurotransmitters, she has covered the most important aspect of each sense and the different functions the nervous system is involved. She never missed the chance to link her explanations to interesting books about that topic, real-life experiences or her cats' examples :) It has been a joy to be part of the student body here. The way the materials are structured, in loads of very focused 3-to-10 minute videos in optimum for today's lifestyle. THANK YOU, PEGGY.

Bad news is, I have now realized how complex the brain is and how much more there is to be learned yet! :)

By A. F P

Jul 10, 2020

I'm a neuroscience researcher and although the course was rather basic level for me, it provided a nice and funny review that cheered me up during the sad times of social isolation and COVID-19 pandemia. Professor Peggy has great didatics, I think I learned a lot about didatic skills just by paying close attention to her - and she is such a sweetheart, I LOVED how she used her cats as examples during the class, that was just iconic! The course also gave me some research ideias, so even though it's basical neurobiology content, I'd totally recommend it to other young neuroscientists as a review that provides a certificate from UChicago and as a way to take a look in topics we don't often read about, since we are too focused reading the topics we do research about.

By Bee S

May 12, 2020

Super awesome. I love how in-depth and visual the explanations. It's so obvious how excited Dr. Mason is about explaining the material as well as making sure it's presented in a way everyone can understand. The only two things I would change would be the following: (1) Attaching a PDF or image of the material that is drawn in the board that the professor is about to elaborate on would be so helpful! That way, as a student, we can follow along with the example rather than trying to navigate to points in the video where Prof Mason isn't obstructing the view of the board. (2) *Totally* personal preference, but the 12 second musical clip at the beginning starts to lose its charm after the 3rd week. haha. All in all an absolutely awesome class!

By Klaus K

May 4, 2022

This course gives a comprehensive introduction into the structure and working of the brain and the nervous systems. A wide range of knowledge from function of neurons, the interconnection between neurons, structure of the brain, functions of the nervous system, location where functions are processed, and also reasons for some nervous system related diseases is taught. Especially interesting for me were the lab lessons, where the structures of the brain are explained in videos showing real brains. This makes a big difference to just looking at pictures of brains. This course is very well done and always made me curious to start the next week’s lessons. And made me eager to learn more about the human brain in future!

By Moyra D

Jan 26, 2021

I found the course extremely informative, It has increased my my knowledge of the brain and its working s. It has shown me the complexity of the relationship between the brain and the body, not just in physical terms, but in emotions and all other aspects of living. Professor Mason's respect for the brain and its components never lets you forget that these are humans we are studying and dealing with. I have a much greater understanding of the human condition, both in healthy bodies and in those where the brain has been negatively impacted in some way. Professor Mason' s presentation is always clear and well illustrated and her style of lecturing leaves on in no doubt of her dedication and knowledge.

By Mary A M

Jun 8, 2022

Professor Peggy Mason made each video interesting -- it's a very complex topic with lots of new words and concepts -- without her energy and obvious love of the topic, I could have easily given up because it was just too hard. I have an enormous respect for those who work in this field.

Suggestions: An outline of all the topics would be helpful - this would have helped me understand where we've been and where we're going. The glossary was helpful. I feel like I need to do a review on my own to try to integrate everything into a coherent body of understanding.

Thank you so much to Professor Mason and the people who helped her put this together -- the labs were fascinating!

By Сазонова О С

Aug 31, 2020

It seems to be the best course I've ever taken. I want to thank the team who developed it and especially the professor Peggy Mason. She is unbelievable! To teach such complicated subject with such clear manner - it's a real talent. The course itself is well structured and logical. I'd like to mention, that as assignments are quite challenging, they capture real effect. That's why for me it was a great satisfaction every time I got a high mark. I also had a tremendous pleasure to prepare my final essay. It was absolutely necessary, because it helped me assemble all acquired knowledge into complete image. I had a great time learning there! I wish the professor had any other courses.

By Kyoko K

Mar 5, 2022

Absolutely fantastic. Professor Peggy Mason is brilliant at guiding us through the mysterious universe within ourselvelves: the brain. The courses will shed light on how we function, from breathing to how we interpret language and sound, and what happens when things don't work as it should. The courses demystified many things, as well as added more questions to be answered at a future time. As a music educator trying to weave in more science into what I teach, this course was vital in my comprehension of various research papers I was reading. Science in the area is moving forward at a clipping pace. Highly recommended for everyone, especially educators in the creative arts field.

By Maria

Feb 7, 2017

I enjoyed this course a lot, Prof. Mason is a brilliant lecturer, very passionate about her subject and makes very complex phenomenas easy to understand. I definitely recommend this course as introduction to a fascinating topic of neuroscience. The only disappointment was that the staff was not very active at engaging in forum discussions and did not provide any live feedback. I am sure that a course would benefit so much is the students had opportunity to address their questions and thoughts to Prof.Mason and her assistants directly. Thank you so much! Hope that someday you will decide to launch a new advanced course looking deeper at the topics we covered.

By Dr. V S

May 5, 2020

Prof. Dr. Mason is a great instructor. She really keeps you attached to the theories and her examples to describe those theories are most relatable in our everyday life. Now I can understand how much brain is plastic, how it communicates with other organs. How Neural communication occurs, why and how thalamus works as a relay center in the brain. How much hippocampus is critical in memory formation and storage. You can understand this concept herein this course. I recommend this course to each and everyone who loves Neuro and seeking to get some lessons and credentials in neurobiology.

Thanking you Coursera, Dr. Mason and University of Chicago for this one.

By yanira n

Aug 3, 2020

I was always very interested in knowing how the central nervous system worked and this astonishing course gave me the opportunity to learn about the exquisite complexities of the human brain. It has enabled me to gain more understanding of the neurons, his functions and how they communicate with each other. Likewise, I now feel able to apply knowledge from the course and better understand how a brain may be functioning or malfuctioning. As well as offer me the opportunity to gain more in depth understanding of different brain disorders and how they affect the brain. Thanks Dr. Peggy Mason and coursera for this great opportunity!

By Nastasja O

Aug 10, 2020

Best course I've ever taken! Peggy is an amazing professor, she teaches very important and difficult stuff, but she explains it perfectly. When you are taking this course, you learn a lot just by listening, lectures are so good that you don't even need to try that hard to remember the content. I'm not saying it is easy of course, but it is described so well that studying becomes really enjoyable.

I would recommend this to everyone who is interested in seeing the other side of human behaviour. Super interesting and a great challenge for those who like learning. Also, you will hear a lot of good jokes, be sure of that :-).

By Steph

Oct 26, 2020

This was a great course, and I learnt a lot despite having studied some neurobiology before. Dr Peggy Mason is a fantastic instructor - thank you for creating such an awesome resource. I learnt, I enjoyed learning, and I regained some previously-dampened motivation for keeping on learning!

I hope to see more from Dr Peggy Mason in the future, and have already been recommended to a youtube playlist (medical neurobiology) which I'm looking forward to watching.

Also props to the jingle-writer for this class because my brain played that tune over for about 12 miles of motorway driving and I didn't even get mad.

By Isaac F

Jun 6, 2020

This course ended up being better than I expected. I have a sociology/psychology background, so it was rather intriguing to dive into the neurobiological roots of behavior. More specifically, how neurons interact with each other via neurotransmitters and how the different regions of the CNS communicate with the PNS using these neural pathways. Professor Mason presented the material clearly and in an easy to understand manner for someone who lacks a background in the life/physical sciences. Furthermore, the virtual labs were extremely helpful in identifying the various components of the CNS.

By Marilyn B

Mar 21, 2021

I really liked the course, I am very grateful to have the opportunity to learn about the amazing world of Neurobiology. I think that a key piece in this course is the Professor, because she is very passionate with her work and all of that good energy is what she share in every single class. Also she presents the topics in a further way than just definitions and book explanations, she motives us to go further, to read more, to learn more and to investigate more of each topic. Now I want to continue learning about the Brain and the amazing connection with the rest of the body and society.

By Jenny T

Dec 21, 2020

An utterly fascinating course - quite challenging for me but so rewarding. There were new discoveries to learn around every corner,. Professor Mason throws clear light not only on some neurological diseases with which many people are unfortunately familiar; but also very many aspects of our normal experience of day-to-day life. I now have a much better understanding of things I have taken for granted in the past, and a set of course notes (made easy by Professor Mason careful descriptions and explanations), that I've no doubt I will refer to again in future.

By Jérémie M

Aug 10, 2017

Best course in Neuroscience so far!

The content really match the title : You will learn many neuroscience notions explained with examples of your everyday life, which make it easiest to memorize!

Teacher is great and give you many examples and illustrations of what she explains, which make the course really alive.

She speaks slowly, probably for people struggling with english, so you can easily speed up video at x1,25 ... and voilà! ;-)

There is also many optional dissection videos which are of great interest to visualize brain anatomy.

By Maria M T P

Mar 16, 2022

excellent, very detailed, a lot of details for a person who just incerta in this area but all very graphic, I loved the part where they show the brains and explain so much so much, thanks for the opportunity kue gave me to do this course, super useful this course PS: I would like to recommend kue from the experimental point of view, add courses such as techniques for example autoclave or handling of some techniques in biology for example PCR or kuimica as for example X-ray fluorescence, or NMR in 1 or 2 dimensions,etc etc etc

By Malcolm M

Nov 15, 2021

As an interested layman, filling in some blanks in my earlier formal education, I found this course to be a very useful introduction to neurobiology.

I was familiar with a number of the topics, just from general reading, but was surprised to find that I harboured a number of misconceptions about the details.

I really enjoyed Prof Mason's easy-going presentation style, and found her very easy to follow, both in the spoken words and in the visuals she used.

I'd be more than happy to take other courses in which she teaches.

By Indunil L

Sep 3, 2021

W​hat an educational and inspiring course! I am very glad I came across this course. I have learnt a lot about neurobiology in a relatively short amount of time. Professor Peggy Mason is inspiring and her passion for this subject is infectious. The course was very well organised into sections, logical, easy to follow and easy to understand. The length of the coure was perfect for me. I would like to thank Professor Mason and every single person involved in delivering this course. You guys are doing an amazing service.