Chevron Left
Back to Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life by The University of Chicago

4.9
stars
2,834 ratings

About the Course

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Top reviews

PF

Mar 22, 2020

This course has turned out to very profitable, especially if you are not an expert in anatomical and clinical terms as is my case. In my opinion, this course is extremely interesting, congratulations.

MF

Dec 29, 2021

Excellent course for understanding the extent to which human neurobiology is complex and fascinating, with multiple opportunities to compare findings with other species and get a better understanding.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 925 Reviews for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

By Somerleigh L

Aug 30, 2020

The content of this course is highly fascinating. The instructor does a very good job of explaining information to help someone who is not in the neurobiology field. This course is listed as a beginner class which I would argue. If you do not have prior information in neurobiology, this course would be challenging. However, the quizzes give you multiple chances to be successful. I highly enjoyed this course and would still recommend for anyone interested.

By Arpit A

Aug 7, 2017

Really great course. Went in with little to no understanding of neuroscience. However now, I'm quite fascinated about the vast amount of interesting information regarding the Brain and the nervous system I have been able to comprehend. It has certainly made me more self aware.

The course is a bit fast paced, according to my observation and personal experience but the professor - Dr. Mason is quite good at explaining the concepts in a well conceived manner.

By Oscar I M C

Aug 27, 2020

Great course for the introduction to neurobiology, its explanations, its examples (cases), its depth and density, and especially the diversity and organization of the topics, although a few topics were not so detailed, but it is understandable by the amount of themes. It should be said that Dr. Peggy Mason was a great teacher, spontaneous, clear, and she showed us some photos and cases of her family and friends. Nice learning.

By Lee S B M

Jun 3, 2020

This course gave me an excellent grounding on the complexity of the brain and how our brains make us very unique. Professor Mason is engaging and uses relatable examples e.g. bungee-jumping. The reason I gave it a 4 instead of 5 is that a couple of video links are no longer active, so the course administrator might want to update these. Thanks Professor Mason!

By Kimberly W

Jan 28, 2020

I really like the enthusiasm of Peggy Mason, and she is clearly an expert in her field. One recommendation for the course is DON'T put the little quiz inside the video. Wait until the end of each small video segment. It is disjointed and annoying to interrupt the video when it is already very short, usually 3-6 minutes. Wait until the end of the video.

By Abhaykumar V

Sep 9, 2021

I have done several courses on Coursera but this was the most difficult course so far. I come from the background of humanities but this course had lots of technical terms used in medicines and biology. It took quite a while to grasp them. The Quizzes after the weeks sessions were tough and it took me several attempts to pass.

By Brian S Y

Aug 24, 2017

Prof. Peggy is phenomenal! I personally prefer lecturer/tutor to teach with lecture slides, but the way Prof. Peggy teach has totally blew my mind! She helped me understand so much about the basics of neurobiology in our daily lives, and her presentations are clear and easily understandable. 8/10

By Cayce H

Apr 17, 2023

Really great course. Very informative and I learned a lot about. I really liked Dr. Mason, she was very knowledgeable and had a great personality.

Only issue I had was there always seemed to be stuff on the quizzes that were not mentioned in the modules.

By Nirzari P

May 19, 2019

There are few questions whose answers contraindicates the teachings of Professor Peggy. Other than that the course is very well explained and gives the basic knowledge about Neurobiology which was exactly that I needed.

By Heidi L

Feb 20, 2023

Excellent course to support independent reading on the topics. It would have been nice to know a bit more on neurons and glia cells but obviously for a basic level course it is not possible to include everything.

By Adam H

Dec 6, 2022

It was a very interesting course that spread across lots of different topics covering a wide range of neurology. The lecturer is also very nice and has a great personality and explains the content very well.

By Heather L

Nov 27, 2022

I enjoyed this course. I took it as part of a requirement for a neurofeedback certifocation (non-degree) and I appreciated Dr Mason’s ability to make the science applicable to every day life.

By Seosamh D

Dec 1, 2020

I loved this course and learned lots. However it seemed to not have been updated for several years and has not addressed the areas of neuroscience that have developed in those years

By Sreshtha M

Sep 13, 2019

This is a very exciting course and it is the best! However, some things are not explained really well but other than that it is fantastic beyond imagination!!! Excellente!

By Sandeep

Dec 21, 2019

Though it skims the surface the course was a very good introduction. The teacher explained the concepts demonstrating her expertise and communication skills.

By Ellie 1

Jul 1, 2021

Sometimes a bit hard to follow, and the end of week questions felt a little unrelated at times. But overall really really informative and enjoyable

By Elena A

Jul 26, 2017

Very interesting course. The quizzes are a little tricky. I learned many things even though I haven't study neoroscience.

By Tufan K

Apr 26, 2021

It's so nice lesson for me. If you want learn a lot of things about neurobiology. absolutely you must join this course.

By PIERRE

Jan 1, 2022

I loved this course and everything Mrs Manson explained was easy to understand. thank you Mrs Manson for everything !

By Joy S

Feb 1, 2019

This is a good and interesting review of the brain. It has an expert, engaging, likeable instructor and it goes fast.

By Yasmim L D O

Jun 8, 2022

It's a pretty good course for beginners!! If you want a more advantaged material it's not the best course for you

By Saly R

Apr 5, 2022

MY GRATITDE TO DR.PEGGY MASON FOR THE VALUABLE AND INTERESTING CLASSES..

THANKS TO DEAR MAM..

By Isaac M

Jun 23, 2019

it's intuitive and interesting by its structure and content. The professors is great.

By Shakiba A

Apr 16, 2022

It is a wonderful course. However, I guess it is a bit challenging for beginners.

By Farahnaz A

Oct 25, 2020

Practical and simple but for passing exams one must deeply understand the subject