Chevron Left
Back to Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life by The University of Chicago

4.9
stars
2,855 ratings

About the Course

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Top reviews

MA

Invalid date

I benefited greatly from this course. I felt that Professor Mason was part of my family. It's great and her explanation is excellent. Thank you from the bottom of my heart professor mason.

PF

Invalid date

This course has turned out to very profitable, especially if you are not an expert in anatomical and clinical terms as is my case. In my opinion, this course is extremely interesting, congratulations.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 928 Reviews for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

By Steph

Oct 26, 2020

This was a great course, and I learnt a lot despite having studied some neurobiology before. Dr Peggy Mason is a fantastic instructor - thank you for creating such an awesome resource. I learnt, I enjoyed learning, and I regained some previously-dampened motivation for keeping on learning!

I hope to see more from Dr Peggy Mason in the future, and have already been recommended to a youtube playlist (medical neurobiology) which I'm looking forward to watching.

Also props to the jingle-writer for this class because my brain played that tune over for about 12 miles of motorway driving and I didn't even get mad.

By Isaac F

Jun 6, 2020

This course ended up being better than I expected. I have a sociology/psychology background, so it was rather intriguing to dive into the neurobiological roots of behavior. More specifically, how neurons interact with each other via neurotransmitters and how the different regions of the CNS communicate with the PNS using these neural pathways. Professor Mason presented the material clearly and in an easy to understand manner for someone who lacks a background in the life/physical sciences. Furthermore, the virtual labs were extremely helpful in identifying the various components of the CNS.

By Marilyn B

Mar 21, 2021

I really liked the course, I am very grateful to have the opportunity to learn about the amazing world of Neurobiology. I think that a key piece in this course is the Professor, because she is very passionate with her work and all of that good energy is what she share in every single class. Also she presents the topics in a further way than just definitions and book explanations, she motives us to go further, to read more, to learn more and to investigate more of each topic. Now I want to continue learning about the Brain and the amazing connection with the rest of the body and society.

By Jenny T

Dec 21, 2020

An utterly fascinating course - quite challenging for me but so rewarding. There were new discoveries to learn around every corner,. Professor Mason throws clear light not only on some neurological diseases with which many people are unfortunately familiar; but also very many aspects of our normal experience of day-to-day life. I now have a much better understanding of things I have taken for granted in the past, and a set of course notes (made easy by Professor Mason careful descriptions and explanations), that I've no doubt I will refer to again in future.

By Jérémie M

Aug 10, 2017

Best course in Neuroscience so far!

The content really match the title : You will learn many neuroscience notions explained with examples of your everyday life, which make it easiest to memorize!

Teacher is great and give you many examples and illustrations of what she explains, which make the course really alive.

She speaks slowly, probably for people struggling with english, so you can easily speed up video at x1,25 ... and voilà! ;-)

There is also many optional dissection videos which are of great interest to visualize brain anatomy.

By Maria M T P

Mar 16, 2022

excellent, very detailed, a lot of details for a person who just incerta in this area but all very graphic, I loved the part where they show the brains and explain so much so much, thanks for the opportunity kue gave me to do this course, super useful this course PS: I would like to recommend kue from the experimental point of view, add courses such as techniques for example autoclave or handling of some techniques in biology for example PCR or kuimica as for example X-ray fluorescence, or NMR in 1 or 2 dimensions,etc etc etc

By Malcolm M

Nov 15, 2021

As an interested layman, filling in some blanks in my earlier formal education, I found this course to be a very useful introduction to neurobiology.

I was familiar with a number of the topics, just from general reading, but was surprised to find that I harboured a number of misconceptions about the details.

I really enjoyed Prof Mason's easy-going presentation style, and found her very easy to follow, both in the spoken words and in the visuals she used.

I'd be more than happy to take other courses in which she teaches.

By Indunil L

Sep 3, 2021

What an educational and inspiring course! I am very glad I came across this course. I have learnt a lot about neurobiology in a relatively short amount of time. Professor Peggy Mason is inspiring and her passion for this subject is infectious. The course was very well organised into sections, logical, easy to follow and easy to understand. The length of the coure was perfect for me. I would like to thank Professor Mason and every single person involved in delivering this course. You guys are doing an amazing service.

By Kori D M

Mar 18, 2023

This is an excellent presentation of complex information! The professor's style is warm and approachable. I thoroughly enjoyed the examples throughout the course. The peer-reviewed portion wasn't useful, i.e., the feedback lacked useful detail, and some reviewers didn't seem to understand the requirements. Reading other people's projects was interesting and thought-provoking. There should be a requirement to upload the assignment(s) to a "safe" space. Overall, this is a challenging, interesting, and rewarding course.

By Nata K

Sep 16, 2023

A really fascinating and challenging course all at once. Every topic is thoroughly explained by the professor, and I really appreciated the method she used. She provides you with theoretical knowledge, but there are labs that enable you to put that knowledge into reality. The greatest method to properly comprehend the underlying reasoning is to also talk about what could go wrong and what implications would be. I would suggest this course to anyone who is interested in learning how our systems and mechanisms work.

By Rogerio d L e S

Aug 22, 2017

I am very happy to have participated and successfully completed this course that through neurobiology (neuroscience) I can see the world, or our reality with different eyes from the conventional. Understanding, Understanding and Evaluating every act of the human being is simply sensational !!!

Great course, I recommend to all who love and are interested in life.

Congratulations to the entire Coursera Team and Congratulations to Dr. Peggy Mason and the University of Chicago for the excellent course!

Thank you all!!!

By Valeria C

Jul 5, 2020

Courses like “Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life” and the passion and patience of Professor Mason encourage people to learn more about the functioning of our brain in order to understand its complexity, beauty and also its fragility. As a neurolinguistics’ student I started this course just as a complement to my university studies, but now I see in the understanding of the brain the possibility to improve people’s life from different sectors (medical, psychological, educational, etc.).

By Kash B

Sep 7, 2021

If you are like me and left biology at "A" levels, this course is a great way to reconnect with the subject of #neurobiologyOpens in a new tab and gain some understanding about how the brain works. It was tremendously insightful and leaves one with an increased awareness of our day to day functions and the incredible complexity of not just the brain but life itself. Professor Peggy Mason is a great presenter and the love of the subject and effort she has put into this course are evident and enhance the learning experience.

By Sarah D

Nov 9, 2021

This is an excellent course that I cannot recommend highly enough. Professor Mason is a brilliant lecturer who is very good at explaining complex medical concepts in simple terms for persons without a background in science. I learnt an incredible amount through this course and have a whole new appreciation for the complexity of our nervous system and how it shapes how we perceive and respond to the world around us, thanks to Professor Mason's engaging style and clear passion for her area of expertise.

By Juju J

Oct 13, 2021

Thank you Peggy Mason for an outstanding course! It was extremely well organized and the perfect course for beginners like me. I didn’t even know what neurobiology was until I opened your first video. And from that point on I was hooked. Your love for the material is contagious. Your interactive lay out is extremely engaging and enlightening. Now I’m reading all kinds of articles and journals on the topic with great enthusiasm. This course is a life changer! I simply cannot thank you enough!

By Juliana A

Jul 26, 2020

This course has been very eye-opening for me. Neurobiology is everywhere and you can find it in every situation. The course materials provided are very well moduled and presented in detail. The course instructor, Dr. Peggy Mason, is also extremely engaging and friendly. I'm grateful for what I've learned through the course and I highly recommend it to everyone. I love how learning and understanding even just a little bit of Neurobiology can help you to be more empathetic towards others.

By Asha P

Sep 9, 2017

One of the most informative courses I have ever done! And Professor Mason presented it in such a elan, peppered with personal anecdotes and humor, I had to take breaks to soak in the information. The final assignment was brilliant and helped my apply and analyze my learning. I highly recommend the course. I am grateful for this entire experience. I intend to join more of such courses, or if there is, an advanced level of the same. Thank you for making me feel absolutely accomplished:)

By Sumairan B

Dec 18, 2018

Greetings! That course was amazing, Respected mam Prof. Peggy Mason is an intelligent and motivating teacher. I really like her teaching style. Thanks respected mam, University of Chicago , Coursera , Pakistan HEC. Thanks allot for enhancing my knowledge.

I want to make a request please don't take these lectures OFF from my account if possible , I want to review them again and again. At least for one year ,till next December I want to review these lectures please. Thanks to all

By Theofilos K

Nov 2, 2020

That was an amazing course to take, and I will be definitely coming back, watching the videos for a better understanding of the material. Ms. Peggy is a very passionate individual, making her teachings very much enjoyable and comprehensive. I 100% recommend this course for everyone, understanding even a little the way we humans work will help you in your life in so many ways. (Especially enhancing your empathy - bring more goodness to the world so we can everyone enjoy that)

By Diane M

Oct 25, 2023

I wish I could tell Dr Mason in person how much I enjoyed not only the classes but also her teaching. She's extremely knowledgable and a fantastic teacher that transpires kindness and passion for her topic. When done seriously, this course is a lot harder and time consuming than I had anticipated, but very much worth it. I learnt so much and feel like I can read any neuroscience article and have a minimal understanding of everything said. I strongly recommend it !

By Elias J A

Mar 20, 2020

Prof Mason matches passion with expertise as she brings you on the full tour of neurobiology, beginning with our neuro-anatomical genesis and leading you all the way to the higher, abstract functions of the mind. Her lectures are short, "bite-size" if you will, and her enthusiasm will get you hooked - it's not just good content. If you're looking to blitz through a thorough overview of the subject, I could not recommend this course and its instructor more highly.

By Arijit B

Jun 7, 2021

I am a Biotechnology student, but I am having soo much interest in Neurobiology. Because of my interest I thought to do my PhD on Neurobiology . But as a Biotech student I do not have Neuroscience in my Course.

So I thought to enroll for this course to get more knowledge in the field of neurobiology. And I found that this course is soo well explained and informative, This course helped me a lot to continue my studies in neurobiology with a very good knowledge.

By Zinaida K

Feb 3, 2021

This has been an incredibly entertaining and useful course. The first weeks were great refreshments of the biophysics courses I had 15 years ago in the university. I enjoyed the explanations on the real organs. I absolutely loved the way Prof. Mason talks about the brain and neurons, with so much passion as if those are her kids :) I was very sad to see I was done with the video materials.

I would like to thank everyone who participated in this excellent course.

By Rishika R

Oct 4, 2020

This is the first course I took on coursera and I have to say that it has been an amazing experience learning here. The videos, quizzes, assignments are very well structured. Dr Peggy Mason is a brilliant professor and her style of teaching connects students with her very well. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned a lot about neurobiology of our everyday life. I always wanted to study how our brain functions and I am glad I opted for this course.

By Alvaro P V

Jul 24, 2018

Great course! I am an architect and I have not studied nothing related to medicine or psychology before. I became interested in the course since I want to generate a bond between architecture and neuroscience. This course has been a great introduction, and although it was demanding on certain lecture videos, overall it helped me grasp the essentials of the brain and the nervous system! Peggy was awesome all the way, making it fun, deep and accessible!