Chevron Left
Back to Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life by The University of Chicago

4.9
stars
2,845 ratings

About the Course

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Top reviews

JH

Invalid date

Professor Mason's passion for her field is evident and she makes a complex subject accessible to people like me with zero knowledge of the subject. Thoroughly enjoyed the course, thank you.

LD

Invalid date

Dr. Peggy Mason creates a viable way to understand neurobiology. Although the material is very challenging, her teaching style keeps one focused and interested. I highly recommend this course.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 927 Reviews for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

By Nitin G

Sep 14, 2022

I loved this course. The instructor, course content and delivery of the lectures were so simple and engaging that I watched those lectures multiple times. Even though I am not in medical field, I understood all the topics and their relevance in our daily life. It also inspired me to do further research on neurobiology.

Thank you Ms. Peggy for this great course and being a wonderful professor.

By Michal L

Sep 2, 2020

It is an amazing course, I would recommend to everyone interested in getting better understanding of how our nervous system works. It is very insightful and in simple way explains complex topics of neurobiology. It allowed me to perceive our reactions, behaviors and capabilities from completely new angle. Thank you Prof. Peggy Mason for sharing this course via Coursera! You did an amazing job!

By Benjamín G

Sep 9, 2022

One of the best online courses I have ever taken. Although it was challenging at times, Professor Mason had a particular way of explaining things that made it easy to internalize. In contrast to other online courses, this one felt genuine with pictures of her pets, talking about her family and making it easy to relate. Students that have this Professor in the same classroom are really lucky.

By Lorenzo Y

Jun 17, 2017

I wanted a basic knowledge of the brain mechanisms to better understand perception and drug effects. I learned much more and I am so happy!

Prof Mason is a wonderful teacher that is able to make everything interesting using real-life examples and also some funny things from time to time.

I think that what I learned is going to be useful in every aspect of life, both theorical and practical.

By Roa A

Jun 23, 2019

I want to really thank Dr Peggy Mason for such a wonderful course, your topics, your explanations, and your work was fascinating, Your passion was obvious as I loved all the things you've said

I took this course as a speech-language pathologist, I wanted to be specialized in the neurogenic language disorders and this course was so helpful.

Thanks Coursera for such a wonderful opportunity !

By Sue C

Jun 10, 2020

I found this course to be excellent, and mentally stimulating, explaining things that we take for granted, and showing the amazing agility and range of the brain and CNS. The lecturer is great, clear and enthusiastic, and what I have learned is applicable not only in everyday life, but relevant in my work which often involves working with those suffering various neuro issues. Thank you!

By Lingde K

Jul 26, 2017

This really is the neurobiology for everyone. English is not my native language and I have no relative academic background. But I could still understand every espect of this MOOC. Professor Mason inspired me a lot with her spirit of humanity throughout the course. Thank you for this wonderful course! I sincerely recommend this course to you guys who are interested in this magic topic.

By Shelley J

Sep 19, 2020

I enjoyed this class very much and appreciated Dr. Mason's passion for neurobiology! I loved the way she presented the deeper concepts and bigger picture of the components of the brain, its structures and processes. There are many profound and heart-felt learning moments, as well as fun and interesting, eye--opening information as you're learning about neurobiology in everyday life!

By Yuval R

Nov 4, 2021

I had a great time learning that course, and now I understand much more about the brain and the nervous system than I had imagined I would. Unfortunately I don't have enough time to do the final project, but I still think that I have learned many new things. It was my first course on Coursera, and thanks to that great experience it won't be the last. Thank you again for everything!

By sarah c

Sep 13, 2020

An absolute pleasure to participate in this course. Peggy Mason is an amazing tutor who keeps you fully engaged within all contents of this course. This is the first course which i have done on neurobiology but thanks to all involved with this course it certainly wont be the last. It is fascinating absolutely fascinating. Thank you Peggy Mason for opening neurobiology up to me .

By Nikolett S

Jun 20, 2021

I learnt a lot about how the human brain works with examples from our daily lives. I higly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in neurobiology, but has no prior education/experience on the field. Absolutely informative and entertaining. Thanks Dr. Peggy Mason for this course. Your knowledge is mind-blowing and hope to listen some other lecture from you in the future.

By Бажина Д В

May 10, 2020

This course is very interesting, its help understand people and yourself. Amazing teacher! She explain everything very accessible and understandable! And also with humor. This course has been very helpful to me. I studied neurobiology in my native language (Russian) at the university, I understood less than after this course! I recommend to everyone. Thanks so much for the course.

By Rebecca G

Jul 2, 2021

This has been a really amazing experience. Biology has always been fascinating to me and coupled with my favourite subject of all time - Psychology - I couldn't have asked for a better class. It has opened my eyes to so many functions that my brain has, all the connections it makes to give my life any meaning at all - and I am grateful for a lot more on that front. Thank you!

By Aline R E

Jan 5, 2021

Firstly, I would like to thank and congratulate Peggy for this great course. Her passion for this subject is what made it so special and inspiring. I have learned a lot, and I am extremely motivated to continue to pursue knowledge in this field.

Also, congratulations to the team that helped her, the production was also great and helps us to keep engaged.

Thank you so much!!

By Sujatha R

May 20, 2024

One of the best courses I completed on Coursera. The best thing about the course was the laboratory experience. It was amazing to find Dr. Peggy Mason dissect the brain and explain the parts on camera in great detail. I wish to thank Dr. Mason for the course that not only satiated my curiosity, but made me explore further about neurobiology. Highly recommend the course.

By Zeynep A Ş

Sep 18, 2023

First of all, I don't know how professional of me is this but i want to say Mrs. Peggy Manson was very sweet! I enjoyed every second of the time i spent on this course. I can confidently say this course was way more educational than I expected! It explains all the titles you can list under the neurobiology in details. Thanks to everyone who helped to create this course!

By Parisa C

Dec 20, 2019

Great course and amazing professor Peggy Mason. I recommend this course strongly even if you are just curious. Professor has both strong capability of knowledge and pedagogy + sense of humor which you would like to continue listening to her and learn along the way. I myself became more interested in neurobiology and tend to continue further education on this. Thank you!

By Margot L

Jul 24, 2023

Ms. Peggy brought neurobiology to life in such a beautiful and illustrative way. Her explanations of complex information were easy to follow and given in such nice bite size, digestible chunks! You can tell that the professor loves what she does and is passionate in her desire to assist others with appreciating the applicability or neurobiology in our every day lives!

By Punchie M

Jun 2, 2020

I was very impressed, it was a very good course! Excellent lessons and excellent instructor. I was inspired by how Prof. Mason loves what she's teaching. It seems like she knows what she doing and really understand it. She teaches by making easy for students to understand as well. And after all the lessons are very helpful for you to understand the brain much better.

By Peter W

Aug 2, 2020

Incredible class. I learned 10 times more than I thought I would and 100 times more about neurobiology than I knew before the class. This class was for personal interest for my son who recently was diagnosed with MS. I learned so much that will be able to help me and him with this. Thank you for this class! It was so worth it. One of my favorites on Coursera.

By Moksh B

Apr 1, 2020

AMAZING Course, I'd recommend it to the world. Thank you so much Dr. Mason for teaching. One of the best teachers I know, til date! (Better than a lot of my school teachers even!). The knowledge that I got from this course was absolutely great as well. Slightly sad this is the end of the course now. Would have loved to continue talking to Dr. Mason about her work!

By Caio C F d S

Aug 17, 2021

Professor Mason is an excellent teacher, I learned a lot through her videos and she is great at keeping explanations simple and students interested.

This was my first course on Coursera ( or any orher website) and I liked it so much that I feel encouraged to take on other courses about neurology and the human brain offered by this website, I am highly satisfied.

By Mona G

Jun 8, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. The subject matter can be quite difficult to understand but Dr. Peggy Mason does an excellent job teaching the material in a way that allows even students without a background in neurobiology to understand it. Dr. Mason keeps her lectures very interesting and engaging by giving real world examples. I highly recommend this course!

By Maina W

Jun 25, 2022

I would recommend this course to everybody.  I have learnt A LOT on how the human body functions. Professor Mason is a great teacher who made the lessons interesting and easy to understand by giving relatable examples.  This course has planted a seed of my wanting to gain more knowledge on neurobiology. I owe a debt of gratitude to Coursera and Professor Mason.

By Alonso R

Jun 1, 2017

Me encantó el curso. Soy médico de formación y me encontraba buscando maneras de mostrar temas de neurociencias a los alumnos de psicología. Es muy distinto que la formación médica y este curso me brindó esa manera brillante de acercar al alumno y crearle interés al tiempo que se aprende lo básico del contenido. Es muy bueno el curso y ampliamente recomendable.