Chevron Left
Back to Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life by The University of Chicago

4.9
stars
2,847 ratings

About the Course

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Top reviews

RN

Invalid date

I absolutely loved being a part of prof. mason's class! I have gathered alot of information that is going to help me build my future! And this course made me like neurobiology even more! Thank you

MJ

Invalid date

It has been, in all, a wonderful experience taking this course, Prof Peggy is really good at what she does, wonderful content, stories, instances, and videos. Learnt a lot from this course, thank you!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 927 Reviews for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

By Inés K

Jun 30, 2020

I simply loved this course, especially Peggy Mason's way of speaking naturally, not following a script, just talking. I did a course on Neuroanatomy from DUKE University before, which was a little more technical, whereas this MOOC was more linked to everyday life, and the two courses just clicked nicely. I also found Peggy Mason on utube, so I keep learning.

By The M N

Aug 10, 2020

I want to thank professor Peggy. I was going to give up on this class. Because I have ADHD and one night I had a dream and she told me do not to give up take your time. The day when I woke up I had a new feeling and I said I am going to master this. I was so glad that she allowed us to do video it helped me out a lot. Thank you for such a great class.

By Stacey K

Sep 30, 2017

Thank you very much for the course. My understanding of brain improved a lot and also it made me more aware of how other people may perceive the world very differently from myself. I found the level of depth just enough for me to get through it without being too buried in terminology and details. The assignments were fun too. Excellent course, thank you.

By Affaf K

Aug 4, 2020

The way of delivering the lectures is so simple yet effective . The teacher is so sweet and amazing . She explains even the most difficult mechanisms in the most simple and easy way . Videos are not lengthy so student does not get fed up . It provides an excellent explanation of various disorders and anatomy of brain with the help of labs and videos .

By Poojitha S P

Dec 21, 2019

This course has been beautifully illustrated by Prof. Peggy Mason with real life examples including her cat Tula's activities that we can connect with. The enthusiasm and the passion of Prof. Mason keeps the viewers hooked and I have a deep admiration for her. My interest in Neurobiology has been piqued and I wish to work in this field in the future.

By Necoll M

Aug 8, 2023

This was a great course! I learned a lot of information about our brain and body and how they relate together. Professor Peggy Mason does a great job giving personalized examples for a clear understand of what she is teaching. Videos were short and not talk lengthy which helped a lot to keep my attention engaged. Follow of the course is very smooth.

By Sandra K

Jun 11, 2020

Professor Mason is an incredible teacher. I love her way of passing knowledge and hope to have a chance to take another one of her courses. She has a way of finding beauty in knowledge and presenting it clearly and systematically (something I appreciate about professors).

No joke, I'd recommend any of her courses, she is one of the best of her kind.

By Thomas J H

Apr 5, 2017

I have taken several "neuro" courses on Coursera. This helped reviewed what I learned elsewhere and fill in some gaps. But more importantly, I think it would have been the best general introduction to start with. Friendly, accessible, and surprisingly comprehensive. Great first course in neuroscience or complementary course. Highly recommended.

By Linda L

Aug 18, 2020

Coming from having only a background in General Biology 1, I found this course so much more interesting. I can only say that I have learned so much with Professor Mason. She is an excellent teacher and gives plenty of examples for her students to understand. To finish, this course has opened my eyes to a very large field that I am interested in.

By zhang y

May 2, 2017

It is my first course that finished on Coursera, and I feel lucky that I have chosen that and it raised my interest to keep learning more. Professor Mason's lecture is very vivid and easy to understand for student with little background of Neuroscience, and also full of humanity care and empathy for people who suffer from neurobiology diseases.

By Ben M

Nov 6, 2021

A beautiful, entry level course to neurobiology. While the basic functions & circuitry of the nervous system are complex - both the lectures & the Peggy, the lecturer, are concise & accessible. A willing student is able to build a logical framework from the well laid out, always relevant format. Difficult to find a more rewarding short course.

By Sara G

Oct 5, 2020

Me encantó este curso, hay que tener disciplina, entusiasmo y dedicación para poder alcanzar el objetivo de acabar este curso, saber mucho más sobre nosotros mismos. Felicito y agradezco a la profe Peggy Mason con dedicarse a enseñarle a personas de todo el mundo sus conocimientos, y así, poder evolucionar en la medicina de la neurobiología. :)

By Catharina C C

Jul 12, 2020

The course reinforced my career choice, I am deeply interested in this topic and I wanted to delve deeper into this knowledge and research. The course explains in an excellent way the operating mode of the brain systems, the knowledge acquired in class goes beyond simple fundamentals, helping to reflect more deeply about everyday neurobiology.

By MARIA P D C O O

Sep 5, 2023

ES un curso sumamente completo, con mucha claridad en las explicaciones y muy dinámico. me hizo recordar los principios fisiológicos y anatómicos , que habia dejado de tener presente en mi carrera como médico. Mil gracias por la oportunidad y especialmente por permitirme aprender más, y vincular los aprendizajes en mi ejercicio como médico.

By Pashia b T A

Dec 30, 2021

I love the course, Peggy Mason is amazing! Her teaching is clear and concise. I highly recommend this course to anybody whom wants to have a better understanding of the human brain. I have learned and discovered so many new things beyond my thoughts in the journey. The 3 months+ was worth every minute. Thank you Peggy Mason! From Malaysia.

By Linda

Feb 11, 2021

I enjoyed Dr. Mason’s thorough and empathetic lectures. I don’t have a science background, so practical topics like those on diseases, strokes, and hot flashes were of most interest to me, as were her book recommendations. I liked the scenes if the University of Chicago campus, but found that the monotonous musical interludes got annoying.

By Eduardo F D

Apr 9, 2020

This is a course that touches in some many basic concepts and yet shows the application of them, so that it broadens the understanding of the nervous system. Dr. Mason is really a remarkable professor and it was a delight to learn some many difficult subjects in a way that ease the understanding of the integrated functioning of the brain.

By Mihalca S M

Nov 28, 2023

I am very grateful for this course. It helps me a lot in the professional stage I am in. It has been a special pleasure to follow Professor Peggy Mason, an exceptional person, with extraordinary persuasion and very extensive knowledge. I have all the appreciation for this professor. Congratulations, Professor! Best of luck in the future!

By Matthew A

Feb 9, 2021

Brilliant course! Dr Peggy Mason is an exceptional teacher. Her depth of knowledge, enthusiasm and ability to communicate complex information made this course fascinating and engaging from start to finish. Thank you very much for making this course available. For anyone thinking of taking the course themself, I would highly recommend it.

By Farooque K

Feb 18, 2024

I enjoyed every bit of the whole course, every slide, every lecture, in short everything. Dr Peggy Mason has done a great job of putting the material together and explaining it all so well. It was indeed a very pleasant experience to watch all her lectures and the labs too. Thank you Coursera and thank Uiv of Chicago. Y Y Y :) :) :)

By Linda A A

Jul 24, 2022

Course was very practical and infotmative. Prof Mason did an excellent job in explaining complex concepts and also employ the use of day to day scenario in doing that. All in all I have achieved immense knowledge in neurobiology and I am grateful to Prof Mason, the entire production crew and the University of Chicago for this feat.

By Paige K

Oct 8, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this course. It is perfectly adjusted so that you can view what you want when you want and easily doable in the time given. Professor Peggy Mason clearly has a passion for what she teaches and it shows in her video lectures. I would highly recommend this course and any others by this Institution.

By Hugo B

Apr 26, 2020

Despite being a course that does not have prerequisites, it´s extremely thorough in guiding a non-medical student through neurobiology. Peggy Mason is incredibly passionate about the subject, and the subjects that have allowed the advancement of this science. It makes a big difference to have a professor fully invested in the topic.

By Deepali R

Sep 7, 2020

I absolutely loved this course! It is the first one I took on Coursera and I am so glad for it. Professor Mason's enthusiasm about neurobiology is infectious and I found myself being more absorbed into the topic. I would like to thank both Coursera and the staff at University of Chicago who made this course available easily for us.

By Rashmi S N

Mar 4, 2019

This was such an interesting course and although I am not a science student and I had to brush up my neurobiology vocabulary, I loved the course. Prof. Peggy Mason was such an engaging and wonderful instructor. The course wasn’t easy for me but I did complete it and I did read up on all the reference reads that were recommended.