Chevron Left
Back to Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life by The University of Chicago

4.9
stars
2,564 ratings

About the Course

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Top reviews

MJ

May 24, 2020

It has been, in all, a wonderful experience taking this course, Prof Peggy is really good at what she does, wonderful content, stories, instances, and videos. Learnt a lot from this course, thank you!

PM

Mar 22, 2020

This course has turned out to very profitable, especially if you are not an expert in anatomical and clinical terms as is my case. In my opinion, this course is extremely interesting, congratulations.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 836 Reviews for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

By Catharina C C

Jul 12, 2020

The course reinforced my career choice, I am deeply interested in this topic and I wanted to delve deeper into this knowledge and research. The course explains in an excellent way the operating mode of the brain systems, the knowledge acquired in class goes beyond simple fundamentals, helping to reflect more deeply about everyday neurobiology.

By Pashia b T A

Dec 30, 2021

I love the course, Peggy Mason is amazing! Her teaching is clear and concise. I highly recommend this course to anybody whom wants to have a better understanding of the human brain. I have learned and discovered so many new things beyond my thoughts in the journey. The 3 months+ was worth every minute. Thank you Peggy Mason! From Malaysia.

By Linda

Feb 11, 2021

I enjoyed Dr. Mason’s thorough and empathetic lectures. I don’t have a science background, so practical topics like those on diseases, strokes, and hot flashes were of most interest to me, as were her book recommendations. I liked the scenes if the University of Chicago campus, but found that the monotonous musical interludes got annoying.

By Eduardo F D

Apr 9, 2020

This is a course that touches in some many basic concepts and yet shows the application of them, so that it broadens the understanding of the nervous system. Dr. Mason is really a remarkable professor and it was a delight to learn some many difficult subjects in a way that ease the understanding of the integrated functioning of the brain.

By Matthew A

Feb 9, 2021

Brilliant course! Dr Peggy Mason is an exceptional teacher. Her depth of knowledge, enthusiasm and ability to communicate complex information made this course fascinating and engaging from start to finish. Thank you very much for making this course available. For anyone thinking of taking the course themself, I would highly recommend it.

By Linda A A

Jul 24, 2022

Course was very practical and infotmative. Prof Mason did an excellent job in explaining complex concepts and also employ the use of day to day scenario in doing that. All in all I have achieved immense knowledge in neurobiology and I am grateful to Prof Mason, the entire production crew and the University of Chicago for this feat.

By Paige K

Oct 8, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this course. It is perfectly adjusted so that you can view what you want when you want and easily doable in the time given. Professor Peggy Mason clearly has a passion for what she teaches and it shows in her video lectures. I would highly recommend this course and any others by this Institution.

By Hugo B

Apr 26, 2020

Despite being a course that does not have prerequisites, it´s extremely thorough in guiding a non-medical student through neurobiology. Peggy Mason is incredibly passionate about the subject, and the subjects that have allowed the advancement of this science. It makes a big difference to have a professor fully invested in the topic.

By Deepali R

Sep 7, 2020

I absolutely loved this course! It is the first one I took on Coursera and I am so glad for it. Professor Mason's enthusiasm about neurobiology is infectious and I found myself being more absorbed into the topic. I would like to thank both Coursera and the staff at University of Chicago who made this course available easily for us.

By Rashmi S N

Mar 4, 2019

This was such an interesting course and although I am not a science student and I had to brush up my neurobiology vocabulary, I loved the course. Prof. Peggy Mason was such an engaging and wonderful instructor. The course wasn’t easy for me but I did complete it and I did read up on all the reference reads that were recommended.

By Edmund S

Dec 12, 2018

My heartfelt thanks goes out to everyone involved with this MOOC.

I learned so much form going through this material and thoroughly enjoyed my time on it every week. Thank you for making it available to myself and others, it was a fantastic introduction to neuroscience topics and Peggy Mason is a gifted instructor and teacher.

By Dr. R Y

Feb 27, 2020

It is very good course for develop concept and I would like to give thanks to Professor Peggy Mason for conductive a fine knowledgeable course .Thank you very much once again I will be more happy if you give me certificate written with Distinction. I also appreciate to courser for giving as platform to get knowledge globally.

By Giannina C M

Jun 30, 2020

Dr. Mason kept me engaged the entire course and made all concepts super easy to understand. I loved the small check-ins in between videos and having to apply the knowledge we learned in our quizzes and final project! 10/10 recommend to anyone who wants to learn more about how the brain is involved in every play of life!

By Donna P P

Dec 18, 2019

This is a practical, well-organized course that provides a good intro to the area of neurobiology. I have a graduate degree but it is not related to this field. I found the course to be challenging, but not overwhelming. Dr. Mason offers a strong scientific base, yet connects course content effectively to everyday life.

By Prisha C

Mar 31, 2022

Professor Mason is a wonderful teacher. She explained difficult concepts so easily and in a fun way. The assignments specially the peer-reviewed one at the end was also a great way to interact with others taking the course. Overall, taking this course has been a wonderful experience for me. Thanks for an amazing course!

By David G

Feb 22, 2021

Professor Mason does an outstanding job of explaining neurobiology concepts and processes. She makes the class entertaining, although the subject matter related to brain malfunctions is dismal. I would highly recommend this course for people interested in learning more about the brain. Thanks so much Professor Mason!

By Thomas L

Jun 4, 2020

Professor Mason provides a very extensive, yet accessible, introduction to neurobiology with a focus on common neurobiological diseases. The focus on diseases helps to understand how the neurobiology of the human body works by discussing what happens when things go wrong. Excellent course! Thank you Professor Mason!

By Eva Z

Sep 21, 2017

I took this course for the second time to renew my knowledge. I absolutely in love with neurobiology thanks to Professor Manson. It was interesting even as I remembered about a half of the course. I definitely recommend this course to be taken a few times. Or once in a while to enjoy such a passionate neurobiologist!

By Ignacio C C

Apr 7, 2018

Peggy Mason is exceptional at communicating complex concepts in a simple way. It's the most engaging Coursera course I've done so far!

Despite having no medical background, Peggy made it easy to follow and stay connected. The course was interesting and informative, and she made the links to everyday's life very clear.

By Rümeysa D

Sep 2, 2020

I am very thankful for being able to attend these valuable lectures taught by such an intelligent and powerful person. I hope I will have other opportunities like this to learn more from her in the future. Also, I will keep visiting this brilliant website to improve my skills and knowledge. Thank you for everything!

By Yining Y

Apr 8, 2022

This is the best coursera course I have ever had. Dr. Mason clearly interprets every point. During the class, she tries her best to talk about the neurobiology. I can tell how deep love she delves in neuroscience from her shining eyes and passionate smile. The class is strongly recommended, and definitely to take!

By Dr.Rekha S

Feb 10, 2021

I wish everyone who is interested in neurology should undergo this course. I have learnt a lot. The thing with I used to neglect or not taken seriously Now started looking at it, analyse it ,try to get remedy. All because of Prof. Peggy Mason.i will be always thankful to her .will do further related courses too.

By Julie K

Feb 14, 2021

I thought the teacher was very engaging. Her pace is good. Illustrations are fantastic. I just didn't have enough medical/biological science background to keep up with all the terms and descriptions. I have learned A LOT in the first 2 weeks, but I also knew I was going to be totally lost, so I unenrolled.

By Nurtan T

Dec 20, 2020

Really amazing course. Dr Peggy Mason is excellent in explaining the content in a positive and enthausiastic way which is easy to follow. Of course you do need to study but I found this course practical and great in explaining the basics of how my brain functions. I will continue studying the follow up courses.

By AISHWARYA A

Aug 24, 2017

Excellent course. Gave me a good platform to learn the basics of neurobiology. The additional lab videos were fabulous. I totally enjoyed every bit of it. Professor Peggy was amazing, she explained the concepts in such an interesting way with real life examples, that I really enjoyed it. Thank you Prof. Peggy!