Chevron Left
Back to Fundamental Neuroscience for Neuroimaging

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamental Neuroscience for Neuroimaging by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
1,778 ratings
413 reviews

About the Course

Neuroimaging methods are used with increasing frequency in clinical practice and basic research. Designed for students and professionals, this course will introduce the basic principles of neuroimaging methods as applied to human subjects research and introduce the neuroscience concepts and terminology necessary for a basic understanding of neuroimaging applications. Topics include the history of neuroimaging, an introduction to neuroimaging physics and image formation, as well as an overview of different neuroimaging applications, including functional MRI, diffusion tensor imaging, magnetic resonance spectroscopy, perfusion imaging, and positron emission tomography imaging. Each will be reviewed in the context of their specific methods, source of signal, goals, and limitations. The course will also introduce basic neuroscience concepts necessary to understand the implementation of neuroimaging methods, including structural and functional human neuroanatomy, cognitive domains, and experimental design....

Top reviews

JJ
Aug 3, 2020

I plan to take Radiology Tech in college and I believe this online course is a great way to learn the basics and I also think that it is a good refresher for those who already took Neuroscience.

CB
Jun 17, 2020

I found this course really useful for mi master thesis. I'm a Meng student and I'll work with MRI. This course provides to me with the basics to understand how the brain and neuroimaging work.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 410 Reviews for Fundamental Neuroscience for Neuroimaging

By caterina w

Apr 7, 2020

Good course for general overview of a very complicated subject - MRI and the human brain. The lack of pressure to perform coursework allows one to absorb the material and discuss at individual pace. This was not time wasted. Particularly useful for computer scientists who have minimal concept of neuroscience. Thank you.

By Devin N

Mar 21, 2019

This course packed an enormous amount of information!! The one complaint I have is that the section on the mechanics of the fMRI machine was quite confusing, especially as I have a very limited understanding of physics to begin with. That said, I was able to find a video on youtube to supplement my understanding.

By Gonzalo C

Apr 7, 2020

Very well done. Great structure. However, I think the course could make a better use of time and delve less into the physical basis of the imaging methods and more in the practical uses. Sometimes it's a bit difficult to keep up with the physics basis when not from a physics background. Great experience overall

By Yoobin C

Jun 17, 2020

Great intro course! I was expecting it to go more in depth but the amount presented was a good amount for me to have a general understanding of neuroimaging. I have a neuroscience background so the first two weeks of material were very easy but the latter half was interesting. Thank you

By Emiel d J

Jul 6, 2018

This course is very interesting. It does require some background in physics on magnetism but that does not deminish the greatness of the course. The only thing that is somewhat annoying is the lecturers tendency to look to his left and our right to read from a screen the lecture notes.

By Torres P A

Apr 29, 2021

I loved the content of the course. The first modules were easier and very informative. The last two modules were challenging as all the information was practically new for me, but it was so well explained I can confidently say I have finished this course with new knowledge.

By Roshini

Jun 10, 2018

I really enjoyed the course. It is a good introduction into the world of neuroimaging. The videos are short and informative and the course is well organized. Therefore it is the first course I actually completed and didn't abandon half way. :)

By MA S

Aug 13, 2019

It's good for beginners but it's better to know basic chemistry when you go into it. The later stages include jargon that won't be known by someone who hasn't studied chemistry even a bit, although it is mnageable nonetheless.

By Jimmy C

Oct 20, 2020

It would be better if the principles of MRI and the process of MRI are explained in clearer terms and in a step-by-step manner. But the overall experience is great as the course comprehensively discussed different concepts.

By Lisanne S

Jun 14, 2019

nice class for achieving a basic understanding of brain imaging. a reference to functional imaging using microscopy (e.g. lsm or 2p combined with calcium sensor) would have been great for me personally.

By Esha S

May 26, 2020

This course gives a broad overview of some of the well-known neuroimaging techniques. Their advantages, disadvantages, and things to keep in mind while designing an fMRI experiment are well explained.

By Dr U B

Feb 5, 2020

It was a high quality course that cleared a lot of my concepts in the basics of neuroimaging.I felt at certain times the speed was too fast and adequate glossing over important concepts was not done.

By Gabriela L S M

Oct 28, 2020

Me hubiera gustado que continuará todo el curso con las preguntas dentro de los videos a manera de repaso. Ésto hubiera sido muy útil en los últimos temas dada su complejidad.

By Emiliyan

Dec 20, 2018

The course was good. I had a great time during the lessons. Some of the topics were really tough but they were explained in a way that can a non specialist to understand it.

By Emilio S C

Oct 7, 2019

Great course! Though maybe I'd recommend to vary a little bit more the speed and tone to keep focus, sometimes I needed to distract myself for a bit before returning.

By Ankush C

May 22, 2019

Some supplements could have been included in the course. Except that, the course material was well organised and very informative. I really enjoyed doing the course.

By Namitha E J

Mar 18, 2018

I enjoyed this course as it was informative and provoked thought. It can be made better if the videos were split into smaller blocks instead of combining two topics.

By Paul J S

Nov 6, 2020

The topics were great but my expected learning outcomes were more of reading and interpreting rather than the physics behind science. Over all, fulfilling course.

By ALMUDENA F F

Jul 25, 2019

I learned a lot of information and the course was very interesting.

Maybe, the next edition of this course, the information can be in Spanish.

Congratulations

By MD A H

Nov 17, 2019

It was an aesthetic experience for me as a naive neurobiology learner. The great structure of this course hopefully helps me in my later career.

By Jaime R

Apr 19, 2018

Good course on imaging techniques with a short introduction, however, much less comprehensive than other neurobiology courses on Coursera

By Carolina A

Jul 2, 2021

I think more images or videos would enhance the comprehension of the course. The rest was perfect! Thank you so much for everything :)

By Yasith G

Dec 31, 2020

Explanations of some topics were not good enough. But overall, very good course with satisfactory explanations in the relevant topics

By Sakshi S

Jul 29, 2020

The course is amazing good for people who have an interest in neuroscience and understanding various neuroimaging techniques.

By RICARDO C A

May 13, 2020

It's basic, making it a great way to approach neuroscience. It would be much better if it was subtitled in more languages.