Chevron Left
Back to From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement

Learner Reviews & Feedback for From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement by Emory University

4.8
stars
248 ratings
78 reviews

About the Course

The Modern Civil Rights Movement is a significant landmark in United States history. This movement was a struggle for human rights directly challenging the nation to extend its democratic principles to African Americans and all peoples. This course sheds light on the often overlooked strategic planning that supported the direction of the events and is told by a voice intimately involved in the organization of movement—Dr. Bernard LaFayette, Jr. Topics include the history of the campaigns, the different coalitions and groups, philosophy and methods of nonviolent direct action, and the contemporary application of nonviolent conflict transformation. The course hosts several guest speakers, including Andrew Young, Reverend C.T. Vivian, Henry "Hank" Thomas, and Constance Curry. Upon completion of this course, learners will be able to: ● Discuss the contributions and involvement of civil rights activists and leaders in the Civil Rights Movement (CRM) campaigns in the United States. ● Examine the chronology and phases of the Movement and CRM campaigns. ● Recognize and characterize the diverse activist groups involved in the CRM. ● Discuss Martin Luther King Jr.’s philosophy of nonviolence from a historical perspective. ● List and define the principles and strategies of nonviolence. ● Examine organizational and social change applications related to nonviolence. ● Identify the role of nonviolence in modern activism along with additional resources to broaden knowledge of principles of nonviolence. ● Recognize the application of nonviolence theories to activism, current issues, and everyday life....

Top reviews

EJ

Apr 27, 2020

This course was wonderful! I learned so much and was able to learn more in-depth o stories and events that I knew of. Dr. LaFayette is a treasure and I look forward to hopefully meeting him one day.

KS

Sep 28, 2019

I have learnt so much and will be applying this to the change action empowerment in the UK. I appreciate this opportunity to learn at my own pace and appreciate the work undertaken in the past.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 77 Reviews for From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement

By Corinne S

May 22, 2016

One of the best and most informative classes I have taken on Coursera. I highly recommend for everyone!

By Célia C

Mar 02, 2020

Very interesting, in this course, we have al the inside view of what happened, I truly recommend.

By Valentina G M

Mar 16, 2020

I usually don't like history but the way this is told capitvated me! Thank so much

By David S T

Jun 13, 2020

Just amazing. What a fantastic course. And Dr. Lafayette is a national treasure.

By Carmen

Nov 05, 2017

Very enlightening about non-violence and how the civil rights movement worked.

By Alzbeta S

Jun 22, 2016

One of the best courses I took on Coursera. Very informative and practical.

By Gretchen A

Jul 08, 2020

Great interviews, Great Information, and thought- provoking questions.

By Felipe T

Jan 27, 2017

This is a marvelous and very inspiring course. Thank you so much!

By line k

Oct 05, 2019

This course should be seen by all of us people of the world.

By fumi o

Apr 12, 2016

This is a great course.

It is more than a history lesson.

I

By Chuan-Chih C

Jan 04, 2016

A great course for understanding US Civil Right history!

By Alex R

Dec 29, 2015

Very interesting course - Thank you very much

By Rachel B

Mar 17, 2017

Amazing course. Thank you for sharing!

By Shavonti W

Jul 09, 2020

I absolutely loved this course.

By Fran

Feb 18, 2016

Wonderfully engaging stories.

By Jeffrey f

Apr 25, 2020

tremendous and informative

By Amanda L S J

Jul 24, 2020

Excellent course.

By Uilson C

Jun 28, 2017

Excelente Curso!

By Alexandra S

Dec 31, 2016

Fantastic class.

By Abu M I U

Mar 13, 2019

Thanks Bernie!

By Steven P

Dec 05, 2017

Love this!

By Katherine A P

May 29, 2018

Excellent

By Steve J

Jun 24, 2019

My thanks to Dr. Bernard Lafayette for an interesting & helpful introduction to the history of nonviolence in the civil rights movement as well as suggestions on how this methodology, philosophy, and techniques are relevant and necessary for antiracist activism today and into the future. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to know more about nonviolent direct action, its effectiveness, and its continued pertinence. I am also grateful to Andrew Young, C. T. Vivian, Connie Curry, Dr. Carol Anderson, and all the other interviewers and guests that contributed to this interesting course.

By Elena C N D

Feb 05, 2017

A profound analysis of the Civil Rights Movement, told from the perspective of an active participant.

By Eva B

Apr 27, 2020

It was an honor to hear Dr. Lafayette, a civil rights icon.