Chevron Left
Back to Social Norms, Social Change I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Norms, Social Change I by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
1,788 ratings
460 reviews

About the Course

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Top reviews

PE
Mar 5, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL
Jun 25, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 450 Reviews for Social Norms, Social Change I

By Maryann F

Apr 28, 2020

Helpful framework for determining how to shift social norms. The detail in which the instructor teases out the nuanced ways to assess why individuals act the way they do is very helpful

By Mai A

Jul 5, 2017

It's useful , it help me to know more about spreading of any norm,custom ,etc and help me to know ways of distinguish it and helping people to differentiate between good and bad one .

By Ricardo R I

Oct 9, 2016

It's very useful. I think at first lectures there is neccesary a synopsis about the concepts and their classification or relation, because as you deep the relation is more confused.

By Sezin I

Jan 9, 2017

I enroll the course just for listening videos and following the readings,

I really enjoyed it, and learned it, it gives another perspective to see the whole community

thanks a lot

By NEHA P

Apr 28, 2020

Good insights about social problems and how various organisations working hard to change mindset of people living in rural areas. Learned new concepts about norms. Good Work!

By Mahesh J

Nov 8, 2016

It was a good course even though it was a bit theoretical. Its a great start for someone who has no background in social norms. I am glad I took this course though

By Natasha

Feb 6, 2017

The course is very detailed, with a strong methology and useful examples. Nevertheless, it wasn't always simple to follow and the last week was very demanding.

By Armand B

Jul 17, 2019

This is a nice course if you want to chose social science field. In terms of Research, you are be able to how to formulates questions based on this course.

By Amelie D

Jul 1, 2021

The course was easy to follow, and the concepts were well explained. The combination of videos and learning material was a big help.I learned a lot.

By Florence O

Jul 20, 2021

T​his course was very useful and inciteful. The course content is very detailed and intermittent quizzes very useful in facilitating learning.

By Mira L

Aug 2, 2019

The content was interesting but some parts were repetitive to the point of some confusion. I really enjoyed the new information! Thank you.

By Miryana V

Jul 12, 2019

excellent course, well thought out and great examples with readings to make sure you are on track with the syllabus and provide feedback.

By Pete B

Mar 20, 2019

Good presentation, accessible reading material, and all easy to digest - but the final lecture on measuring was sort of long...

By Kristi D

Feb 25, 2018

I learned a lot and I enjoyed the professor's demeanor and personality. I will take the next course in this series for sure.

By Nawarerk C

Feb 28, 2020

The content is quite complicated, however, the instructor makes it easier to understand. Case examples are really helpful.

By Isha J

Jul 14, 2019

The examination method could've been more rigorous and the readings were not in the right order, but great course overall!

By PRAVEEN R

Mar 26, 2020

One of the best social Psychology course available online, which allowed me to understand various norms around the world.

By Mohsin A

Dec 26, 2020

Its been a long time I have completed course on social norms, social change, well I think it's quite long but good.

By Martin E

Apr 19, 2020

This course enhanced my understanding of human motivations and behaviors including how to determine causal factor

By Kariwilliams

Jan 19, 2020

Very informative introduction into identifying and measuring social norms. Thank you for sharing this research.

By Janina G O S

Aug 17, 2017

The course was difficult but it helped broaden my horizon on how to bring about positive change. Thank you!

By Sergio A P V

Jun 24, 2020

The feedback of the exams can improve more and put more examples in the videos, thanks for all.

By Jessica M

May 4, 2020

Well presented and points made very clear. Great real world examples. Thanks Christina :)

By Rwan K A

Sep 16, 2019

The most thing which helped me was the examples after every definition .. thanks a lot

By Victoria H

Apr 22, 2018

It was very interesting. I only wish I were able to highlight things in the reading.