Chevron Left
Back to Object-Oriented Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object-Oriented Design by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
1,767 ratings
417 reviews

About the Course

This course takes Java beginners to the next level by covering object-oriented analysis and design. You will discover how to create modular, flexible, and reusable software, by applying object-oriented design principles and guidelines. And, you will be able to communicate these designs in a visual notation known as Unified Modelling Language (UML). You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to apply your knowledge of object-oriented design by evolving and documenting the Java codebase for an Android application with corresponding UML documentation. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Apply the Class Responsibility Collaborator (CRC) technique to analyze and design the object-oriented model for a problem. • Explain and apply object-oriented modeling principles and their purpose (e.g., abstraction, encapsulation, decomposition, generalization). • Explain and apply different types of inheritance • Explain the difference between association, aggregation, and composition dependencies. • Express object-oriented models as Unified Modeling Language (UML) class diagrams. • Translate between UML class diagrams and equivalent Java code. • Apply design guidelines for modularity, separation of concerns, information hiding, and conceptual integrity to create a flexible, reusable, maintainable design. • Explain the tradeoff between cohesion and coupling....

Top reviews

JS
Aug 5, 2020

Great course to learn the concepts of Software Designing and how it is used in real business scenarios. This course is indeed very helpful for aspiring product developers who aim to be an architect.

FK
Jan 10, 2021

Great course to learn the concepts of Software Designing and how it is used in real business scenarios. This course is indeed very helpful for aspiring product developers who aim to be an architect.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 420 Reviews for Object-Oriented Design

By Lorenzo C

Dec 5, 2019

Excellent explanations, video, content and topic organization. Good introduction to object oriented principles and design but I don'tlike the step where you have to correct the other assignments because if you want to go fast with lessons and close your course, you need wait a lot of time. If there aren't assignments to correct for some days, I think could be a good idea receive a bonus and get over to that task.

By Adam S

Apr 1, 2021

This course was very informative and easy to understand. From time to time i had an impression that used analogies could relate more to the software applications, not "real world", but that may be a preference. I had an issues with understanding differences between showed concepts, but that was marginal - a great part of it was clear and easy to follow.

Very good investment

By Leonardo R

Aug 4, 2020

Very good course. It seems to have thorough and relevant information. The only thing I would add maybe the ability to have a professor and/or assistant professor answer questions on a weekly basis. Perhaps a moderator of sorts in the forums. I think this is needed to provide reassurance of certain aspects of the course that may or may not be 100% clear to students.

By Kelvin R

Nov 2, 2020

Overall good course. But I would suggest to add an explanation on the diagrams on some of the capstone assignment solution. Especially the sequence and state diagram part as there could be different way to show those diagrams, having an explanation on those solution diagrams would be helpful on why you arrived on those solutions...

By Jason D

May 31, 2020

Course content was excellent. Assignment helped solidify understanding of materials.

Grading of peer assignments was confusing. In some cases, multiple different assignments were dumped into the same forum. This could lead to case where I was asked to grade one assignment but instead was viewing a different student assignment.

By Bruno M

Nov 29, 2019

This is the first series of Software Architecture it really helped me to understand better Object Oriented Design. All the videos I watched where very intuitive and easy to understand, and they used great examples to explain things. My issue is that sometimes the discussions forums did not work.

By Ramzi Z

Sep 3, 2021

Overall a very well structured course with a clear explanation of Object-Oriented Design of Software solutions. Just, I did not like the fact that the capstone project is an Android application, would like to change it to a lightweight web application that could be tested/run anywhere. Thank you.

By Apurv A S

Jul 23, 2020

This course contains a lot of useful content but the lectures become boring at times. Also to complete the final assignment, one must have the knowledge of Android Studio and making Andriod Apps. Students who do not have that knowledge cannot complete the final assignment and hence the course.

By shashank

May 29, 2021

L​oved the flow of the course , I really liked the examples and multiple practice sessions that helped me get the concepts like Decomposition- Association,Aggregation,Composition, Generalization,Encapsulation and Abstraction. which use to get tricky while trying to understand in general.

By ROHIT K

Aug 23, 2019

this review is giving by me for the teacher effort and their teaching style

.she is very well and well trained.

thank you so ,much and love you for teaching style and your style of speaking because many foreigner teacher is not audible but your excent is good

By Leandro M

Nov 11, 2017

The course is awesome. Now I really understand an UML diagram e know how to build one. The only part that needs improvement is the capstone project, too heavily based on Android development, so you will work a little more than expected to concluded it

By Tú P

Aug 29, 2020

The course contains so many useful concepts. It can much better if there are more practical exercise, more coding practice. The presenter of the course does not really attract students, sometimes it is quite boring when listening to her.

By Gerald H

Oct 18, 2019

The course content is good. The assignments are mainly drawing UML diagrams with peer review, where it can take quite long to get feedback. Overall a good course for beginners wanting to learn about good object oriented design.

By Johan C

May 14, 2018

The content was communicated quite well and the course notes are very useful. Unfortunately the way assignments are graded leaves a bit to be desired, but if you're less worried about how accurate your marks are you'll be fine.

By Matthew G

Jun 10, 2020

I enjoyed the subject matter and particularly liked the thorough treatment of the various UML diagrams. I thought that the Android emulator plus app included too much overhead compared with the actual subject matter.

By Ritik R

Sep 2, 2020

I is well organised course . The Quizzes are organised well. There is enough practical learning as well. More Practical learning could be added to the course such as the one in in week 4 of capstone assignment

By mugnaio

Oct 16, 2017

Very good course, too bad for me that you have to know a little (or to learn something) about Android Development, if it was more independent from the programming environment would be a 5 stars for me.

By Markov K

Nov 12, 2017

Не очень подробно раскрыты некоторые темы, например про conceptual и technical design, state diagram, но в целом полезно познакомиться с android платформой и открыть новые грани ОО архитектуры.

By Francisco G M

Nov 19, 2020

Great videos, easy to follow. It is a good course to start with software design.

I had problems with the platform when I upload my exercises and with blockiing tasks but it is Coursera problem.

By Mr.N

Aug 9, 2019

This course is very good and instructors explain very clear in my opinion but i little disappoint that they do not use core Java for their execises instead of using android.

By Puru R J

Dec 9, 2019

The content is good and the instructors lectures are engaging. It is a must have course for someone who wants to understand OO Modelling being a beginner in the field.

By Andrew M

Jul 19, 2019

there are some errors in assignment and material

in general the assignments are very labor-intensive and do not seem to add too much value for real-world projects

By Dumitru C

May 21, 2018

Very interesting - however I would expect a bit more challenges. Very powerful to do the interview sessions. The grading mechanism takes a while to adopt to.

By Mikhail M

Nov 6, 2019

practical part of this course is not interesting because of android specific. From my point it should be more independent form any platform and frameworks

By Abel R

May 21, 2021

Me ayudó a fortalecer los temas de Diseño Orientado a Objetos. Muy bien explicadas, sobre todo con la práctica, eso te ayuda a comprender mejor.