Chevron Left
Back to Object-Oriented Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object-Oriented Design by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
1,833 ratings
429 reviews

About the Course

This course takes Java beginners to the next level by covering object-oriented analysis and design. You will discover how to create modular, flexible, and reusable software, by applying object-oriented design principles and guidelines. And, you will be able to communicate these designs in a visual notation known as Unified Modelling Language (UML). You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to apply your knowledge of object-oriented design by evolving and documenting the Java codebase for an Android application with corresponding UML documentation. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Apply the Class Responsibility Collaborator (CRC) technique to analyze and design the object-oriented model for a problem. • Explain and apply object-oriented modeling principles and their purpose (e.g., abstraction, encapsulation, decomposition, generalization). • Explain and apply different types of inheritance • Explain the difference between association, aggregation, and composition dependencies. • Express object-oriented models as Unified Modeling Language (UML) class diagrams. • Translate between UML class diagrams and equivalent Java code. • Apply design guidelines for modularity, separation of concerns, information hiding, and conceptual integrity to create a flexible, reusable, maintainable design. • Explain the tradeoff between cohesion and coupling....

Top reviews

JS
Aug 5, 2020

Great course to learn the concepts of Software Designing and how it is used in real business scenarios. This course is indeed very helpful for aspiring product developers who aim to be an architect.

FK
Jan 10, 2021

Great course to learn the concepts of Software Designing and how it is used in real business scenarios. This course is indeed very helpful for aspiring product developers who aim to be an architect.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 431 Reviews for Object-Oriented Design

By Markov K

Nov 12, 2017

Не очень подробно раскрыты некоторые темы, например про conceptual и technical design, state diagram, но в целом полезно познакомиться с android платформой и открыть новые грани ОО архитектуры.

By Francisco G M

Nov 19, 2020

Great videos, easy to follow. It is a good course to start with software design.

I had problems with the platform when I upload my exercises and with blockiing tasks but it is Coursera problem.

By Mr.N

Aug 9, 2019

This course is very good and instructors explain very clear in my opinion but i little disappoint that they do not use core Java for their execises instead of using android.

By Puru R J

Dec 9, 2019

The content is good and the instructors lectures are engaging. It is a must have course for someone who wants to understand OO Modelling being a beginner in the field.

By Andrew M

Jul 19, 2019

there are some errors in assignment and material

in general the assignments are very labor-intensive and do not seem to add too much value for real-world projects

By Dumitru C

May 21, 2018

Very interesting - however I would expect a bit more challenges. Very powerful to do the interview sessions. The grading mechanism takes a while to adopt to.

By Mikhail M

Nov 6, 2019

practical part of this course is not interesting because of android specific. From my point it should be more independent form any platform and frameworks

By Abel R

May 21, 2021

Me ayudó a fortalecer los temas de Diseño Orientado a Objetos. Muy bien explicadas, sobre todo con la práctica, eso te ayuda a comprender mejor.

By V K

Feb 28, 2019

Overall, a good course. The only drawback is that your assignments are being checked by students, who often have no clue what they are grading.

By Henry M B H

Nov 2, 2021

Good course, I have some issues with the android studio as requirement and forum links broken but it was a good experience. Thanks for all.

By Luca I

Sep 27, 2021

Really good, can be more focus on UML and code writing, sometimes wasn't clear enough the code structure for each graphic UML variant

By Benjamin B D

Jun 17, 2020

There are a couple of courses for which I submitted reviews about issues in the videos, but, all in all, this was very interesting

By Hussnain A H

May 11, 2021

explains object oriented design concepts very well, but this course is more aligned for beginners not for experienced people

By Edgar B

Apr 16, 2018

Useful to learn basic UML modeling, and to uderstand OO design principles. Good for beginners, useless for experienced devs.

By Fabrice L

Mar 20, 2018

Interesting course. The challenges are not too difficult.

You will learn both about Software design and Android development.

By Eyas A

Jan 24, 2021

Good course, but it will be better with more real examples and avoid classic examples like animal, student and employee.

By Paddy M

Sep 24, 2019

Good course - covers the key basic elements for oo design, and communicating those ideas. Practical coding assignments.

By Hang P

Oct 28, 2019

It’s very brief for a course in ood and the reading materials are not the best but i still learn some from this course

By Jakub S

Oct 2, 2021

I​f all projects to work on were unlocked for free and only peer-review was locked I would give it 5 stars

By hesham

Jun 14, 2020

The course is good,t covers most of the essential parts and the assignment is well addressing the topics

By J

Nov 23, 2020

Overall good and understandable, but I didn't like the fact that you more or less had to know Android.

By Abd E H

Oct 21, 2020

Lectures are very useful but i think the sharing app is a litle complix and not useful at all

By Uzair A

Jan 11, 2018

Very basic level of course. Students starting in Computer Science should take this course

By Vishnu K

Jul 5, 2021

Good and well written course every bit of it. Never knew learning will be so much fun.

By Hayrol R

Mar 16, 2021

Great course!.. it is a good mid level set of knowledge about Object-Oriented Design.