Chevron Left
Back to Object-Oriented Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object-Oriented Design by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
1,652 ratings
385 reviews

About the Course

This course takes Java beginners to the next level by covering object-oriented analysis and design. You will discover how to create modular, flexible, and reusable software, by applying object-oriented design principles and guidelines. And, you will be able to communicate these designs in a visual notation known as Unified Modelling Language (UML). You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to apply your knowledge of object-oriented design by evolving and documenting the Java codebase for an Android application with corresponding UML documentation. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Apply the Class Responsibility Collaborator (CRC) technique to analyze and design the object-oriented model for a problem. • Explain and apply object-oriented modeling principles and their purpose (e.g., abstraction, encapsulation, decomposition, generalization). • Explain and apply different types of inheritance • Explain the difference between association, aggregation, and composition dependencies. • Express object-oriented models as Unified Modeling Language (UML) class diagrams. • Translate between UML class diagrams and equivalent Java code. • Apply design guidelines for modularity, separation of concerns, information hiding, and conceptual integrity to create a flexible, reusable, maintainable design. • Explain the tradeoff between cohesion and coupling....

Top reviews

JS
Aug 5, 2020

Great course to learn the concepts of Software Designing and how it is used in real business scenarios. This course is indeed very helpful for aspiring product developers who aim to be an architect.

FK
Jan 10, 2021

Great course to learn the concepts of Software Designing and how it is used in real business scenarios. This course is indeed very helpful for aspiring product developers who aim to be an architect.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 385 Reviews for Object-Oriented Design

By Emrah Y

Sep 7, 2020

Content is very very comprehensive. Examples are so clear. And instructor is experienced. I strongly advise this course.

By Danila B

Apr 21, 2020

Good course for getting to know UML State/Class/Sequence diagrams, and the basic concepts of the Object Oriented Design.

By Milton E R N

Mar 19, 2021

This course is a pretty effective object-oriented design refresher. Very insightful details about the basics of OOP.

By Deleted A

Nov 19, 2020

This course has been of a great help in understanding the design and elements in app development, java connectivity.

By Zhao H

Sep 27, 2020

This is a very very excellent course of which I've ever taken & would like to recommend it to my friends to expore.

By Grigorii N

Aug 22, 2019

Seems to be useful. Complex ideas are explained in a simple way. Lovely lectures, good practice with UML. Love it!

By Mikołaj

May 11, 2020

Great course - I am confident that the code written by me from now on will be of much higher quality than before.

By Ahmed A A M

Jul 20, 2020

a great course , it starts from the very beginning , lectures are to the point , concepts are explained clearly.

By SHAILESH P

May 12, 2020

This is a very good course. The tutors are brilliant and their way of teaching with examples and illustrations

By Venugopal A

May 3, 2020

Its a great job and anybody who wants to create complex systems and applications should join this course.

By Thomas M

Dec 30, 2020

This is a very good course for anybody wanting to learn objected oriented design. I highly recommend it.

By Mohammed S

Aug 21, 2019

Very informative course with good assignments. Recommended to anyone want to start with software design.

By Ahmed M

Nov 16, 2020

It's a great course with clear explaination and i recommend it for everyone just finished oop course

By Ajay A

Feb 17, 2020

I'm very glad that I completed this course I definitely want to thank Coursera for this opportunity.

By Zoe B L

Jul 2, 2020

Very well! Course videos are short and straightforward. The provided course notes helped me a lot.

By Mohab M

Dec 19, 2020

A great course to know generally about object oriented I'm lucky that I enrolled in this course

By Ilze K

Sep 12, 2020

Great refresher of topics. Well presented with emphasis on the essential concepts. Recommended!

By George M

Jun 1, 2020

It was an awesome experience.I thank the speaker and Professor for it.

Will be back for more.

By Dola E

May 27, 2020

This Course is awesome. I learned a lot from it. I expect the next course will be great too.

By Delaxshana S

Apr 1, 2020

Well-arranged course, I can be able to understand the concepts even though i am the beginner

By Doğanay Y

Mar 19, 2021

Homeworks after lectures, questions in lectures, teachers guidance, everything was so good.

By Stud 2

Aug 17, 2020

It was a very good course and I have learned a lot from its content. Thanks a lot for You.

By OMAR M A G

Jun 25, 2021

A​wesome MOOC! The examples used are easy to catch the concepts, the quality is great!

By Harish K T

Sep 15, 2019

The assignments are really great & awesome which will make you learn it compulsorily.

By Янчук Д В

Apr 27, 2020

Nice course. I am satisfied. I will continue to study next courses in this group