Chevron Left
Back to Object Oriented Programming in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object Oriented Programming in Java by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
5,182 ratings
1,314 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Top reviews

DB
Oct 12, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR
Oct 13, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,293 Reviews for Object Oriented Programming in Java

By martino v

Feb 2, 2019

With this course, I was able to review the basics of object-oriented programming in java. it was very helpful, it helped me to consolidate concepts that I thought I already knew enough. Plus, it allowed me to learn about Processing that I had never used.

By Michael M

Nov 18, 2015

Excellent course with great content. The only problem is that there's a bit less administrative assistance in the discussion forums than perhaps preferable. Aside from that, this course was fun, and while some parts were strenuous, I enjoyed taking it!

By ATHIRA G

Jul 10, 2019

Iam fully satisfied for complex the course. My works are free and cool. Iam seriously enjoyed this course. Then finally iam get object oriented program concept. And it's my favorite subject. Thank you courses for getting course completed certificate.

By Rodrigo K

Jan 27, 2021

It is always good to remember core concepts of languages that you learned long time ago. Also, it is amazing to see how your views changed too. I really enjoyed the way that Polimorphism, Overload, Overriding and Abstract classes have been taught.

By Stuart F

Feb 16, 2016

Having taken introductory courses in Java, this was the perfect stepping stone to greater confidence and skill with using Java libraries, and has also given me a greater understanding some underlying fundamentals such as scope. Highly recommended.

By 이준우

Oct 6, 2020

Honestly, I really struggled with every module final assignments. However, I could fully understand most of Objected Oriented Programming concepts thanks to them. Don't give up or get too much overwhelmed, it will truly give you lots of advance!

By Natasa

Mar 18, 2019

Love the class, instructors, and the projects they assign! The projects are engaging and interesting! Love all the variety of instructions (videos, questions inside videos, when I struggled, quizzes, ...) - I looked forward to every lesson.

By Oliver E A B

Mar 29, 2021

It is very basic for those who already know how to program other things, but a little advanced for completely new learners. Either way it has specific resources for both. It is extremely well crafted and structured. I very much recommend it.

By CHU D

Sep 14, 2020

Great course in that it explains import OO concepts (such as inheritance, interface...) very well. But it is lacking in exercises. Starter code already has too much code in it. I think having learner start from less code base will be better.

By ERICK I S O

Sep 15, 2020

This is a really good course if you want to understand the base concepts of Object Oriented Programming. The different sections, like in real world, help a lot to understand why the topics are relevant and important. I really learned a lot

By Momodou M J

Jul 27, 2020

My journey here on course has always been a one that is worth remembering because anytime I signed up for a course there is more to be learned than I expected which exposes me to get more of the materials than i have expected. Thank you!

By Rostyslav Z

Feb 10, 2016

A great introduction to the fundamentals of building real-world software, with an engaging project (world map of earthquakes) that you continuously evolve throughout the course and a unique, friendly approach to programming assignments.

By Hugo I R S

Dec 5, 2015

This course is for programmers that wanted to improve their techniques and knowledge of the language, since the course shorts videos with real life experiences, that give you advices on how their abilities and produce quality programms.

By royh

Dec 5, 2016

i really like the coding project in this course. the project is collecting everthing you learn from the lecture, after you refreshing them all and doing the project, you will find out you have the you java skills re-polished and shape.

By Kerrie H T

Jun 1, 2020

I enjoyed taking this course because it's been a long time since I used OOP with C++. The instruction was great, but as a teacher, I really appreciated that the lecture videos were differentiated for different levels of expertise.

By Edwin S

Nov 12, 2016

Super!

Real life situations are used to explain OO principles. Although real life is complex the course manages to simplify it and make it understandable, so OO principles are learned step by step.

Programming assignments are fun!

By João A

Mar 12, 2016

Very good series for learning Java and OO Principles. The big application approach is very interesting as we can see the whole picture even when we know little yet. The interviews with software engineers are very enlightening.

By Kamil P

Dec 22, 2015

University of California did a great job!

Thank you guys!

Great course, concept challenges are very helpful and surprisingly one additional week for finishing up was wonderful idea - it helped me to finish last assignment on time.

By Parag B

May 18, 2018

A very nice course to learn Java. Taking it a little further than just learning simple basics and loops. The instructors are good. Making all concepts seem simple. You will test the simplicity during the assignments though!

By Hong N

Jan 3, 2017

This is a first course that I finished in Coursera. The course is great. The core project for this course is the unfolding map. Through the project, you can learn a lot of stuff about java. The three teachers are all great. :)

By David S F G

May 4, 2017

Great course for reviewing the Java programming language. It´s challenging enough for someone who has previous knowledge of programming and Java so it can serve as a way of evaluating your knowledge and further it a bit more.

By Eduardo S P

Feb 22, 2016

A very good course with a direct application in an interesting and engaging project. The video lectures are well structured and lots of additional information is provided. I would recommend this course to all java beginners.

By Veronica V B

Mar 12, 2017

Very interesting Course and the way the instructors give the lessons are great and easy to follow. The concept challenges are also, very good, because it makes you test yourself if you really understand the concepts or not.

By Michelle F

Nov 8, 2015

The videos that aren't boring and long! This course filled in the gaps that I had after taking university classes. I don't really like the final project is peer reviewed. Your peers can prevent you from passing the course.

By Praveen M

Mar 29, 2016

The professors handled the classes exceptionally well. I thank all of them for helping me learn something. But I felt the course a little hard as the documentations needed to be referred properly to work with the objects.