Chevron Left
Back to Object Oriented Programming in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object Oriented Programming in Java by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
5,052 ratings
1,279 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Top reviews

DB
Oct 12, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR
Oct 13, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filter by:

1226 - 1250 of 1,256 Reviews for Object Oriented Programming in Java

By Heaven H

Oct 12, 2015

The lectures were too wordy and the lecturers tripped over their words too often (which wouldn't have made it so difficult to listen if the lectures hadn't been so wordy!). There was too much focus on high-level details of the course project and too little attention paid to technical details. This rendered the lectures simplistic, boring, and sometimes a waste of time. This felt like an introductory level course, made more difficult through poor teaching.

Also, the slick web interface was slightly difficult to navigate in comparison to other Coursera courses.

By taha r

Feb 16, 2017

One suggestion i give to you that, please level of difficulty increase in a way that the learner not face to much thing in a single assignment. So, create assignment like that learner learn less thing but accurately. For example in this assignment you only build a relations between classes and marker on a map for only CityMarkerMap.java class and in the next module you implement LandMarker.java and so on. So, please this is my request in the future make assignments in a way that the Learner less thing but efficiently and accurately.

By Jason C

Oct 25, 2015

While the material is relevant, the exercises required too much specific knowledge that was not discussed in lecture. For an experienced programmer, most of the exercises were easy, but I admit I had to look ahead on two of the projects because the instructions were too lacking. The final project was too open ended and made me not want to finish this course.

Overall, I would not recommend this course.

By Alex S

Dec 13, 2018

Difficult to follow. Not as good as the Duke University courses where the professors explain in great depth, and detail. The good about the course is that they do give you the recourses to learn Object Oriented Programming in Java

By Christopher M P

Oct 6, 2020

Would have been great seven years ago...but the course requires you to use Java Applets, which are discontinued with good reason. This means running Java 8, which can create numerous further errors for most editors.

By Bruno M

Oct 11, 2015

If you think this is an introduction to Java programming language you are wrong.What do you want? Do you want teach us to use Processing or teach us to program in Java?

By Farhan H P

Aug 16, 2020

This course is very hard to follow, you are not building the program from scratch. But instead they force you to learn Processing module independently by yourself

By PATLOLLA S R

Apr 20, 2020

They taught the outdated module (i.e)PApplet which is included till java8 version ,from later version that module was not included in java software(like java12).

By Nikolay K

Jan 22, 2021

Almost useless course. The lessons have nothing in connection to assignments. Waste of time.

By Javier P

Jan 18, 2021

You are teaching with java JDK 8, which is completely obsolete and out of date.

By AW

Aug 1, 2016

too fancy and the structure is not very clear. Not very much learned.

By Raman T

May 29, 2020

I don't know about course content but this is for coursera platform

By Jay O

Jun 9, 2020

Too much complicated and high level at an intermediate level

By Morteza T

Jul 22, 2019

This course is too basic and appropriate for the beginners.

By DEVESH S

Dec 10, 2020

Course content is limited, all OOP topics are not covered

By Swati J

Mar 1, 2016

The peer review assignment part is really

useless.

By Pratham M

Mar 24, 2020

Course not updated to latest standards.

By Mohamed M

Mar 19, 2016

in the beginning of the course i thought i'll get a good experience as usual on coursera, but i was wrong ...

a lot of things >> to be introduced in next course

confusing data types & working with things i don't know about it.

you've said that, anyone with basics of programming could pass this course and after 6 months i couldn't.

please be sure about the prerequisites next time.

By Андрей Г

Nov 23, 2020

I was trying to install the outdated JDK 1.8 that this course forces me to use, spend 4 days, learnt nothing. Do not recommend.

By Aakash Z

Jan 3, 2021

Most of the videos and software in this course are outdated so it is very difficult to get older versions of applet to work

By Apex P

Nov 9, 2020

Outdated material, horrible IDE setup. Took longer debugging their libraries than debugging my own code

By Akshit M

Nov 11, 2020

The project in this courses uses JAVA applet which is a very outdated java GUI framework.

By TANISHTHA

Jun 7, 2020

The course does not properly explain few things and makes it really confusing for us.

By Jacob

Oct 21, 2020

Outdated, unable to use sample/target code with latest JDK, or even previous JDK.

By Mohamed Z

Oct 18, 2015

starting from week2 the way of explaining the materials isnt good