Chevron Left
Back to Object Oriented Programming in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object Oriented Programming in Java by University of California San Diego

4.7
3,751 ratings
914 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR

Oct 14, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 893 Reviews for Object Oriented Programming in Java

By Rajaneesh K

Nov 12, 2016

Good practical things taught here!

By TANVEER M

Oct 23, 2015

Covers the basic concepts of JAVA and a idea of how to implement GUI's.

Everyone should enroll in this course.

By Kay I

Jan 06, 2016

So far so good! I am really excited for this course

By Jeffrey L

Jan 10, 2016

Outstanding course. It's readily apparent that the course developers put a lot of thought and effort into this course. The mapping example that was used throughout the course was a good choice.

By Vyacheslav L

Jan 30, 2017

the course is good, but I'd like to have more challenging assignments, maybe I had a little bit more knowledge than it is required for this course.

By satish

Dec 15, 2015

it was awesome. If you really want to lean java than pick up this course for learn with doing something.

By Ogbonna C E

Aug 06, 2017

This course made me understand java concepts in an easy way, and made me realize certain internal workings in Java I haven't seen elsewhere. I love their method/process of tutoring. Awesome job!

By Xavier O

Dec 24, 2015

Great course, excellent for a programmer with beginner Java skills, and perhaps a better intermediate grasp of another language such as Python, wanting to dive a bit deeper into Java with appropriate explanations.

By JIAXING S

Mar 14, 2016

The best specialization I've seen on Coursera. The course material is good and each to understand. Great 1st programming course for beginners.

By Sudarshan P

Aug 10, 2016

This is a brilliant course. Starts from the basics of object oriented programming covering all the topics in intermediate details. Also, the final assignment helps you to add additional features and test your creativity!

A must for beginners and a good course to review the fundamentals of OOAD.

By Codrut F C

Feb 10, 2016

Great course ! The professors that participated have a huge talent at explaining and sharing their knowledge !

By C S

Oct 27, 2015

A great course before beggining working in Java. Well structured with a great demo project. The course clearly illustrates the use and practice of OOP concepts in a fun way.

By Rajasi K

Jan 11, 2016

Excellent course material. Taught very well. Interesting challenges.

By Afshaan M

Aug 04, 2017

This is the best programming course I've seen so far.

By Tusar K M

Dec 18, 2016

Awesome Subject , awesome instructors and that implies this is a awesome course. :)

By henok b

May 24, 2016

This course open my eyes for the IT world!! very well done!

By anurag v

Oct 04, 2015

Nice course with very good lectures

By Shalagatskyi V

Nov 19, 2015

Always wanted to be a softawe developper, this course is very informative for the beginners. Many thanks to teachers of this course!

By Weng J

Oct 08, 2015

It explain knowledge in simple and concise ways. The programming project after each lesson is interesting, challenging but not too hard to solve. 5 star course! 3 teachers are all awesome. Mia is amazing!!

By Vishav V K

May 22, 2017

Very good course and extremely well designed lectures

By Linwei Z

Dec 28, 2015

Very intuitive! Easy to understand! Good!

By Alexei R

Aug 17, 2017

Excellent place to start.

By Celong L

Feb 08, 2016

Very useful.

By Hugo I R S

Dec 05, 2015

This course is for programmers that wanted to improve their techniques and knowledge of the language, since the course shorts videos with real life experiences, that give you advices on how their abilities and produce quality programms.

By sudhanshu n

Mar 25, 2016

really good explanations and gave a kick start to new comers.