Chevron Left
Back to Object Oriented Programming in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object Oriented Programming in Java by University of California San Diego

4.7
3,636 ratings
893 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR

Oct 14, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 871 Reviews for Object Oriented Programming in Java

By Giri

Oct 20, 2015

good course to start learning java with OOPS

By Leonid M

Jan 10, 2016

Nice course. But peer assignment/reviews takes much more time than estimated 30 minutes.

By Jose L C H

Jun 16, 2016

Very good Fundamentals

By Kevin P

Oct 27, 2015

Excellent. Look forward to the others.

By Manuel E

Jun 12, 2016

I learn a lot about Java and object oriented programming. I enjoyed the course.

By Oliver A R D

Sep 13, 2017

Very good

By chaturvedula s

Feb 17, 2016

Little bit tough.Very good course

By Mahmut K E

Aug 01, 2016

Tremendous. That's a real teaching!

By Ognjen T

Dec 30, 2015

Excellent and practical course.

By Rostyslav Z

Feb 10, 2016

A great introduction to the fundamentals of building real-world software, with an engaging project (world map of earthquakes) that you continuously evolve throughout the course and a unique, friendly approach to programming assignments.

By 张之晗(ZhiHan Z

Aug 16, 2017

really fruitful course!

By Codrut F C

Feb 10, 2016

Great course ! The professors that participated have a huge talent at explaining and sharing their knowledge !

By C S

Oct 27, 2015

A great course before beggining working in Java. Well structured with a great demo project. The course clearly illustrates the use and practice of OOP concepts in a fun way.

By Jiegbefumen U

Jan 15, 2016

Excellent contents!

By Sudarshan P

Aug 10, 2016

This is a brilliant course. Starts from the basics of object oriented programming covering all the topics in intermediate details. Also, the final assignment helps you to add additional features and test your creativity!

A must for beginners and a good course to review the fundamentals of OOAD.

By Diana S T

Mar 23, 2017

The new concepts were provided in a way that was very simple to incorporate. The project is fun to develop and the teachers were very clear in their lessons.

By Alexander

Jul 26, 2016

Great course, it covers fundamentals of OOP and Java.

I think it is a great course for one who starts learning Java.

How materials are divided is awesome if you need a little help, you can get just wathcing another video, if you want to keep yourself challenged you can skip some. I liked this approach.

By Anirban S

Mar 13, 2016

Loved it

Interactive learning and good implementation of all the theory taught

Would recommend everyone to check it out.

By Oscar R

Jan 09, 2016

Very good teachers/instructors.

By Vishwanath G

Jun 07, 2017

Perfect course for intermediate programming in Java. Great teaching method, detailed explanations, and excellent professors.

By Noman

Jun 21, 2016

Best course ever ..

By Bhagwan D

Feb 02, 2016

Very well taught by very intellectuals.

By Saleem U B

Dec 13, 2015

A really great course

By Denis G

Nov 23, 2015

Thank you for the cource!

By AKSHAT B

Nov 06, 2016

Absolutely brilliant teaching , clearing of basic concepts. A must take course for someone who has learned a little bit of java previously and is ready to dive in to the depths of it.