Chevron Left
Back to Object Oriented Programming in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object Oriented Programming in Java by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
4,871 ratings
1,223 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR

Oct 14, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 1,202 Reviews for Object Oriented Programming in Java

By Arash M

Sep 20, 2016

One of the best programming courses I have ever seen, specifically for people who are learning to program.

By Roger Z

Jul 13, 2016

A very good course! At the beginning it might look simple, but gets challenging after the first two weeks.

By liangyi f

Jun 12, 2016

good lecture, and good explanation. Fix my two knowledge missing point even after i graduate from college.

By Joaquín C

May 08, 2016

So far it is going great !, In my case just doing the basis again but It is well made for overall students

By Pratap C

May 03, 2016

Great course. Very well structured with real world experiences. Hats off to the staff for their efforts.

By Windesson

Feb 14, 2016

Love this course, the quality of this course is far beyond to what my current online master degree offers.

By Suraj S

Dec 19, 2015

Great course to get new students started with Java. The project keeps the students engaged and interested.

By Kenan A

Apr 07, 2020

i would like to thank all the pofessors and teachers in this course , and i will see you in the next step

By Ashutosh s

Jul 16, 2017

I have learnt a lot and i am very much confident to proceed further with my interest in Machine Learning!

By Yabo L

Oct 09, 2015

well organized, interesting assignments and great interactivity between the instructors and the students.

By 李紹弘

Jul 01, 2017

This course provides me a clear concept and makes me understand the debugging skill of Java Programming.

By Gustavo M

Feb 27, 2016

Excellent lectures, the subject matter is very well detailed and enough support is given to the student.

By satish

Dec 15, 2015

it was awesome. If you really want to lean java than pick up this course for learn with doing something.

By Alisa Z

Nov 18, 2015

Very helpful course that gives you tools to start doing your own projects. Loved the final project task!

By Mauricio Z

Aug 25, 2020

It was a nice course, it was at my level of knowledge and i learned other new things like polymorphism.

By Nitin K J

May 19, 2019

kindly send me my certificate i have completed this course but i have still not received my certificate

By Tahir M

Jul 05, 2018

A nice and easy introduction to OOD, GUIs and events... Assignments are neither difficult nor too easy.

By SEONGHO R

Aug 11, 2017

thank you ~!

Thanks to your support , I can understand OOP concept and knowledge of algorithm, coding...

By Dmitriy G

Jul 23, 2017

It's good course for starting. In the course explaining as use graphical interfaces and work with maps.

By Christopher H

Dec 20, 2016

Very good course. It started a bit slow and sped up abruptly in Week 3, but overall a very good course.

By George N

Aug 09, 2016

Thanks for this course, I never thought that Java programming would be so easy and clear to understand.

By Vivek B

Jul 27, 2016

The course is really good , you will learn many basic stuffs about object oriented programming concepts

By Thomas K

Mar 16, 2016

OOP in Java was a fantastic course! The syllabus was really good and the assignments were really cool!

By Ibrahim S E

Feb 06, 2016

I really enjoyed taking this course, very elegant style of teaching with such a nice hands-on project.

By FANGRONG P

Feb 01, 2016

The concepts are not new to me, but I really enjoy the real-world projects which makes a lot of sense.