Chevron Left
Back to Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets by Duke University

4.8
stars
4,804 ratings
1,395 reviews

About the Course

The oil and gas industry has an enormous impact on all aspects of daily life. Individuals, corporations, and national governments make financial and policy decisions based on the cost, use, and availability of these two natural resources. This two-week course looks at the two most fundamental aspects of the oil and gas industry, its operations and markets, each of which is addressed as a separate module in the course. In the operations module, the course provides an overview of the production of oil and gas, from initial exploration to final transport. The second module focuses on the forces that drive the industry's operations, the oil and gas markets, including the cost of wells, seasonal impacts on prices, and the role of oil reserves. After every lesson, learners will take short quizzes to test their newly acquired knowledge, participant in crowd-sourced discussions about global markets, and complete a final project....

Top reviews

EK
May 4, 2020

It was simply excellent! Very clear and comprehensive. Really gave a good overview of the oil and gas sector. The professor's voice was also very clear. He was well spoken. I learned a lot. Thank you!

DZ
Jun 26, 2020

It is one of the most complete courses in the area of hydrocarbons, I really had a great time, I liked each of the videos and I was motivated by the research, which is why the best OIL AND GAS course

Filter by:

1201 - 1225 of 1,388 Reviews for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

By LU Z

Feb 23, 2017

wonderful course, systematically cover the flow chart of the O&Gd industrial, with analysis of details !!!! basically the course make me procure a whole picture of this industrial and specific rules underlying in it.But the it maybe dull a little bit if you are not interested in this topic.

By William L

Aug 24, 2020

I like the fact it was a free course. However, the project at the end was a bit more burdensome than the rest of the course would lead one to expect. I would like to see the course made longer and to have followup courses as well. Nevertheless, it was clear, straightforward and interesting.

By Nasser M N A

Aug 10, 2021

 

The course was so informative I like the way it’s organized from upstream to downstream of the industry. The pricing and cost section was also organized and easy to understand thank you so much Duke University for this course and thanks Coursera for offering this to us. 

By Ratchapat T

May 23, 2020

The course is good. However, for the last assignment, I think it will be hard and does not know how to commence the work if you come from the other field such as lawyer or doctor. It should have some example and guideline for creating the company profile for the customer.

By Matthieu S

Apr 26, 2020

Excellent course with very clear insights on the Oil & Gas Industry, its operations and the markets in which these companies have to operate. It provides a good overview on the downstream as well. Very much liked week 2 where the economics are explained. Very well done.

By Sameer J

Feb 20, 2020

Excellent introduction to oil and gas industry operations and market dynamics. Personally I don't think I am going to be able to remember the nuances of the demand and supply explained here but now I know where I can look for this information when I need it again.

By Ahmed

Nov 2, 2019

I've been studying oil and gas in my MSc programme. This short but concise course has really helped narrowed most of the things I've studied into summary. The marketing aspect was the only new knowledge but I've really enjoyed the lecture and quizzes. Thank you

By Daniel D

Apr 22, 2021

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot. My only gripe is that Prof. Pratson doesn't use actual numbers to work through the formulas, and as a learner I think seeing the math actually worked out, I'd have a better idea of what was being taught.

By ADARSH a

Jul 6, 2020

This course covers all details about the Oil and Gas industry keeping in mind the US based model. The only part it lacks a bit of information is refining process of crude oil to get various petroleum products is a bit brief and not detailed.

By Muhammad M

Jun 27, 2020

Really an informative course and highly recommended for all professionals working with oil & gas to get an E2E picture of the overall activities. The instructor has used good combination of the visuals, graphics to explain the concept.

By Zahid R P

Jun 27, 2020

The course was very well taught and managed, it was also very much interesting but the corner in which it can be improved little bit is to provide notes of all videos in pdf so a learner can also review it later when needed.

Thankyou

By Paul S

Apr 7, 2020

This course briefly elaborates on the essential aspects of oil and gas sector in an easily understandable manner..much useful for enhancing one's career. Thank you Duke university and Prof.Lincoln Pratson for your beautiful lectures

By Shivanshu S

Jul 8, 2017

It is really a very good course, especially for someone like me who is a still a sophomore in petroleum engineering and would love to know about the intricacies of the industry of which he is going to be a part in the near future.

By Meriem L

Apr 13, 2020

It's a very interesting course . it covers the most important parts of Oil and Gas Operations and Markets.

very helpful to understand the Oil and Gas Industry. I'm glad to complete this course successfuly and i recommend it.

By Moatter A

Jul 24, 2020

It could be improved with more knowledge related to the oil and gas industry and it should have more peer-graded assignments, and it could be improved by having at least a group assignment to improve teamwork ability!

By Michael R

Apr 11, 2020

Great class. The final peer-graded assignment needs more guidelines on what the format should look like. This causes the grades from peers to range greatly based on what each person thinks it should be.

By Alejandro A

Apr 21, 2020

Being my first finished course, I found it very easy to follow. Though I would include one last chapter with some updated information, since many things have changed since it was recorded in 2015

By Ahmed S M Z

Jul 30, 2021

i see the professor is well educated and have a lot of knowledge but the videos are a bit old there many things that happened since 2015 so it needs to be updated however the course are worth it.

By 01_Aadhithiya K O M

Aug 17, 2020

A short clear course giving an overview of the oil and gas industries with its extraction,operation, distribution and sales.It's a beginner friendly course with clear explanation and a good quiz.

By Imtiaz A

Oct 31, 2018

This is the best course for someone in oil/gas industry. This course only clear basic operations of oil/gas industry but also gives you fundamental knowledge about Oil/gas industry marketing.

By Joshua A

Feb 6, 2021

One of the best courses I have taken on the Coursera platform. The lecturer knew his subject and was very excellent at impacting knowledge. All in all, it was a thoroughly educative course.

By Giorgio P

Feb 13, 2017

it's an interesting overview of the oil and gas industry and market. I'd have appreciated if it was longer than it is. Maybe, if they add another chapter about the economy it'd be better.

By Chinmay P

May 12, 2020

At some stages the instructor is blocking viewers from seeing Diagrams properly. Instructor at some point explains a topic in short & rapid manner which results into poor understanding

By Maria W O

Aug 5, 2018

This course gives a nice insight into the oil and gas industry, even if the student has no prior experience with it. However, the focus on the US was a bit redundant at times.