Chevron Left
Back to Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets by Duke University

4.8
stars
4,409 ratings
1,272 reviews

About the Course

The oil and gas industry has an enormous impact on all aspects of daily life. Individuals, corporations, and national governments make financial and policy decisions based on the cost, use, and availability of these two natural resources. This two-week course looks at the two most fundamental aspects of the oil and gas industry, its operations and markets, each of which is addressed as a separate module in the course. In the operations module, the course provides an overview of the production of oil and gas, from initial exploration to final transport. The second module focuses on the forces that drive the industry's operations, the oil and gas markets, including the cost of wells, seasonal impacts on prices, and the role of oil reserves. After every lesson, learners will take short quizzes to test their newly acquired knowledge, participant in crowd-sourced discussions about global markets, and complete a final project....

Top reviews

EK
May 4, 2020

It was simply excellent! Very clear and comprehensive. Really gave a good overview of the oil and gas sector. The professor's voice was also very clear. He was well spoken. I learned a lot. Thank you!

BK
May 9, 2020

From this course I have learn much more information regarding the drilling sites, production , reservoir contents and more specially Economic price rise and fall in this industry. I thank to Coursera

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,256 Reviews for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

By Daphene R N

May 4, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. As an oil and gas accountant, this course helped me to understand more of the things that I see daily on revenue statements, joint interest billings, and other reports. The professor explained the concepts extremely well.

By Aashish M

Apr 14, 2020

The course gives you a good overview of the oil and gas industry as well as delves into the technical details & monetary understanding of the sector. I would certainly recommend anyone interested in energy sector to go through this intriguing course.

By SOUHARDYA B

May 4, 2020

Thank You, for sharing the immense knowledge on Oil and Gas Industry, ranging from exploration to operations and then the market. It couldn't have been better and thanks to Mr. Lincoln Praston, to share his prolific knowledge and experience with us.

By Sandeep S

Sep 21, 2020

It really a very good course. It is kind of eye opener course for me. I am working as Assistant Manager with Indian Oil Corporation Limited. I used to have lot of misconception earlier but now it is very clear. Thank you Coursera & Duke University.

By J N

Feb 24, 2021

It was a excellent course that allow me to learn a big quantity of new habilities in the petroleoum and gas industry, I am very greatfully with all the knowing that you all have been giving to us and I am specting to do other course with you soon

By Franklyn N

May 18, 2020

A perfect and well detailed introduction into the oil and gas operations. The coordinator was able to convey his message in basic manner that anyone without prior knowledge would understand and even discuss the subject matter like a professional.

By Darshan J

Mar 26, 2020

I learnt a lot about O and G industry, oil wells depletion, royalty rights and markets. Overall this is a very nicely designed course for not only people who are aware about oil and gas but for the ones who have very little or no idea about it.

By orji k

Feb 25, 2021

This course has added so much knowledge to me, I want to specifically thank Mr Lincoln pratson for being a detailed and exceptional teacher, I have met only few teachers like that. Thank you duke university for oil and gas industry and markets.

By Chan T W

Dec 7, 2020

This course sets foundation of knowledge on oil and gas in many aspects, from natural properties to its impact on global economy. The course clearly discussed each topic with appropriate visual aid that helps to understand the topic more easily.

By Muhamad D S R

Mar 29, 2020

A well structured course as it is very informative and accessible to beginner learners into the O&G industry. Topics on the seasonal demand , distribution and oil price are particularly interesting to me as it expand on what I have learn before.

By Toghrul G

Apr 22, 2020

Very useful and interesting. The course content covers both operations with some detailed information that is quite comprehensive by non-engineers and market data for those who don't have any financial classes background. Highly recommended.

By Rustem N

Dec 27, 2020

The quality is exceptional. the material is very good and related to the main topics of the industry. The only drawback is that the material is too short but i think its purpose is an overview for a non related people to OIl&Gas industry.

By Izaz B

Aug 30, 2020

A very great course for those who have interest in oil and gas sector,enough data in a very detailed way.It actually gives you an insight to the basics of oil and gas processes,from drilling and explorations to all the way up to markets .

By Christian S M

Aug 8, 2016

Thats an excellent course. It teaches you really good different topics of oil explorations and government rules related to it. There are technical classes and economical classes. Excellent course to do if you have free times for 2 weeks.

By Mano M

May 3, 2020

This being my first course on coursera, has lived upto my expectations and i m totally satisfied with the course. It has very good content covered and has been delivered in a satisfying manner.

A big thank you to Prof Lincon Pratson!!!!

By Salah E B

Apr 11, 2020

One of the best courses I had!

The context wasn't very thorough, but it wasn't basic too, it challenges you to commit and to look for more information.

I loved it! Thank you very much for the course, I wish I can attend more related ones

By Muhammad A T

Dec 27, 2018

An excellent course to know about different entities involved in oil and gas businesses and gave a very brief knowledge about the working of oil and gas industry and the chain involved from production to distribution among customers.

By Erick G

Jul 5, 2020

Excellent course, the professor was really good, the videos helped me a lot to understand the oil and gas industry. Doing the final work also helped me to improve my writing skills, and to learn how to make a good company's profile.

By ANINDYA M

May 26, 2020

This course is essential for the individuals who are in the oil and gas sector to understand the basic working behind the scenes. Individuals who are looking for knowledge in this sector, its just a simple and easy to learn course.

By Peter J

Dec 13, 2020

https://www.coursera.org/learn/oilandgas/home/welcome

The course is a great one very detailed and expository from petroleum formation and exploration to refining, distribution and marketing. I appreciate this opportunity. Thank you!

By Sanskar M

Jun 21, 2020

This is an amazing course which can be used to understand how this massive Oil & Gas Industry works. I am also very thankful to Lincoln Pratson sir for giving us such precise and worthyful knowledge about the oil and gas industry .

By Krishnaprasad K P

Aug 17, 2020

This is a good course for a beginner who want to research or study about oil and Gas natural industry. It includes how the crude present in earth, different tyde of oil and gas, its extraction, refining, transporting, costing etc.

By Muhammad U A N

Jun 6, 2020

The course was very much informative. The best thing was it’s to the point lectures. It doesn’t indulge itself in side-wise less important matter. The operational part was greatly discribed. I’m honoured to be part of this course.

By Raafe K K

Sep 26, 2017

The course was well structured and helped me understand the nuances of operations in the Oil & Gas sector. Recommended for personal achievement, beginners, university students and learners looking to advance their knowledge base.

By Jonas R

Apr 18, 2020

A very nice approach to the Oil and Gas industry, covering details from it's extraction to the final market prices influence aspects. The professor Mr. Pratson is indeed much experienced and has a good way to demonstrate it.