Chevron Left
Back to Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets by Duke University

4.8
stars
4,667 ratings
1,349 reviews

About the Course

The oil and gas industry has an enormous impact on all aspects of daily life. Individuals, corporations, and national governments make financial and policy decisions based on the cost, use, and availability of these two natural resources. This two-week course looks at the two most fundamental aspects of the oil and gas industry, its operations and markets, each of which is addressed as a separate module in the course. In the operations module, the course provides an overview of the production of oil and gas, from initial exploration to final transport. The second module focuses on the forces that drive the industry's operations, the oil and gas markets, including the cost of wells, seasonal impacts on prices, and the role of oil reserves. After every lesson, learners will take short quizzes to test their newly acquired knowledge, participant in crowd-sourced discussions about global markets, and complete a final project....

Top reviews

EK
May 4, 2020

It was simply excellent! Very clear and comprehensive. Really gave a good overview of the oil and gas sector. The professor's voice was also very clear. He was well spoken. I learned a lot. Thank you!

DZ
Jun 26, 2020

It is one of the most complete courses in the area of hydrocarbons, I really had a great time, I liked each of the videos and I was motivated by the research, which is why the best OIL AND GAS course

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,334 Reviews for Oil & Gas Industry Operations and Markets

By Oleksii A

Apr 20, 2020

It was amazing time completing this course! It gives a good overview of the Oil&Gas industry as for beginner. Especially the finish work is very cleverly invented. It gives a good opportunity to uncover more about different companies and industry on the whole.

By NIRANJAN P

Jan 10, 2019

The course has been aptly design to give an overview about how the oil and gas industry operates. Anybody starting a career in oil and gas industry can go through this course to have insight about how the energy business of this particular segment is executed.

By Saqalain H

Oct 1, 2020

This is a great course . It is a concise overview of the oil and gas industry operations and markets. By the end of the course, one will have a fair knowledge of exploration and production as well as the market prices and distribution of hydrocarbon products.

By SAMAN F

Jun 24, 2020

The course is highly informative and appropriate for introducing the Oil and Gas industry for beginners. Mr. Pratson has done an amazing job on the content of the course. The quizzes and assignments are well focused. This was fun and the easiest way to learn.

By تركي ا

Sep 2, 2020

Many thanks. It was an intresting course and beneficial to understand the oil & gas industry and how it operates. But I have one note. Please add a list of definitions. It helps a lot to help to memorize information and improves understanding for all terms.

By Luisa A T C

Sep 7, 2017

El curso fue muy interesante y educativo, explica a grandes rasgos cada una de las etapas en la cadena de valor de la industria petrolera, las tareas complementan de forma adecuada lo que se expica en los videos. Es un curso que vale mucho la pena. Gracias.

By ERHIRHI A

Apr 21, 2020

This course is an enlightening masterpiece with a proper introduction into the much talked about Oil and Gas industry and intricate information on how prices are introduced. It's recommended for any one seeking adept yet overview knowledge of the industry.

By Jose F

Feb 21, 2017

An excellent summary of overall aspects of the Oil and Gas Industry, both on the technical and markets sides. Although, I think it would be a more complete course if it were to incluye environmental aspects of the industry too. Nonetheless, great course!

By Brandon A N M

Aug 2, 2020

Sinceramente gracias al curso entiendo mejor cómo es que se manejan las operaciones dentro de una refinería, y estoy seguro que estos conocimientos me ayudarán próximamente con mis prácticas laborales. (Soy estudiante de Ingeniería Química Industrial)

By Daphene R N

May 4, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. As an oil and gas accountant, this course helped me to understand more of the things that I see daily on revenue statements, joint interest billings, and other reports. The professor explained the concepts extremely well.

By Aashish M

Apr 14, 2020

The course gives you a good overview of the oil and gas industry as well as delves into the technical details & monetary understanding of the sector. I would certainly recommend anyone interested in energy sector to go through this intriguing course.

By SOUHARDYA B

May 4, 2020

Thank You, for sharing the immense knowledge on Oil and Gas Industry, ranging from exploration to operations and then the market. It couldn't have been better and thanks to Mr. Lincoln Praston, to share his prolific knowledge and experience with us.

By Sandeep S

Sep 21, 2020

It really a very good course. It is kind of eye opener course for me. I am working as Assistant Manager with Indian Oil Corporation Limited. I used to have lot of misconception earlier but now it is very clear. Thank you Coursera & Duke University.

By Juan N

Feb 24, 2021

It was a excellent course that allow me to learn a big quantity of new habilities in the petroleoum and gas industry, I am very greatfully with all the knowing that you all have been giving to us and I am specting to do other course with you soon

By Franklyn N

May 18, 2020

A perfect and well detailed introduction into the oil and gas operations. The coordinator was able to convey his message in basic manner that anyone without prior knowledge would understand and even discuss the subject matter like a professional.

By Darshan J

Mar 26, 2020

I learnt a lot about O and G industry, oil wells depletion, royalty rights and markets. Overall this is a very nicely designed course for not only people who are aware about oil and gas but for the ones who have very little or no idea about it.

By orji k

Feb 25, 2021

This course has added so much knowledge to me, I want to specifically thank Mr Lincoln pratson for being a detailed and exceptional teacher, I have met only few teachers like that. Thank you duke university for oil and gas industry and markets.

By Chan T W

Dec 7, 2020

This course sets foundation of knowledge on oil and gas in many aspects, from natural properties to its impact on global economy. The course clearly discussed each topic with appropriate visual aid that helps to understand the topic more easily.

By Muhamad D S R

Mar 29, 2020

A well structured course as it is very informative and accessible to beginner learners into the O&G industry. Topics on the seasonal demand , distribution and oil price are particularly interesting to me as it expand on what I have learn before.

By Toghrul G

Apr 22, 2020

Very useful and interesting. The course content covers both operations with some detailed information that is quite comprehensive by non-engineers and market data for those who don't have any financial classes background. Highly recommended.

By Rustem N

Dec 27, 2020

The quality is exceptional. the material is very good and related to the main topics of the industry. The only drawback is that the material is too short but i think its purpose is an overview for a non related people to OIl&Gas industry.

By Izaz B

Aug 30, 2020

A very great course for those who have interest in oil and gas sector,enough data in a very detailed way.It actually gives you an insight to the basics of oil and gas processes,from drilling and explorations to all the way up to markets .

By Christian S M

Aug 8, 2016

Thats an excellent course. It teaches you really good different topics of oil explorations and government rules related to it. There are technical classes and economical classes. Excellent course to do if you have free times for 2 weeks.

By Mano M

May 3, 2020

This being my first course on coursera, has lived upto my expectations and i m totally satisfied with the course. It has very good content covered and has been delivered in a satisfying manner.

A big thank you to Prof Lincon Pratson!!!!

By Salah E B

Apr 11, 2020

One of the best courses I had!

The context wasn't very thorough, but it wasn't basic too, it challenges you to commit and to look for more information.

I loved it! Thank you very much for the course, I wish I can attend more related ones