Chevron Left
Back to Open Source Software Development Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Open Source Software Development Methods by The Linux Foundation

4.6
stars
1,058 ratings
232 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we will define what open source software is, we will go over the history of open source software and what benefits it has provided to the world’s technology infrastructure over the decades. The course aims to teach you how to work in open source projects productively and gain a lot of benefits from it, and really understand what the advantages are. You will learn about collaboration best practices, and how to encourage diversity in open source projects. We will discuss the different licensing models that are available, as this will help you decide what the best license is for your project. We will talk about methods that are commonly used, such as Continuous Integration, and use of GitHub and other hosting providers as a central meeting place for open source projects, and we will provide some examples of successful open source projects....

Top reviews

HM
Jun 22, 2020

The course contains comprehensive knowledge about development methods in Open Source Software. I would recommend this course for anyone who is interested in OSS and wants to have a proper idea of it.

AS
May 3, 2020

Honestly, this course provide introduces the world of open source projects and development to anyone. It's really explanative and helpful. I suggest this to anyone who want to understand what OSS is.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 235 Reviews for Open Source Software Development Methods

By MOHAMMAD S

Jul 21, 2020

Great introductory course on the concept of Open Source Software Development. This course does not need 3 weeks. I completed it within 24 hours.

By Vinita Y

May 31, 2020

Good Course, Gives a basic idea of what open source software development is actually and how to behave at such platforms.

By Ibrahim S

May 27, 2019

This Course will give you a big view about How open source projects are managed and How can you participate in them.

By Adeeb K

Sep 23, 2020

this course didn't cover much technical stuff but did familiarise me with the working culture in an OSS.

By Zahid A

Apr 25, 2020

Learned a lot about Open Source and especially the different types of Licences for the open sources

By Richard V

May 10, 2020

This is an introductory course in OSS methods, more focused on how OSS projects works inside.

By PAMISETTY S

Jun 23, 2020

Good and Enjoyable learning with Jerry Cooperstein sir,gained knowledge from his teaching

By Kamalkishore K

Oct 8, 2019

Got to know what is OSS mean actually in real world with practical examples.

By Adriana A L E

Jul 12, 2019

It is nice and useful as an introduction but sometimes it can get tedious.

By Cato F

May 11, 2019

I think this was a good introduction to the world of OpenSource projects.

By Ahmad B

Jun 7, 2020

its a lot of concept but that expect for the first course in a socialize

By Manuel D

Jan 4, 2020

Valuable insights for anyone considering joining an Open Source project,

By MANOJ

Mar 18, 2021

Gained a lot of knowledge about software development methods. Worth it.

By Rafael A

Sep 3, 2019

it's nice course but there's a lot of information and nothing practice

By Vaibhav C

May 18, 2020

theory was more make it little bit less interactive sometimes

By Parthkumar R

Jun 30, 2020

If some practice will be explained then it will be better.

By Yang Z

Mar 11, 2019

Too Brief and I think can be combined with other course

By Amruthanand P

Sep 6, 2021

good. got an overall idea about OSS and How its works

By Lalit M

Jun 22, 2020

Thanks for Explaning the terms of OSS environment

By Vladimir N

Mar 10, 2020

It was interesting course for me. Thanks.

By Hassan R

Aug 13, 2020

Good content but still more theoretical.

By Mohd A

Jul 6, 2021

A good introductory course on OSS.

By KARNATI S R

Apr 24, 2020

It helps to improve the knowledge.

By Md. A R Z

Jun 10, 2020

it is very good basic course.

By CSE_B_52_Md_Amaan_Shaikh

Jul 19, 2020

Content can be expanded.