Chevron Left
Back to Open Source Software Development Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Open Source Software Development Methods by The Linux Foundation

4.6
stars
1,061 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we will define what open source software is, we will go over the history of open source software and what benefits it has provided to the world’s technology infrastructure over the decades. The course aims to teach you how to work in open source projects productively and gain a lot of benefits from it, and really understand what the advantages are. You will learn about collaboration best practices, and how to encourage diversity in open source projects. We will discuss the different licensing models that are available, as this will help you decide what the best license is for your project. We will talk about methods that are commonly used, such as Continuous Integration, and use of GitHub and other hosting providers as a central meeting place for open source projects, and we will provide some examples of successful open source projects....

Top reviews

AS
May 3, 2020

Honestly, this course provide introduces the world of open source projects and development to anyone. It's really explanative and helpful. I suggest this to anyone who want to understand what OSS is.

HM
Jun 22, 2020

The course contains comprehensive knowledge about development methods in Open Source Software. I would recommend this course for anyone who is interested in OSS and wants to have a proper idea of it.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 235 Reviews for Open Source Software Development Methods

By Shivam S

Mar 14, 2021

Nice starting material

By Jayant R

Sep 15, 2020

Great way of teaching.

By Stefhen G

May 30, 2020

good for very beginers

By CHIPPAGIRI H T

Aug 1, 2021

It is well Structured

By Anup K P

Oct 2, 2020

It was a good course

By Divyansh R

Apr 4, 2020

Beautiful Course !!!

By Ahmed H M s

Sep 11, 2019

this course useful

By SHERWIN L

Jul 20, 2020

Very benificial

By MENTE S T

Aug 31, 2021

helpful course

By JOEL O

Jun 17, 2021

It was awesome

By Saurabh C

Aug 29, 2020

Less technical

By Nithin

Jun 30, 2021

vey helpful.

By Federico A

Nov 6, 2020

Buen curso.

By Akash R

Mar 26, 2019

only theory

By Takahide M

Aug 16, 2021

very good.

By PALAKONDA A

Aug 23, 2021

nice

By David L

Jun 4, 2021

As an introduction to the specialty, it's fine. As a standalone course, there wasn't much of value. I watch some videos saying how awesome open source is, and some very basic elements of what makes a good project, but it was kind of fluff. I felt like I just watched an infomercial for Open Source Software.

By Shashwat J

Apr 5, 2021

Too introductory. Peer graded assignments were good however too many exercises just lengthened the duration of the course. More time should be devoted to the core topics which require considerable understanding

By Mark R

Sep 19, 2021

Decent intro to OSS, but there is a lot uncesssary content. The course needs to be more techinical. Do we really need a whole section on Diversity? Most businesses already have that covered.

By Harrison B

Sep 11, 2019

A great introduction to the idea of OSS, however this course is really let down by the number of group assessed projects and the fact that you can see exactly who assessed your work everytime

By Kaleem A

Jun 15, 2020

Very basic course probably aimed at novices who known nothing about open source. Some of the contents (e.g. github private/public repo cost) need update.

By Yi H

Oct 21, 2021

it's a introduction part of a technical paper, informative but useless if you want to learn some actual operations

By Jaap v d B

Mar 22, 2021

Nice introduction, but missing the practical experiences

By KSHITIJ A

Aug 5, 2020

Needs to be more interactive.

By bat m

Jan 23, 2021

it was a bit rootamentary.