Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
23,156 ratings
3,643 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

GC
Apr 12, 2020

It serves perfecty its aim that is giving a first glance of the open course tools for data science. Of course each tool is briefly touched and it hands over the student the duty to deepen each tool.

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filter by:

2876 - 2900 of 3,646 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Bhavya K

May 10, 2021

I felt that the course wasn't thorough - it seemed more like an endorsement for IBM Watson more than an attempt at teaching data science. Disappointed.

By Katarina S

Dec 8, 2019

Not all learning materials are up to date. I needed to invest significant amount of time to understand how to create New Project in IBM Watson Studio!

By Cole M

Dec 4, 2019

A little too easy (only took an hour or two) and navigating IBM's Watson is confusing at times. Overall though, this course delivers what it promises.

By Maxime C

May 12, 2019

Ok intro - just light on underlying technical details and probably requires a background into coding to really get good insight into tools and uses.

By Александр А

Dec 22, 2018

Didn't like this module cause all this Open Source tools could be mentioned in 1 short video lection and then learners should learn the specific one

By Katie B

Oct 22, 2018

It was informative. However, it seems outdated. The module for Rstudio is basically useless because it n longer works in data Scientist Workbench.

By Cesar S

Jul 15, 2021

T​oo much theory and things to memorize... Things have to be taken to practice in the first place before jumping into such complicated tecnicismos.

By Robert T

Jun 13, 2019

The content of the course is very good but until the videos are updated for IBM Studio it is very confusing trying to follow along with the videos.

By Jessica

Jul 18, 2020

Felt a little bit like a filler course. Very focused on teaching you about IBM products and services. Only got into basic coding in the last week.

By Dinesh B B

Oct 18, 2019

Its been quite a trouble because the tutorial videos are not updated with the updated watson studio website. But the content was very satisfactory

By Sasha-Li C

Dec 4, 2019

Useful information for outdated version of IBM cloud.

No response to course forum for 2 days... and counting. I cannot share a file in the Cloud??

By Samid V

Jun 11, 2019

This course is a very brief introduction to a variety of tools. The course can probably be tackled in just a couple of days if you are committed.

By Rangga A

Aug 19, 2020

Week1,3,4 is interesting.

Too much information for me in Week#2. I retained max 20% of the info.

Materials shall be adjusted to beginner audience.

By Mauricio F O M

Aug 6, 2019

This course is too much focused in IBM cloud tools. Most of us don't want to use in this way, but is much more common to install in the desktop.

By Steven S

Aug 27, 2019

I have enjoyed the course series so far but IBM Watson Studio is honestly a disaster. I normally use Anaconda and it is a much better platform.

By Haritosh M

Oct 17, 2021

I wish the explanations near the end were gone through slower since it can overwhelmed some people.

I also wish the exercise was more involved.

By Ahdan S S

Oct 9, 2020

The tools are great, but it mostly about IBM, and kinda boring for those tools introduction without we ever will try it in the nearby future.

By José R

Dec 8, 2019

The course is good; just missing to solve the problem of creating Notebooks in Watson platform which is extensively documented in the forums.

By Alla M

Nov 9, 2019

over all was a good course but much of the materials were out dated which takes some time for someone to figure out to find a way around it.

By Ziming L

Mar 31, 2019

Lots of videos need to be updated as the links, buttons and/or page content are quite different from the actual page student seeing today.

By Jinson J

Dec 16, 2019

The description of the IBM Watson studio is not correct.

The videos are outdated and it took time to map old tool to new IBM watson studio

By Andrew C

Mar 11, 2019

I would have rated 5 stars although, IBM Watson Studio (Data Science Experience) was outdated and some had issues according to the forum.

By Bryan B

May 19, 2020

The introduction to IBM Cloud Watson Studio in the courseware should be updated to reflect the layout and buttonology of the new layout.

By Prieshecumar S P

Feb 18, 2020

The IBM Data Studio videos are outdated and they don't reflect what you find on IBM Data Studio's new version. Please update the videos.

By Luanna E K

Jan 29, 2020

A bit boring, but necessary. I think there could be more graded exercises instead of ungraded experiments. To make it more challenging.