Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
24,141 ratings
3,843 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

GC

Apr 12, 2020

It serves perfecty its aim that is giving a first glance of the open course tools for data science. Of course each tool is briefly touched and it hands over the student the duty to deepen each tool.

AJ

Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

Filter by:

2926 - 2950 of 3,853 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Deleted A

Dec 23, 2019

Some material needs to be updated. Even though it has been clarified at the beginning of the course, many things have changed and the videos and reality are different. The concept is the same of course but it causes confusion among students.

Thank you

By Fernando R

Jul 14, 2020

A decent enough intro to some of the tools, specifically Jupyter notebooks. Week 1 just mentions a bunch of technologies without going into much detail. Week 3 is in my opinion a waste of time as it functions mainly as an infomercial of IBM services.

By Stephen C

Feb 22, 2022

S​ome issues with lab instructions not lining up with current version of the IBM cloud platform. First sections just kinda listed heaps of tools in way too much detail - later weeks were helpful in their focus on one or few immediately useful tools.

By Mandar V P

Apr 11, 2020

Last part is not updated. The videos and notes are of the old version of IBM Watson, hence the interface of the thing is just about completely different from the one shown and taught about in the lecture. IBM should change the videos and notes ASAP.

By Devon H

Mar 20, 2020

Technical challenges given differences between what was presented and what was found for exercises. In some cases steps didn’t render student getting the required options to complete all aspects of the assignments and/or took a lot longer to finish.

By Manish P

Dec 27, 2019

Multiple creation of logins was confusing. A lot of time was spent figuring out the links. Changing the name from Data Experience to Watson Studio probably led to some of it. Hope you guys streamline the steps and videos to match with what shows up.

By Haim D

Mar 13, 2019

I feel that I could have benefit much more from coding more with Python or R. I feel that all I know is how to activate the tools, and run scripts that are already written. I would have liked more time to practice the tools, facing real questions.

By Vincent Z

Jan 8, 2019

The course does a good job of showing the some available free tools for data scientists. However, I still haven't the impression of having learned any data science yet, after two courses in this specialization. I hope the best is still to come.

By Chris L

Oct 15, 2019

it is good to know there is a lot of free tools out there but it is not very practical. in reality, you will most likely use one tool and excel in one language, having tons of tool in the box does not mean having the equivalent in your brain.

By Juan D C

Sep 20, 2018

The course is OK, the problem is that IBM tools seem don't work every time. I had to open 3 accounts with different e-mails to get to work with Watson Data Studio. The videos explaining how it works are outdated and don't correspond anymore.

By Christina T

Feb 6, 2021

A lot of information is thrown at you at once and really isn't explained other than that they are tools for data science. It would be easier to follow along if other random facts about them that aren't related to their purpose was removed.

By frank s s

Oct 1, 2018

I found some of the lessons hard to follow. The web page has been updated but the class has not. I still enjoyed the class and learned some valuable information but it would be nice if the data being taught was current with the webpage.

By Anas A

Feb 23, 2022

The course is rich in information, but in my opinion it shouldn't be the 2nd course in the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate. It should come later when students are more familiar with the different steps of data science projects.

By Henrique M

Jul 24, 2020

The course did not present didactics at the same level as others Coursera courses. The mix of IBM tools for training in the same space as the service sales environment makes learning confusing. The exercises on the tools were very basic.

By Folasade O

Feb 23, 2020

Good introduction to multiple data science tools and their integration with one another .

The instructions in many of exercises are not explicit and in some cases not complete. There is a lot of room for improvement with the exercises.

By Thiago V d O

Feb 15, 2022

First part of the course was great, learned about tools and stages of the data processing. The end was overwhelmingly focused on IBM tools, which even depended on an IBM account that no longer worked by the time I finished the course.

By Michael P

Nov 7, 2018

The instructor could do a better job clearly explaining the topic and/or material, showing a step-by-step 'how-to' on tasks, and testing on what he teaches. There were instances where the quiz questions were not covered by his videos.

By Luis O L E F

Oct 28, 2019

In general the contents of the course are good, however, I thinkg that there's too much time waisted in promoting IBM products rather than actually teaching some more introductory things about all the tools mentioned in the course.

By Joachim A

Jan 28, 2019

Hi,

while it was good learning about the tools and platforms that exist, I was a little confused by the IBM Watson Platform that did not function that well. That was not the best experience, so I hope the creators can address that !

By salman k

Jul 4, 2021

a large amount of tools which I think are not that necessary has been packed in this course . So it make learning a bit confusing to the learners as which tools are the best . Please remove the extra material which isn't necessary

By Manuel S S

Jan 21, 2019

Good course to understand the tool set and learn basics. However, the site used in the course is now updated which made navigation very difficult. It would serve the student to update these videos and make the most of their time.

By Florent M

May 7, 2019

Les première semaines sont pertinentes. Le IMB Watson Studio est très désagréable à utilisé. Le fait qu'IBM soit à l'origine du cours impacte très négativement la pertinence des informations et l'utilité que l'on pourra en tirer

By Raul O

Mar 15, 2020

They information in the course is generally very useful as well as the tools introduced. However, some of the videos need to be updated to match the latest version of IBM Watson Studio and specific guidance should be provided.

By Nitin R

Nov 25, 2019

Very informative course but the instructor should update the videos related to the IBM Watson studio there is a lot of confusion as the video which are available shows the earlier version and currently the version is changed.

By Swapnil J

May 22, 2022

There is a lot of unnecessary complicated things being explained about the Watson Studio during Week 3 and Week 4. That really needs to be toned down, as it is really difficult for a beginner to understand what is going on.