Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
21,824 ratings
3,394 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filter by:

3051 - 3075 of 3,384 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Taner A

Sep 8, 2019

This is a paid course so update your videos regarding IBM Watson Studio. I wasted a lot of time to figure out the steps. Also the course is very high level and doesn't teach any practical skills.

By Маношин А А

Apr 4, 2020

This course is very short, and, moreover, I had met some negative moments such as outdated videos and the fact that the Zeppelin notebook is not avaliable now (april 2020) on Skill Network Labs.

By Sebastiaan T

Aug 14, 2019

annoying that you need to upload your jupyter notebook via watson studio. besides that the data science experience doesnt exist anymore, so the last week was not great material in my opinion.

By Юра Б

Mar 5, 2019

For me better if it will be some docker image with required tools. But there is a promotion to use some external tools, that, as for me, not suitable for some research and development.

By Eva M

Nov 14, 2019

I'm afraid I did not enjoy this course because I spent more time with IBM tech support that with the actual learning activities. And by looking at the forum, I wasn't the only one....

By Jose J D

Sep 23, 2019

La explicación de los videos y la realidad no se parecen en nada. Sin actualización si hay cambios, el esfuerzo es muy elevado. He estado muy a punto de abandonar el curso entero.

By Amir H

May 2, 2019

the course is not up to date with the latest interfaces of the open tools sites, causing a lot of confusion and need to wait for an instructor/mentor to reply in the forum section.

By Fábio S V

May 2, 2019

The courses "What is Data Science" and "Open Source tools for Data Science" could be merged in one, there would be a better explanation about the tools available from IBM....

By Sarah W

Oct 26, 2020

Too much straight forward fact, on fact with list on list (hard to stay awake and focused on this because there wasn't anything to break up the facts or the list of tools).

By Amandine B

Aug 25, 2020

Some useful explanation of how to use Jupyther/Github/R but also lots of time wasted on presenting, over and over, IBM's tools and some very poor quality videos for Github.

By Edward J

Aug 11, 2020

Week 2 was very poorly explained. I did enjoy looking at the IBM tools but there was far too much in such a short space of time - too much video made it less pleasurable.

By Daniel T F

May 15, 2019

The whole content of the course is very basic and online scratching on the surface. It could easily be integrated in another course and though could be more constructiv.

By Kevin N

Mar 17, 2020

I give this course a 2. It was so difficult to sign into IBM Cloud. I got repeated error messages. The tool seems to have a lot of bugs and makes learning frustrating.

By John C

Jul 1, 2021

This unit should really be optional. Understanding the fundamental principles and tools of Data Science is one thing, shoving IBM products down our throats is another

By Sujith K S

Sep 16, 2020

Rushed through course explaining too many things without proper background knowledge. One section was advertisement for IBM tools which most of us probably won't use.

By Truong G

Jan 21, 2020

To me, this is just a presentation of online tools on cloud data storage. There should be more practical exercises from easy to hard to get used to with these tools.

By Juan J L M

Mar 18, 2020

The course is not updated with all the tools and people spend a lot of time trying to see how the tools work.

Think more application exercise should be available

By Luis P R

Apr 3, 2020

A few problems with IBM Developer Skills Network, specifically the Manage Data Tool and the Zeppelin Tool. Nevertheless, it was a good and interesting course

By Elizabeth C V

Aug 25, 2020

The course explanations and classes were poorly structured and took 10 times more time for me to understand the concepts. I give a low rate for this course

By Umair A

Dec 19, 2018

A lot of time, very little learnt. Two courses and only thing learnt was definition of Data Science and creating accounts. I hope this is going some where.

By Montoisy F

Jul 28, 2020

Too much IBM-centric, lots of problems encountered with IBM studio/cloud installation.

Good point: Professors are very responsive to problems of students.

By Javier F S

Oct 14, 2020

Too much information about the different tools that can be used in Data Science. Very broad and at the end, I just learned a bit about Jupyter Notebooks

By Omar K

Jan 11, 2020

IBM Cloud is truly a mess, full of bugs and nothing works as expected which made it much more difficult to complete the course than it should have been.

By Yulia L J

Jul 4, 2020

Videos are super low quality. I understand that this is an IBM course, but don't really want to learn in details their Watson Studio, that nobody uses.

By Boya D

Jun 13, 2019

Course about Watson Studio is outdated. Students wasted time on project because of this. Since students are paying for the course, it is unacceptable.